We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views, not a hard hike”
Review of Waihee Ridge Trail

Waihee Ridge Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.49*
and up
Maui Horseback-Riding Tour with Optional BBQ Lunch
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Waihee
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Massachusett
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Spectacular views, not a hard hike”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had a couple of hours before needing to leave for the airport and so headed here, within 30 minutes of the town. It's about 3 to 4 hours round trip but we had only 2 so got halfway, but it was worhtwhile. You get views of the hills plunging to the sea, waterfalls plunging down the hills in the distance, walks though forest, and see the backside of the Iao park, which is an incredible site. The trail starts at about 1000 ft elevation, which is a nice head start. The paved path at the start is steep, but the dirt trail after that is much less so. It's muddy, so use a stick, and at points the path is a little frightening, with near vertical drops along it. If you go slow there, you'll be safe. There weren't too many people. A great hike. Bring you own water as there is none.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lindasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    50
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great hike arround 2 miles up and 2 miles down great hike
A little slippery and wet farther up
Great visabilkty and sights
Just wish there where more waterfalls but overall great

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris12346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hike”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Reading the reviews and from personal recommendations we started this hike first thing in the morning. It was so beautiful! Sometimes it was slow going because you have to watch your footing but you want to watch the scenery! We did make one critical error. We thought we had brought enough water but we did not!! Bring way more than you think you will need. Not that the hike was exceptionally hard or that it was super hot. The main problem was the humidity! We were sweating buckets and didn't have enough replacement fluids. Granted, it may have only been a problem for us because we are desert people, but more water is never a bad thing. We didn't quite make it to the top but it was still worth every moment.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hike, great views, bring water.”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Had an excellent time at the trail. If you go on this, you will have great views of the ocean and surrounding country-side-it was beautiful! When we went, the trail only had a few muddy areas, but I can see how this can get especially muddy after a good rain. If doing this in the summer, start early-it can get hot on the top. Be especially keen to bring plenty of water, shoes with a good grip, ect.

It took me and my ~60 year old fit parents about 2 hours to go up, and 1 hour to come back down. It is a steep climb, but definitlely doable for those even in semi-shape.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makawao, Hawaii
Level Contributor
133 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The views were absolutely amazing. The ocean, mountains, valleys, waterfalls, Kahului harbor, forests, and more. It is quite an elevation gain. Quite a bit of climbing, many stairs, and a fairly steep descent. I am 55 with a bad knee, and it pushed me to the limit, but it was worth it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Annalisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waihee Ridge Trail also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Waihee Ridge Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing