We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Spot on the Beach”
Review of Casa Islena Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Islena Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Rincon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot on the Beach”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at Casa Islena for 3 days after attending a wedding in San Juan. This small resort is situated right on the beach. There is a nice pool, large enough to actually swim. The premises are very nicely maintained. The two persons at the desk, Mara and Betty, could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor facing the ocean, 254 and 201, are definitely the nicest, with private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regnadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIStaff, Owner at Casa Islena Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of Casa Islena Inn. I have to agree with you concerning the location, it is beautiful. I remember the day my husband and I decided to turn our home into an inn. It has been a pleasure to share is with so many as an inn and hopefully a home away from home for many.
Thank you for recognizing our staff. They enjoy working with our guests to make their stay a memorable one.

Thank you for your kind words and we hope you will visit us again!

Wendi Restrepo
Casa Islena Inn
Rincon, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    71
    14
    10
    5
See reviews for
57
108
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My best friend of 25 years and I are in Puerto Rico vacationing for 10 days, we are traveling the island with no specific destination. We found Casa Islena on Google on our third night (it was after 7pm), we called and spoke to Mara, she was a total professional. She guided us there (since we both are directionally challenged) turn by turn through the mountains, very patiently as we found the sign for the 413 and accompanied us on the phone till we arrived. She stayed past her time and was still pleasant and helpful and made us feel welcome and at home. To make it even better we found a very quaint, clean and comfortable place to lay our heads for the night. We then met friendly people staying there. It was quiet and relaxing. The next morning we woke to an amazing beach front view, fresh breakfast, good coffee and more great staff. Our original plan was to leave early and continue on our island journey, but we stayed until noon and enjoyed the pool and the inviting pleasantries of the wonderful Hidden Gem. Thank you we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo,Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights,3 days, weekdays. Reception was friendly, courteous, and helpful. We were given a map with route into "downtown" and restaurants and places of interest in area. Our room(102) was close to the beach, in front of the pool. We shared a small balcony area with a nearby room. Very clean, neat with lots of peace and quiet. Breakfast was delicious. The bar is small and cozy. The hotel is a combination of modern facilities with rustic decor, and maintenance is superb! Personnel was friendly and customer oriented. We met and spoke briefly with the owner, Mr. Dario. The sunsets are marvelous. Nothing like nature for a romantic getaway!
A must see is Punta Higuero Lighthouse. In town, visit the Alcaldia, the Plaza, the Church and restaurant Das Alpens, for German cuisine. Don't miss the bakery La Rincoeña for authentic Puertorican cuisine. My husband ate rice with chicken sausage, red beans and "pernil" at an incredible price-$5.00. Yummy!! Very clean and excellent service. Next door is a Mexican restaurant, also very nice.
Almost all restaurants open after 5:00PM.
Definitely we will return during winter season to enjoy whale watching.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms share a large balcony area. These do not face the beach. However there are two ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at CII because some friends had rented a home close by. We did not know what to expect. I tend to prefer 5 star hotels. However, location was excellent, the beach was beautiful. The fact that our room overlooked the pool and beach made the experience memorable. I would definitely go back. The breakfast was decent also, and included with our room rate.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank adiazjr15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I booked surfing lessons at Surf Rincon and they recommended Casa Islena to us. It's a small hotel (originally the owner's house) with 6 rooms. Our second floor room faced the ocean and overlooked the hotel pool, and was fronted by a large veranda with a lounger and chairs. We had a fridge, microwave, TV and AC, although the weather was so perfect we never used the AC and slept with the windows open. The bed was comfortable, we were provided with lots of towels for both the room and beach, plenty of ice, and friendly, warm service at every turn. The shower was big and the water pressure and hot water plentiful. We had excellent food in the hotel which is run by a lovely woman - big bowls of fresh fruit, poached eggs, egg whites for the husband, and always served with a smile. The hotel fronts on one of the surfing spots, and across the parking lot is an amazing yoga studio - open air, all mats and props provided, every day at 9am and 5pm, for $10.

Room Tip: Try to get one that faces the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a great spot to stay if you’re interested in surfing, relaxing, centrally located but still far enough from town to feel like you're on vacation. The hotel is nice, not many rooms, get the room on the pool level right in front of the hotel – there are only 2 on the pool level – or theres one on the second floor with a balcony facing the ocean and just above the pool. The rooms in the back are not bad, just darker and not as inviting. If you walk down the beach to the left from the hotel, there’s a great spot for dinner, only a 10 min walk. The hotel bar is lots of fun but get ready for a big bill if you're having the good drinks! We ate breakfast at Casa Islena and it was awesome! This is a great spot to travel with friends - it's like having your own house with service!
Steps beach is the best for snorkeling but still not nearly as good as Culebra.

Room Tip: Grab the rooms by the pool, facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelknat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro dc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Casa Islena has it all -- neat and tasteful rooms, a small pool overlooking the beach, surfing steps away from your room, outdoor yoga studio next door and a cafe/bar that is inviting and delicious. The people working there are helpful, friendly and make the stay comfortable and welcoming.

Room Tip: We stayed in 101 and loved it. There are rooms upstairs with balconies that also looked amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djeendjeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIStaff, Owner at Casa Islena Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of Casa Islena Inn. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and all the activities offered in our area. WE continue to strive to make our guest feel at home and enjoy our beautiful town.

We hope you will come see again when visiting Puerto Rico!

Thank you again for your kindness.

Wendi Restrepo
Casa Islena Inn
Rincon, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
3.0 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
776 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 8 in Rincon
423 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 8 in Rincon
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dos Angeles Del Mar Bed and Breakfast
6.0 mi away
Rincon Beach Resort
Rincon Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Anasco
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Islena Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Islena Inn

Property: Casa Islena Inn
Address: Carr. Int. 413 km. 4.8, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Islena Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Islena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Islena Hotel Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing