We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great snorkeling experience”
Review of Taino Divers

Taino Divers
Ranked #7 of 18 Tours in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling experience”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Contrary to a previous reviewer, we found the snorkeling at Desecheo the best that we've seen in Puerto Rico. The bottom is far away where the boat anchors, but if you swim a little towards the shore, you'll get to reefs with a rich variety of fish, in addition to being able to see down towards the deeper areas where we could see an eagle ray, a shark, a barracuda, and tuna. The crew were great and very safety minded and friendly. They were helpful and let us do our thing to explore while keeping an eye on us at the same time.
I haven't been to Vieques, but have snorkeled at Tres Palmas and at La Parguera, but in both places the agricultural run-off has compromised the coral. Desecheo is 12 miles out, but worth the boat ride there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhillyVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    28
    14
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for diving, no so much for snorkling...”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The guys - Frank & Anthony - were great! They provided great service & were very concerned about our safety - as well as the safety of the evironment. We went for snorkling and were disappointed. Once you get to Desecheo Island, the bottom is about 45 feet away so all we really got to see were some yellow fin snapper & a couple other fish. Unless you are diving, you miss out on so much. It might be better to rent the snorkle equipment and go snorkling off the beach were you find Taino Divers.

If I was a diver, I would definitely recommend them based on the reactions of the divers in our group.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Dive Company!!!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Been diving with them for years. Hands down the best, well organized dive business I've had the pleasure of diving with. Thanks for all of the wonderful years.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Safety for divers and environment”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was very impressed by our dive-master (Anthony Luciano) and boat captain (Frank Lazu) in their respect for both the divers and our dive site. Captain Frank told us that we might not be able to get out to Desecho island because the seas were a little rough, but that his first responsibility was to ensure our safety. When we did get out without mishap, he emphasized the delicate nature of the coral and wildlife in the reefs of Desecho (a Federally protected wildlife preserve) and told us that the only specimens we could remove were bottle or can 'fish.'

Dive master Anthony was telling our team of 4 to get ready for a 75 foot dive, when I felt I had to say that i was (newly) PADI certified to only 60 ft. He immediately agreed that this is all we would do, assuring everyone that there was plenty to see at 60. The dive was fantastic -- nurse sharks, morays, giant crabs, tube sponges as big as trash cans, and visibility that must have been at least 90 feet. What a great team.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RFarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good first diving experience”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We used Taino for our first diving experience outside of Minnesota and were pretty pleased with the service. We had originally really wanted to dive Desecheo, but the weather didn't work out. We did 4 dives with Taino and one private dive with Wally, a Taino divemaster. We dove the black coral reef, an 1850s shipwreck, the Corcega wall, and Big Step. The Corcega wall and Big step were our favorities. At Big Step we got to see a Sea Turtle at about 50feet deep and that was a highlight for me. We were a bit disappointed in having to load all the gear ourselves each day and the gear for a second boat on the second day of diving. But we viewed it as just more exercise :-) The thing we were most disappointed in was the "lunch" that they provide. Taino's website states that lunch is provided with dives on their website and the "lunch" consists of soda, potato chips, and some mediocre pasta salad. I can tell you this they would have gotten a much larger tip from us had lunch been more than it was. The second day of diving we packed our own lunch and snacks and were happy with that.

Our second day of diving we talked to Wally about his favorite dives in the area and his favorite dive was a shore dive on Crash Boat beach at night. He offered to take us and another couple we were with to Crash Boat the following day. We met him at Taino and he loaded up our rental gear and tanks in his truck and followed him to Crash Boat. He set all of our equipment up and was an excellent divemaster for us. This was by far our favorite dive! The other couple with us have been diving for years and are coming up on their 50th dive and they said the night dive on Crash Boat beach was their favorite dive ever for both of them. After the dive we loaded everything into Wally's truck and went back to the shop where we able to rinse off all of our gear and Wally surprised us with some corn ice cream, a Puerto Rican favorite. All in all, it was an amazing experience for a reasonable price with Wally :-)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauree1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taino Divers also viewed

 

Been to Taino Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing