We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee stop”
Review of Carta Buena

Carta Buena
Ranked #2 of 6 Dessert in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Healthy, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: We serve delicious Food, Juices, Smoothies, & Coffee in our own organic gardens. We are not nutritionists, fitness gurus or a lifestyle brand. We don't sell cleanses or medicine. We just make delicious things that are also good for you. Our menu is designed around the Puerto Rican Harvest Calendar and we use what we grow in our gardens. We source our other fresh ingredients locally and organically. Our juices are made with a hydraulic cold press to maximize the benefits. This pressing action doesn't heat or oxidize the produce. The result is a nutritionally packed, live juice that is loaded with enzymes, vitamins, trace minerals & other vital elements that tastes fresh and delicious. Thanks for trying us out.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

This was a great stop for coffee each morning. Staff were friendly and even gave us some advice on locations for breakfast foods.

Thank Zebby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carta B, Owner at Carta Buena, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thanks for stopping by Carta Buena during your visit and for your kind words. We work closely with our coffee grower / roaster Sandra Farms to refine our brewing process. Our Hot Coffee is made with a French Press and our Iced Coffee is Cold Brewed. We now offer Tortilla Espanola (local eggs, potatoes, onions) and our Lively Up Yourself Bowl (housemade coconut yoghurt, sprouted buckwheat granola, papaya, and banana) for breakfast; available all day. Come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 188 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

Carta Buena is by far the best place my girlfriend and I experienced in Puerto Rico to eat at and get a frappe/smoothie/fresh squeezed juice. A place like this rivals anywhere I have been to on the mainland of the U.S. and after fully exploring the island of Puerto Rico, we can confidently say it is one-of-a-kind in Puerto Rico. The mission of Carta Buena is so beautifully achieved by using the freshest, seasonal, organic ingredients to produce some of the tastiest creations we have ever had. Just to mention a few of our daily addictions that everyone must have is; fresh juiced carrot, lime, coconut and pineapple. Organic in-house made coconut yogurt with honey and banana, in-house made sprouted granola and topped with the most delicious papaya and banana. We had incredible banana bread, that was vegan, but you would never even know. The moistness and incredible unique addition of fresh coconut must have been the secret. Just get anything there. We got a few other things that were equally as good. Menu changes alot, and everything we had was just incredibly delicious and healthy! We are most likely going back to Rincon next year and you better believe we will be there everyday (multiple times a day) to refuel from surfing. :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Skysurfer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carta B, Owner at Carta Buena, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Wow. How can we respond to such glowing praise other than to say THANK YOU. I can say in all sincerity that we LOVE OUR CUSTOMERS and we take a huge amount of pride in what we do and a tremendous amount of satisfaction when we make our clients smile with satisfaction. Thanks for your visit, your patronage, and for taking the time to share those kind words. Hope to see you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Different experience, beautiful place, near the beach, healthy and accessible. Highly recommended! My favorite smoothy is Kermit and Im in love with the awesome view!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dalykah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carta B, Owner at Carta Buena, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Different can be good, and we think we are doing something that's unique in Puerto Rico and really delicious. Thank you for trying our Kermit the Smoothie. Don't worry, it's "Coqui-Free" - made with mixed local greens and is our most popular beverage...Different and Delicious!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

What in the world is a place serving world class juice and smoothies doing in a Puerto Rican beach town??:-) Making us SO happy that's what! After 8 days of driving around the beautiful island of PR, and eating very, very well, we started to tire of the local cuisine and needed a break. Our surf instructor told us about Carta Buena and it made our trip. Its an adorable "juice truck" that serves Norman Walker Pressed juices (sorry for nerding out, I am a pretty serious juicer) which is the best method of pressing fresh juice to maintain all the health benefits.

The wife loved the smoothies and the Vegan Banana Bread, and I think I ordered the Kale and Sweet Potato Salad about three times in 4 days. We pretty much had breakfast and lunch here every day once we discovered it. Its about 1/2 the price as places we frequent in NYC (Juice Press, Liquiteria). The staff was lovely and friendly and were happy to tell us a lot about Carta Buena's locavore mission and the local produce.

Its on a lovely spot of land with an ocean view not far from town on the 413 Road. Rincon was a great place to end our trip, and along with the incredible sunsets, Carta Buena was one of our favorite parts of our trip. Next time we know to fly into BQN instead of San Jose. The owners are renovating the house next to Carta Buena and building a pool with ocean views as a Vacation Rental and the girl working said they had big ideas for expanding Carta Buena and some other concepts. Can't wait to see what they do.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JRNYC360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carta B, Owner at Carta Buena, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Fly your Freak Flag JRNYC360!!! It was such a pleasure for us to serve you and the Mrs. during your stay. Your enthusiasm and feedback were super helpful as we rolled out new items like the amazing Kale and Avocado Salad. We have been fortunate to have other NY juicers like you come down, try us out and give us positive feedback. Thank you! And send your friends...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Absolutely delicious! Fresh, fresh food made with local produce. I highly recommend Carta Buena to everyone in Rincon. The homemade yogurt was out of this word, served with the most delicious local fruit and homemade granola. I also had one of their refreshing juices, which if I could drink on a daily basis. But only is the food great, the people working there are very friendly and helpful. Just go there asap!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brodriguez2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carta B, Owner at Carta Buena, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

We are fortunate to have a friendly and committed staff that continue to innovate our menu each week. We are so stoked that you enjoyed the "Lively Up Yourself Bowl" which is our homemade (and dairy free) coconut yoghurt with sprouted buckwheat granola and tropical fruit. It's a delicious and healthy start to your day. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carta Buena also viewed

 
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Rincon, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Carta Buena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing