We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“60s weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sand Bay Leisure Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sand Bay Leisure Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
swansea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“60s weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We have just been to the 60s weekend at Sand Bay and had a "Groovy" time.We had tribute acts for the Beatles,Amen Corner,The Fourmost,Billy Fury and the Ivy League.All acts were excellant.We had quizes based on the 60s,yes we did win one ,which were well thought out.The entertainment group were brilliant.The whole weekend was a lovely trip down memory lane and made me feel young again.
As for the resort itself we found it clean,warm,pleasant staff and they catered for everyones needs.They have mobility scooters for hire which I found useful,although it is not far from your chalet to the main building.
There wasn't a great variaty on the dinner menu but what we had was nice.You could help youself or be waited on.Again the staff in the restaurant were pleasant and helpful.
I highly reccomend a holiday here.Oh and it's right by the beach.

Room Tip: all rooms are ground level and within easy distance to the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shafak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    178
    105
    68
    76
See reviews for
62
238
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Three friends and I just spent four nights here, The food was excellent, waiter service by Ruben we could not fault, a very pleasant chap, and always a smile for each of us. The entertainment was almost non stop, and included something for everyone. The chalets were basic, twin beds were very narrow, really only suitable for children, and only one electric socket in the room, needed at least another one, for charging mobile phones etc; but on the whole we all enjoyed our stay, and yes we would recommend it for adults, and we plan on going back soon.

Room Tip: The Chalets are very basic but after all you are not going to spent the entire time in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Millymor70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

We had booked for three nights, but left after two due to our chalet being so uncomfortable. Surely the company has made their money from the chalets which must have been built circa 1960's and they could afford to re-invest and update them - or better still demolish them and re-build! . Ours was cold. The bed was too big for the headboard, no plugs near mirror for hairdryer, hardly space to swing a cat, never mind make a cup of tea and sit and drink it! The only heating in the bathroom was from an ancient fan heater. Old single glazed metal windows that didn't close properly and a door where you could see the light from outside - hardly warm and cosey.. Shame, because the entertainment rooms were good and the food was way above expectations and staff were great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SPTLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

spent 3 nights here ,the entertainment was fab,the food was excellent. however the chalets ,although very warm badly need updating ,would most certainly go on this holiday again ,

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tygwynisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

My Wife and I spent £594 for a three night New Year Break in an upgraded Ambassador Room, this accommodation should be condemned, see photos! I had phoned the office over four weeks before we were due to leave to let them know we were both Vegetarians and also to say my Wife also did not eat eggs, I asked if we were to be treated like all guests with the same amount of choices, I had also put this on the original booking form, I was told by the young lady on reception after she had spoken to the catering manager we would have the same choices as other guests, as we could not book in until 3pm and by this time getting dark, after parking the car and walking through pools of water to get to our chalet with no help from any staff, we could not see the state of the chalet because of the poor lighting, only one good thing about this chalet it was warm, after unpacking and changing for our meal at 6pm, we then had our first disappointment we had two choices when everyone else had four choices, the entertainment in the evening was a big band and this was for all the stay, when we arrived for breakfast the next morning the disappointment continued for my Wife besides cereals only beans and tomatoes and fried bread available for her, and this was to continue for the holiday, for New years Eve Lunch there was four courses for everyone but only one for my Wife a salad again, after lunch we went in to the main hall for entertainment but it was freezing and everyone sat with their coats on, for the Gala Dinner in the evening the choice for us was one choice only roast Vegetables, and not even a salad this time, we did not dine but bought some chips from the cafe instead, New Years Day we did not go for the terrible breakfast but bought a sandwich in the cafe again, the breaking point came at lunch time when we saw the menu, once again four choices for other guests but one for my Wife salad ant two for me an omelette because I eat eggs, we did not eat lunch once again but went to see the Operations Manager Debra Elliott! She did not care in the least and had no clue about a Vegetarian diet as she stated all Vegetarians eat fish, this is not true and if she was clued up on her job she would know this. My Wife and I then packed and left a day early not wanting to spend another day in this slum, we are going to take this matter further, the last thing is that 90% of the residents are elderly they are relying on them not to make a fuss.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Trevor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kewstoke hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Three of us stayed here for 3 nights between Xmas & New Year and really enjoyed it. Very good value for money, the food is varied, plentiful and cooked to a high standard. The waiters are very efficient and attentive, nothing is too much trouble for them. Entertainment is good too, can't fault Sand Bay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davetaylor1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Organised a trip for me, the wife, and 5 other couples. The whole experience with Sand Bay from booking to leaving was first class. Never once met a member of staff who didn't smile - everyone was extremely courteous and helpful. True the average age group when we were there was quite high, but they didn't trouble us - mind you we are not youngsters ourselves! If you don't want the ballroom dancing in the ballroom (which most people did) there is an excellent alternative venue called Harlequins with its own entertainment. This is where we spent most of our time every evening. Food excellent with several choices - bar prices a bit on the expensive side but probably not significantly higher that Weston itself. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms near the restaurant would be better during bad weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthWalesNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewstoke
3.0 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#4 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kewstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#6 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 29 in Weston super Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare East (A370) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare Ea...
#7 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Bay Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Bay Leisure Resort

Property: Sand Bay Leisure Resort
Address: 67 Beach Road, Kewstoke, Weston super Mare BS22 9UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare > Kewstoke
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
Number of rooms: 350
Also Known As:
Sand Bay Leisure Hotel Kewstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing