We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was great, service was another story” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ode to the Elephants - CLOSED

Ode to the Elephants
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Ode to the Elephants offers authentic Thai flavors prepared by Chef Kevin Ngowusan. The restaurant overlooks Sandy Beach in Barrio Puntas, Rincon. A definite MUST dining experience in Puerto Rico.
San Juan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Food was great, service was another story”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Let's begin by saying food was delicious. Everything we had was good. The drinks, appetizers, main dish and dessert. The bartender was really nice and answered every question we had about their signature martinis.

The waiters on the other hand, seemed rush and had problems accommodating us in the area we wanted to sit. We wanted to sit outside to enjoy the view. We had no problem waiting, but they seemed clearly displeased with our request. After a while we ate inside. Our waitress seemed not to know what was left from the menu. We ordered different plates and after leaving for a while she returned telling us they no longer had them.

Nonetheless, as previously stated, food was spectacular. It's a shame that waiters weren't up to par.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mariasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    77
    22
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ode to this Thai restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

The balcony view from this restaurant is enough reason to come and eat here. But on top of having great views, they also have great food. We had the Pad Thai and some curry dish, and both were beyond delicious. Bu the most appetizing thing on the menu had to be the Thai Ice Tea martini with Bailey's. It is hands down the best martini I have ever had. Pure delicious! I recommend checking this place out on Thursday's when the all Martinis are only $5!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JRenai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
158 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, outstanding service and amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

My sister and I enjoyed one of the best meals in Rincon at Ode to the Elephants. We started off with cocktails at the bar made with fresh ingredients and interesting twists on the classics. All were amazing. We were entertained with local stories by Daniel and sampled new concoctions being whipped up by the owner. The food was amazing. We shared egg rolls and pad thai. Portion sizes were appropriate for price. The views are breathtaking and unfortunately we had a few sprinkles and had to move inside but thankfully the view is available to all from any seat. Can't wait to eat here again on our return visit in July.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellys6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must go while at Rincon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

After asking around for directions for a while we arrived at this beautiful place at night. The restaurant is located on the top floor of a three story building and has an amazing view to the coast. The food is authentic and tasty, prices are acceptable taking into account the portions. Ask for daily specials as they usually have more than one. Try the tropical cosmos (the papaya one is great) This is definitely one of the best places to eat in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank irvmaelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thai in Puerto Rico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Great atmosphere, delicious authentic Thai food, terrific martinis, beautiful views. Was very warm dining inside. Recommend balcony dining for the breeze.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ode to the Elephants also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing