We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Smoothies on the island!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carta Buena

Carta Buena
Ranked #2 of 7 Dessert in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout
Description: We serve delicious Food, Juices, Smoothies, & Coffee in our own organic gardens. We are not nutritionists, fitness gurus or a lifestyle brand. We don't sell cleanses or medicine. We just make delicious things that are also good for you. Our menu is designed around the Puerto Rican Harvest Calendar and we use what we grow in our gardens. We source our other fresh ingredients locally and organically. Our juices are made with a hydraulic cold press to maximize the benefits. This pressing action doesn't heat or oxidize the produce. The result is a nutritionally packed, live juice that is loaded with enzymes, vitamins, trace minerals & other vital elements that tastes fresh and delicious. Thanks for trying us out.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Smoothies on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

This little place is a hole in the wall, or more like a small food cart just off the road. We walked there upon recommendation from our lodging, and were very pleased. It was my husband, daughter (18) and her friend (17) (and me). We ordered the Kermit smoothie, and the Dreamsickle one. They offer "boosts" to each and three of us chose the ginger.

All ingredients are fresh and natural... believe it... we saw it. Our picky teens even liked them even though they were not filled with sugar (aka Jamba Juice). They do serve more than smoothies, however, e.g. salads, small breads and muffins. Really... you have to get a smoothie here if you are in town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    21
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“JetBlu Flu Cure!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I was sick most of my trip to Puerto Rico with a cold. Not idea for your tropical vacation. The people at this shop were nice, funny, down to earth and listened to my needs and told me what to order. I like that. I like having direction from the experts!

It was tasty and honestly really did make me feel better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bethanyanddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Healthy Gem in Rincon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Just spent a few days surfing Rincon and found this place on the road between the surf spots and the town. It's probably the only place to get seriously healthy and great food. They have great cold press juices, smoothies, locally sources salads and sandwiches. We tried one of each and found the quality and freshness of the food amazing. We grabbed our food and dined al la fresco under a big shady tree. Very cool spot.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“fresh and delish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

be sure to stop in at this happy little place. they are totally committed to providing healthy food and to making their customers feel like family. enjoy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carta B, Owner at Carta Buena, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Kathleen, we are totally committed to not only providing healthy and delicious options to our customers, but we also want to provide the best possible experience. Thank you for noticing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Went BACK to Carta Buena...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I know its gotten silly, but we are really addicted to their Kermit the Smoothie so we went back again on our way to the airport. They could not have been more sweet, and even packed us some goodies for the road. Our favorite juice/coffee/healthy snack spot in all of PR. Just a great little scene there. Love the ocean view in the am. Just wish they were open past 4pm so we could visit post-surf!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JRNYC360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carta B, Owner at Carta Buena, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
The highest compliment we can receive is repeat business. Thank you for including us in your Rincón vacation. We will be ready and waiting with a Kermit upon your return. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carta Buena also viewed

 
Rincon, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Carta Buena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing