We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“LOVED it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa
Save
You added The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 24 Rincon B&B and Inns
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVED it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our family of 5 (3 kids - ages 17, 15 and 13) stayed for 2 nights and it was great. It is a clean, beautiful house with a clean, enjoyable pool. The drive up the hill to the English Rose was pretty cool and the views are incredible. We loved the breakfast in the morning - so delicious. Ruth and her staff are friendly, genuine and lovely hosts. I would definitely go back to this B & B, and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Chester" since we had 5 people in our party and needed the extra bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Service was excellent and personalized. The breakfast was simply YUMMY and quick service.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sulyrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Just returned from a visit to puerto rico (rincon and guanica). While we didn't get to stay at the English Rose as they were fully booked, we were not far - allowing us to eat breakfast there every day.

The breakfasts were PERFECT. Frankly they were the best meals of our day which is a first!.

The staff was lovely and provided helpful tips for our visiting the area.

The location is beatiful / peaceful with amazing views. i read some of the comments about the road up the hill but it is really not that bad at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mackie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and it was awesome. The owners are very amicable and attentive of their guests. The breakfast was no more words than fantastic and delicious. The view and the Brunel Suite is spacious and clean.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jesik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My wife and 2 teenage boys just completed our 4th trip to Rincon over 6 years and it was our 3rd time at the English Rose. This place is simply the best.

It is in a stunning hilltop location with a breathtaking view of the ocean and spectacular sunsets. There are only 3 units and a small, but refreshing pool for a dip after a long beach day, so it is like having your own private villa. We rent the 2BR Chester Suite on the 2nd floor, which has a large open kitchen, dining and living area with a pull out couch which brings capacity to 6 people comfortably. one entire side opens to a large balcony with sweeping views and lovely breezes. The place is in excellent repair and is immaculately clean. WiFi and satellite TV for when you just can't disconnect.

The breakfast is not only by far the best in Rincon, but in our opinion simply the best food overall in Rincon. We have eaten in almost every imaginable restaurant and bar in Rincon, including the highly-rated (well deserved) Lazy Parrot, but the breakfast at the English Rose is just a cut above everything else.

Proprietors Ruth and Jethro (and their staff!) are super sweet and always helpful with any questions about things to do and places to stay.

I've seen posts about the treacherous road to get there, but it really is no big deal. Just make sure you have good directions and a co-pilot if you are arriving at night. Its really only about a 1/2 mile off the main road. A mobile device with a map app was helpful on this last trip as we left at night to drive to the Ponce airport and got a bit lost in Ponce.

Finally, I will add that the diversity of beaches in Rincon is one of its best assets. Check out huge waves a few minutes to the north if you are a surfer (or watch if you are not), great snorkeling in calm waters just down the hill from the English Rose, or walk right thru any of the resorts to the calm beaches a few minutes to the south.

Rincon is a quick and relatively cheap flight from JFK. That is why their are so many New Yorkers there. All in all, a great experience!

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have seen their reviews for a long time but did not try it because we had breakfast included in the hotel we stayed. This time our hotel didnt have the breakfast included. English rose serves the best breakfast you can get.the price is good and the quality is the best. Im happy my hotel didnt include the bf. ill be back!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrique68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puerto rico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Traveled quite a while to try the breakfast, enjoyed the food, the view and nice service. Recomend it and will return!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annayblacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
1.4 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 8 in Rincon
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
1.1 mi away
Coconut Palms Inn
Coconut Palms Inn
#5 of 24 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dos Angeles Del Mar Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa

Property: The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa
Address: Carr. interior 413, km 2.0, Bo. Ensenada, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The English Rose restaurant and guest house will be closed Monday August 10 until Wednesday October 21. The English Rose Bed & Breakfast is nestled in the hills of upper Ensenada, Rincon. We have three luxury apartments, ranging in size from a studio to a two bedroom apartment, all fully equipped and the best breakfast in Rincon included for all guests .For a unique blend of olde English charm mixed with the tropical Caribbean, come and experience something truly different. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa Hotel Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing