We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the fresh fish tacos”
Review of La Cambija

La Cambija
Ranked #3 of 112 Restaurants in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Out side sitting with a roof top a nice family atmosphere good prices and good food (daily fresh catch and cook to order ) No orders by phone.No pets allowed.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Try the fresh fish tacos”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This place is small, and looks like little more than a roadside bar. The food is truly delicious; we went back twice! I had the grouper tacos, which were fresh grilled fish and absolutely delicious. The others in my party had the chicken burrito, mahi mahi tacos, blackfin tuna cedar plank, and the burger. All were really tasty and perfectly prepared.

Tip: A side of fries is big enough for 2-3 to share! Plus, they sprinkle curry on them, which is amazing!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lolavictrola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    169
    44
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beware restaurants without prices on the menu”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

More than a restaurant, La Cambija is a fun bar with good food. It is small and especially noisy on weekends and holidays. The kitchen closes at 7:30 and they serve no coffee or dessert.

Its specialty is seafood and the majority of dishes are variations on native fish --mahi-mahi, shark, stingray, tuna, wahoo-- available in turnovers, skewers, or tacos. The fish tacos are by far their most innovative and original dish, and seemingly the most popular. The night we visited they were superbly prepared and presented. And though the wahoo was not freshly caught, as the wait staff suggested, they were delicious.

The wait staff was friendly, very helpful and highly efficient.

Dinner for 4 totaled over $90, which came as a bit of a surprise since the menu did not have prices for the various dishes. It included a round of drinks and side dished of meat empanadas and tostones (fried plantains).

All in all, a very pleasant, if noisy, evening and well-prepared fish entrees.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nofotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

This was the best local food I had in Rincon. The staff is very friendly. Definitely order a watermelon mojito. It's probably the best drink I've ever had. The cerviche and the fish tacos are to die for. Definitely go to this place if your visiting Rincon.

Helpful?
Thank LeAnne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Fish Tacos Ever”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The best fish tacos I have ever eaten. Reasonable prices, service and staff were friendly. Food was not only delicious but arrived very fast. I ate here 3 times in 4 days it was so good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best tacos ever”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The variety of fresh fish tacos is amazing. It's outdoors, great service, cold beer. My perfect place. Great service too. Was in Rincon for a week and my favorite place

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joeotto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cambija also viewed

 

Been to La Cambija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing