We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique getaway in an amazing part of the world”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lakatoro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nabelchel Bungalows
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Unique getaway in an amazing part of the world”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Malekula is most definitely off the beaten track for many visitors to Vanuatu, but if you're looking for something unique and unspoilt, it's the place to go. Often, accommodation in hard-to-reach places is average, and food less than appetizing. But Nabelchel offers simple yet comfortable Bungalows with clean bathrooms and nice furnishings - ill admit I was surprised! I was further surprised by the food, which was really, really good! Lakotoro is small, and there aren't many options for dining out or nightlife, so having a nice bungalow to retire to is a real bonus, as you'll spend most if your evening in it! Don't expect 5 star luxury - but do expect friendly service, clean, comfy and bug free accommodation, and food that beats many of the options offered in port Vila!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malolava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

You have to consider the alternatives before making a rating. No hot water, no a.c. , not even a fan. But what makes this place is the owner and his family. Ocea has to be the nicest and most helpful guy on the planet. He could not do enough for us, from introducing us to business contacts, providing breakfast and dinner, even taking us to the french school for lunch.
If you need somewhere to stay in Malekula look no further.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mrbean69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Me and my partner spent two nights in this place and we LOVE it. Basic, but nice and clean accommodation with access to fridge and very good meals, also cold beer. We fully recommend this place to all kinds of travellers. They can organize all kinds of trips for you including fabulous boat trip. You can also buy some very interesting authentic art from Malekula.
So PLEASE do not even thing about dealing with horrible Malampa Travel Call Centre which is a HUGE SCAM !!!!!!!
Make your booking directly with the hotel.
Voytek and his partner from Vancouver Canada

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wwloszyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Bungalow with bathroom for 3,600 Vt.


This positiveearth bungalow is located 5 min walking from the airport (in the way to Norsup).

Staying here is living with Hosea’s family. In fact, the three bungalows and the two rooms are located in the family yard, where there are some chickens walking around and several fruit trees. The bungalows are home-made, but with high standards. Each bungalow has its own bathroom (throne and shower) and all the beds have mosquito net.
The meals are not included… but you have an equipped kitchen to cook. Another option is to ask Hosea to cook for you, which was not very expensive. The biggest supermarket is at the entrance of Lakatoro.

Hosea is very helpful organising activities such as Big nambas (5.000 Vt/pp + 3.000 Vt. truck), Small nambas (5.000 Vt/pp + 6.000 Vt. truck), etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sastals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Nabelchel Bungalows. Basic comfortable accomodation and by far the best food we experienced anywhere in Vanuatu. Handy to beach, airport and markets. Made a day trip to Oripiv which had fantastic snorkelling. Hosts were friendly, helpful and overall a relaxed and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyL930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Nabelchel Bungalows were my last stop on Malekula. After a few days travelling rough, Nablechel was very comfortable, had great food and even had beer within walking distance. Being close to the airport and having a good night sleep was a great end to my trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed at Nabelshel while in business trip to Malekula, I can see that this bungalow are improving a lot lately especially with a real restaurant set up new decoration and better bed. There is almost 3 different categories of bungalow, the one attached to the restaurant building, the individual ones behind and a dormitory. The garden is amazing and Aurelie the francophone owner is very nice. Prices are reasonable and they can also arrange for tours. Osea the owner may take you to Kava during the evening...

Room Tip: Ask for the new traditional bungalow on the back this is the best from far
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pascal0164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nabelchel Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nabelchel Bungalows

Property: Nabelchel Bungalows
Address: Tautu | Norsup Malekula, Lakatoro, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Malakula > Lakatoro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lakatoro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing