We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best kept secret in the Island - very quiet and charming.”
Review of Amirage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amirage
Ranked #10 of 19 Rincon B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 27, 2009

We returned once again to the best kept secret in Puerto Rico - Amirage in Rincon!. This lovely guest house is run by Joy and David. The view from our 2 bedroom luxury apartment is magnificent. Joy and David are always so warm and friendly with many suggestions of fun things to do and see. The best part of Amirage is the quiet and privacy. Coming into the apartment and finding the very large basket of fruit, along with other treats and the very nice bottle of wine sets the tone for a very peaceful relaxing stay in one of the most wonderful small villages in Puerto Rico. Don't forget to visit the art galleries while you are there.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandbornflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 72 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2008

We stumbled upon Amirage by thumbing thru The Lonely Planet. We showed up without a reservation but after a brief chat with the owner they rented us a beautiful apartment and even allowed us to stay without the three day minimum. The do not take credit cards so we had to pay with a personal check. How much more accomadating could they be? We liked our stay so much we even stayed the third nite. The positives: a nice apartment with Kitchen/Bath/Cable etc. Absolutely gorgeous view of the ocean. The room /balconey is almost over the ocean so the effect is of being on a cruise ship with a large balconey outside the ship. The negatives: I would have preferred a queen or king bed but I could hardly complain as I was given a personal tour of the apartment before we rented. Water pressure in the shower was not that great. There is no beach to speak of but they make that clear in all their advertisements and the lack of beach is what gives the apartment that "cruise ship" feel to the balconey. Parking was just outside the door and fine for one car. Perhaps others were expecting a Wal-Mart parking lot?? The hot tub also was in fine working order. Take a couple of drinks in the evening down to the hot tub and enjoy the stunning sunset or stay on your own private balconey and nearer the fridge and enjoy the same sunset. Our visit could not corroborate any of the complaints in some of these reviews.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank fsae9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2008

My husband and I visited Rincon, Puerto Rico and stayed at the Amirage earlier this month. To briefly summarize our experience at Amirage was amazing, the views were spectacular…this property is absolutely gorgeous!!!

We couldn't get over the beautiful gardens, multi-level decks, and the clean, perfectly appointed suite that the owners Joy & David Auerswald-Wilcox had created. Enhancing the beauty of this wonderful place is the semi-private pergola shaded garden visited by butterflies and hummingbirds!!! And filled with multitudes of plants, flowers and a wonderful fountain ….

Our suite gave us absolute privacy, stunning water views, gorgeous sunrise and sunsets!!! The sound of the surf to lull us to sleep!!!

The owners were wonderful hosts, with impeccable attention to detail. The suite was packed with lots of amenities like: a/c, VHS/DVD, full size fridge, stove, microwave and coffee maker. And it also was those little thoughtful things such as a basket of fruit, cheese and wine upon arrival were such a nice touch!!!

Less than a 10min drive away are numerous spots for dining and drinking. We bought our own food and drinks, which was no problem, since the supermarkets are just a few minutes drive away. The beach is basically for swimming only - no real place to lay in the sun - but you have the entire deck area. And again, you can easily explore other beaches for snorkeling, surfing all within 10-15min drive from Amirage!!!

We highly recommend this location. Joy was so helpful with our plans before we arrived at Amirage. Joy and Dave made us feel completely at home. They run a first class operation and go way above and beyond to make their guests comfortable. We would absolutely consider staying here again. If you are looking for a wonderful, quite refuge then Amirage is the place to go. We highly recommend this to other visitors.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2008

A Trip of a Life Time

We had the great pleasure of sending the holidays at Amirage in Rincon PR. The facilities was wonderful with a beautiful view of the Ocean.

The owner shared so much with us, little thoughtful things such as a basket of fruit, cheese and wine in each unit. There were 12 people from the ages 3 to 82. Everyone enjoyed the court yard, hot tub, beach and the holiday decorations.

On New Year's Eve the owners shared cupcakes and champaign with us. Clearly, they are wonderful hosts and we look forward to spending another holiday at Amirage.

This was "Clearly" A Trip of a Life that my 82 mother was able to share with us and she felt comfort in this home.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vmaxey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

Joy seemed like family before we ever arrived at Amirage. Joy and Dave made us feel completely at home and catered to our every need. They run a first class operation and go way above and beyond to make their guests comfortable. They were flexible with our travel dates, helpful with directions, recommendations, etc. There were always there when we needed them, yet never intrusive. We enjoyed sunsets from the hot tub. The fruit basket and bottle of wine upon arrival were such a nice touch. Champagne and decorated cupcakes for New Year's Eve! Who could ask for more?! The property is absolutely gorgeous. How many places can you go and enjoy sunrise and sunset from the same balcony? We'll be back and we are recommending Amirage to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank apopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2007

If you are planning a trip to Rincon, look no further than Amirage or Sol y Playa for a place to stay. I cannot emphasize enough how kind and accommodating Joy and David were during our stay there. Because we stayed during an unusually busy time, we found out at the last minute that we were unable to rent a car. Joy provided us with list of several local car rental companies to call but when these did not pan out, she personally picked us up at our condo and took us to the food store and showed us a few local restaurants. She also offered to take us to the airport (a 45 minute drive) for our flight home. She was also extremely helpful in helping us acquire a calling card so we were able to stay in touch with home. Rincon is an absolutely beautiful and relaxing place to vacation—having hosts such as Joy and David makes it magical.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank rinconlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2006

I have known Joy and David since the year 2000.
When my daughter got married in May 2005 to a young man from Sweden, she invited 32 of their friends from the University in Boston.
They were from far away places (Sweden, Norway, England, Spain, Portugal, Italy, Taiwan and even Singapur) so we thought
few of them would come... well, we were so wrong !
They all answered yes !!!
And I had to acomodate them for a whole week before the wedding. I called my friend Joy and rented all of the three apartments. We could fit 12 in the three rooms. I also had to rent other nearby
guest houses and Inns. What they had to say about Amirage was amazing... and these were very well (world) traveled kids, from wealthy families, used to the best of the best! They were so happy they got "Amirage" and not the other places I had to get for the others. They loved the rooms, the beautiful flowers, the breath taking view and sunsets, the sound of the surf right under your deck...
Joy and David went really out of their way to make everything perfect for them, and they were PAMPERED!
I CAN NOT THANK THEM ENOUGH for helping to make my daughter's wedding a success. Usually the bride writes "Thank you notes" to the guests for comming and for their gifts, this time we were getting thank you notes for the wonderful time they had at Amirage!!
After that we have recomended Amirage to family and friends many times, always with the same results.
Thank you Joy and David

  • Stayed: May 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Feiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rincon hotels
2.9 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
803 reviews
3 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rincon Inn
Rincon Inn
#18 of 19 in Rincon
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
208 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
430 reviews
2.6 mi away
Coconut Palms Inn
Coconut Palms Inn
#3 of 19 in Rincon
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amirage

Address: PO Box 1535, Rincon 00677-1535, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Rincon
Price Range: $100 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing