We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Commodore Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Queenswood Hotel(Weston super Mare)
$93
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare East (A370) Hotel(Weston super Mare)(Great Value!)
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Weston super Mare)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lauriston Hotel(Weston super Mare)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Cabot Court Hotel(Weston super Mare)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Seaward Hotel(Weston super Mare)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
The Sandringham Hotel(Weston super Mare)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
New Birchfield Hotel(Weston super Mare)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveler rating
117
118
67
35
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
118
67
35
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsweston super maresand baysunday carverybridal suitelovely foodrelaxing stayplenty of parkingsea viewplenty of choicetea and coffeecar parkannexweddingjackieroastvenue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 381 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We got married on 29 December 2012 at the Commodore Hotel and we and our guests had a fantastic day.We needed a venue in Weston to allow for elderly parents to attend and the town was good for other relatives and friends travelling from different parts of the UK.
From the day I enquired to after the ceremony and reception nothing was too much trouble for Dave the professional manager and Master of Ceremonies, Jackie the wedding planner and numerous caring and efficient staff. We booked the Alice Restaurant for our late afternoon ceremony and evening reception. It was essential that we had disabled access and facilities for particular guests and the Commodore met our needs. The organisation was not straightforward since we lived in London but Jackie fully discussed our wishes face to face and via email/phone and her professional advice was most welcome. We wanted to create a dinner party atmosphere followed by live music and dancing. We also had a large number of children of varied ages and her suggestion of a separate table and individual goodie bags for them worked well and made them feel so special. As did the dedicated server for the children's table who was obviously well used to dealing with young people.
The food was excellent and served well. We booked a local band - Atlantic Crossing - who were well used to the venue and provided a brilliant mix of music for the night. We found that the different areas of the hotel (bar, small reception etc) allowed guests to move about during the evening.
The rooms are comfortable but could do with some redecoration and general uplift. So that is the only negative. We would recommend Dave and his staff to anyone. Thank you for making our day so special.

J & C London

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CR2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for your recent review, I was glad to read that we helped make your wedding day a fantastic occasion and that everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

we have just returned from a 2 night stay at the commodore hotel at weston super mare and we were pleasantly surprised with what we found.
if you are looking for a modern type hotel then this is not the one for you.
let me take you through the negatives first which i must say are less than the positives.
i booked a twin bed sea view room and we were given a room with a double bed and then in another annex bedroom a single bed , which i suppose was a twin bedded room but we would have liked to have been in the same room to sleep.
the bathroom was a revolting pink beige colour and looks to have been there since the 1970s and the residents lounge to have a coffee in was right near the reception an consisted of 2 small settees and a couple of chairs and not very relaxing as all.
the reception area could have done with updating.
now for the positives
i have a medical condition which means i sometimes have to eat in my room, i mentioned this on booking and i was told that this wouldnt be a problem and when we arrived and went to our room there was a small bistro table and 2 chairs in the window and a tablecloth with a lovely fresh vase of flowers, how nice was that! the room has a lovely seaview and although not the largest room i have stopped in was comfortable, clean with a slimline tv and free wifi which worked perfectly.
as mentioned before the bathroom was outdated but it was a good size and clean.
the breakfast was good with a varied choice and we had the carvery meals at night again very good value and beautifully cooked.
the icing on the cake were the staff, polite courteous and nothing too much trouble, we will definately stop again if we are in the area, great value but dont expect the ritz

Room Tip: we had room 2 with a lovely seaview
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank voodoolady24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Director of Sales at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, we pride ourselves on the service we provide and always try our utmost to accommodate all requests, it is always nice to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay and will be returning again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back again and thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel for one night,on arrival we where shown to are room which was very clean and very comfy ,we found the staff very helpfull and made you feel very welcome nothing was to much trouble the food was first class and plenty of it.We will be going back again and recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TQ2MAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Director of Sales at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel for a second time and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were a party of 10 who once again thoroughly enjoyed the whole evening. Welcome drinks, excellent food - 5 courses, not one complaint, served with enough space between courses that you didn't feel rushed, drinks at reasonable prices, live music for all ages, party poppers, balloons, crackers, pipers to pipe in the new year and a superb staff who all worked their socks off to make the evening a success. At £57 each we all agreed this was very reasonable. We highly recommend this hotel for providing not only New Years dinner dances but other special tribute evenings which we have enjoyed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Director of Sales at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for you kind words and it is always good to read when our guests enjoy the events we host here at the hotel, especially our New Year’s Eve celebrations. We look forward to welcoming you again to our special events and tribute evenings. Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have never stayed in the hotel but every year when we stay in sand bay we eat there every night of our stay. The staff many of whom have worked there for years are always polite and service is quick and the food great we have never had a bad meal there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Director of Sales at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments and choosing the Commodore Hotel as your dining option when staying in Sand Bay. We look forward to welcoming you back again during your next visit. Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews