We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious and awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucky 13 BBQ

Lucky 13 BBQ
Ranked #28 of 110 Restaurants in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, American, Barbecue, Pub, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious and awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

My surf instructor told me that this was the best barbecue in Rincon. Another told me it was the best breakfast. They lied: it was both.

Ate my way through a tremendous amount of delicious food here while hanging out with some truly awesome folks (including the owners Ryan and Leah). It was actually the place I felt most at home in Rincon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peteytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westtsew686, Owner at Lucky 13 BBQ, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We're so glad you loved your visits here! We truly appreciate it and loved having you! Will be looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    65
    23
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our least favorite restaurant in Rincon”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our first restaurant on our recent trip to Rincon was not our favorite! The food was mediocre except for the oysters and coconut shrimp. We were a party of 7 and 5 of the seven had stomach problems for nearly a day after eating at Lucky 13. Prices were high and refills were automatic on soft drinks and we thought they were free since we were never asked if we wanted them. The bill was nearly 90.00 for iced tea refills never requested. Rather than make a scene we paid the $$$ bill and learned a lesson. Never under any circumstances would we every go to a Lucky 13 if there are, God forbid, any more of them in the world!!!! Beware!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amishlancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westtsew686, Owner at Lucky 13 BBQ, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We are incredibly shocked at the contents of this review. To start from the top, I find it very hard to believe any of you could have had stomach problems from our establishment being that we make everything fresh every day. We get produce deliveries every afternoon to prepare for each shift. Our prices on all of our items are as low as we can make them without giving it away for free. Puerto Rico is not the easiest place to get the products you need at a low price as everything gets shipped to the island. All of our beverages have free refills except for alcohol, of course. I am very sorry that you were charged for refills, this is something that most certainly would have been appreciated being brought to our attention at the time the bill was presented. We are truly sorry you feel the need to write such a distasteful review about our establishment. We only could wish that you would return, let us know its you, and we will do what we can to make your next experience better. Or who knows, we may even open another location in Freeport, NY..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good breakfast spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I would have never expected a restaurant with BBQ in the name to be a great breakfast spot, but it really was. Service was average. Atmosphere is interesting, but otherwise the view wasn't great (of the busy street). French toast was great!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westtsew686, Owner at Lucky 13 BBQ, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed our breakfast! Where we come from, BBQ can simply mean, great southern style food.. Alot of our inspirations come from the south. So don't let the name fool you! I'm sorry your service was only 'average' ..but it seems our food made up for it! As for the view being of the road, luckily for us, local Puerto Ricans love watching traffic! Too bad there wasn't a parade passing through on the day of your visit... Those are fun to watch! Either way, were glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner especially if you're tired of PR food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We ate here three times for dinner during our recent stay in Rincon. It was only 3 blocks from our Casa so we thought we'd give it a shot, then we were hooked. We tried everything from the tacos to the BBQ and enjoyed all of it. My favorite was the pulled pork sandwich, but the tacos were also very good and they had numerous types. Wish we had a Lucky 13 back home.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank geopro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westtsew686, Owner at Lucky 13 BBQ, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We are so delighted you had such a great time with us! Thank you for your kind words as well! Who knows, we may open a second location near you! We do have family in St. Pete's ...;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Unexpectedly really good food. Eggs Benny are fantastic. Great place for a quick lunch. Service is great, Chris will hook it up.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dluvis1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westtsew686, Owner at Lucky 13 BBQ, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We're Douglas you r joyed your experience with us! Thank you for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky 13 BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Lucky 13 BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing