We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite hotel YET!”
Review of Blue Boy Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Rincon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for our last 3 days in Puerto Rico and I wish we would've stayed here the whole time. We were greeted by Marc and Sara...both wonderful, sweet and incredibly informative people! Sara showed us around the property and gave us all the details on breakfast, the unique animals, surf boards/bikes/etc..for use at our disposal. She introduced us to all the fun animals on the property (turtles, crocs, birds) and showed us our room.
Marc and Sara also went through the restaurant guides they have available in their lobby. These books have all the places to eat in the area including their menus and Sara and Marc had great recommendations! Sara went through the map of the area and told us all the great shops, where the best beaches were, etc..
The pool is wonderful, the property is absolutely breathtaking, and Marc and Sara are wonderful hosts. We had room 6 which was tucked away back by the gardens - a very quiet and well-shaded room which was great for sleeping in a bit!
There really aren't words to describe how amazing and gorgeous the property is and the pictures posted on Trip Advisor and the Blue Boy don't do it justice.
Go to Shipwreck right down the street for great food - the fish tacos were amazing. Calypso cafe by the lighthouse is a great place to have a drink and watch the sunset. We loved the Calamari and Mojitos and Tamboo and the sushi and atmosphere of Pool Bar at night is a blast!
Thank you Sara and Marc - you two are wonderful hosts. And Sara - thank you for all your help getting me the best health care when I came down with Strep throat!
Travelers - do NOT pass on this place! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 469 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was our third trip to Puerto Rico, but our first time to Rincon....we chose the Blue Boy Inn based on all the positive reviews...THE REVIEWS COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE DEAD ON...this place was heaven on earth...I believe Mark and Sarah...(also the new sweetie in the kitchen) have to be the absolute best people on Earth..we travel ALOT and have never been treated as well as we were by everyone at this Inn. The facilities are first class and the breakfast was wonderful...every day. We were here 6 days and Mark saw to it that every need we could possibly anticipate was met...even a first aid kit and umbrellas. His Inn is exceptionally clean and beautifully landscaped. If you happen to be looking for a SUPER place to stay while in Rincon...the Blue Boy is FIRST CLASS. You will not be disappointed.
Clint and Kelly Scarborough

Room Tip: Any room you choose will be a great choice as this Inn is magnificent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scarborough1263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I don't know what I can add to everyone else's reviews. This place is fantastic. The rooms are great, the breakfast is wonderful, the location is good. This is one of the nicest places we have stayed. For the price I don't think you are going to do better anywhere. Stay here, I guarantee you won't regret it. Thanks to Marc for his hospitality. Whenever we come back to Rincon (and we will) we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: I am pretty sure they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patzeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I returned to the Blue Boy Inn in May 2013 for the fourth time and once again it was a paradise. Marc and his staff are wonderful, attentive, extremely caring and very polite. The Inn is always beautiful and exteremly well kept, the pool and garden are amazing. We wouldn't stay any where else but in this oasis.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the Inn are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANGEL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I preferred this over any hotel I've stayed at. It was extremely clean and the staff was nothing but helpful and polite. The garden was beautiful and it was nice and quiet. I'm definitely staying here again next time I go to Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We returned to the Blue Boy Inn in May 2013 after staying there 2 years ago and it again was a paradise in paradise. Marc and staff met all our needs and were always available. The pool room was perfect with ample room and view of the pool. With a limited number of rooms the inn is never crowded and romantic moments are easy to find. The breakfast was as superb as we rememebered it from our earlier trip and overall could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Instead of more of the same comments, here are some additional insights. Summary: the inn itself was gorgeous, private and peaceful, the service was excellent. But there is more to a great vacation than all of that. In contrast, the beach, outside environment, insects, restaurants, and traffic were disappointing.

The inn is entirely walled off. Only the guests know about the inn’s lush gardens, palm trees, pet birds, mini crocodiles, fountains, crystal blue pool, soothing waterfall, fire pit, grills, outdoor living room, fresh water dispenser, and gentle music.

The owner, Marc, who designed the place himself, gave us a detailed tour of the entire facility so we’d feel right at home. One impressive aspect after another. Everything within his control was outstanding. The office had lots of info on activities and dining. Just know that the office closes at 6:00pm and no one’s on duty at night (if you need help, you can call).

Marc has only 3 rules: no smoking, turn off the A/C when you leave your room, and minimize water usage. Even though they get a ton of rain, sometimes the water doesn’t work. Water pressure is lousy. Each guest gets a washcloth, hand towel, bath towel and beach towel. No extra towels were available. You are encouraged to conserve.

Our room was nice. Tile floors, comfortable queen bed, nice sheets, light blocking curtains, TV, chair, a nice size refrigerator, and overhead fan and A/C with remote control. Felt more like a guest room than a hotel. There was a creaky uncomfortable wicker sofa in our room, which needs to be replaced. One of the center mini blinds slats on the bathroom door was missing. The smoke detector didn’t have a battery. There are no screens on doors or windows, so we had a few flies, gnats, and mosquitos in our room at all times. Our lovely patio was a mosquito-filled.

Unlike large resorts, the pool is never closed, so you can swim at midnight in the multi-color pool lights. There are only 6 guest rooms (18 people max), so it feels private and cozy. Do what you want, when you want. A nice touch was the communal fridge and snack area where guests could share food and drink.

The inn costs were quite reasonable. You get a lot for your money. Breakfast was extravagant, especially for so few people. Fresh fruit, bread assortments, yogurt, cheeses, ham, cereals, even Nutella and peanut butter provided a nice alternative to the French Toast, crepes, bacon, etc. YUM!

For some reason, we thought this was a beachfront property. There is no view or ocean sounds from inside the inn, itself. It's only a block to the beach, but you must exit the lovely oasis and walk past the fisherman's parking lot and a mosquito-ridden swamp carrying your beach chairs (provided) and gear.

The beach was disappointing. The sand wasn't the powdery white kind. It was gritty and dense. No one was swimming. Snorkeling nearby was tough due to rough water crashing against large rocks.

If you go off-season (starting in May/June), many businesses are closed. Restaurants that are open close on random days (e.g. Wednesdays). There were some good restaurants, but they all seemed to have a similar menu (grouper, red snapper, mofungo (mashed plantain dish), rice soups, and french fries galore). No more fries! Two local grocery stores make it easy to stock up on snacks.

The “charming” coqui ("coh-KEE") frog chirps are relentless at night, as are the mosquitos for many hours each day.

Rincon is a small surfer town with horrid traffic and even worse drivers. Local maps are unreliable, and directions are dicey at best. We were quickly bored with the town and ventured to nearby caves, a radio telescope, and lovely rainforests. Many blind curves.

Graffiti and poverty are everywhere in Puerto Rico. Public restrooms were truly gross. BYOTP (toilet paper not always provided). There was a Burger King and Church’s fried chicken every 100 ft. We passed a Sam’s Club, many Walgreens, Subways, an outlet mall, and numerous chains (Sizzler, anyone?). Driving around was not the exotic experience we had hoped. Felt more like visiting strip malls in New Jersey.

Knowing what we know now, we would absolutely go back to the Blue Boy Inn, recognizing that the inn was the highlight of our trip. We would go for a few days to relax by the gorgeous pool in peace and quiet and eat fresh fish, but not for a beach vacation or exotic adventure.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, private, quiet and close to the pool. You can't go wrong. We stayed in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank me27513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
1.3 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
803 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
0.6 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
319 reviews
63.5 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
1.6 mi away
Coconut Palms Inn
Coconut Palms Inn
#4 of 19 in Rincon
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Boy Inn

Address: 556 Black Eagle Street, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Rincon
Price Range: $115 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frequent recipient of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence and selected as a Travelers' Choice winner for 2017, Blue Boy Inn is a small bed & breakfast inn offering an intimate and romantic experience among manicured tropical gardens, just steps from the beach in beautiful Rincon, Puerto Rico. We offer eight unique guest rooms with European style and modern comfort in an atmosphere of casual elegance, old-world charm, and peaceful relaxation. Full breakfast, cable TV, high-speed internet, and private parking are included. The Blue Boy is located at the marina entrance, steps away from beaches, surfing, SCUBA, and other water sports. We are within easy walking distance of three restaurants and bars. Let us help you arrange the perfect tropical getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Boy Hotel Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing