We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place! Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ode to the Elephants - CLOSED

Ode to the Elephants
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Ode to the Elephants offers authentic Thai flavors prepared by Chef Kevin Ngowusan. The restaurant overlooks Sandy Beach in Barrio Puntas, Rincon. A definite MUST dining experience in Puerto Rico.
Aguas Buenas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Place! Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

One of my 'must stops' everytime I visit Rincon! Great place with a beautiful view, great food, very good service and value... A great Thai food experience!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mario_Luigi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    77
    22
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good, but a little inconsistant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

A little hard to find. Very friendly staff/service. The food arrived quickly, excellent wine selection for reasonable prices. We went twice - once on new year's eve (2012), the food was simply divine the first time. The chef used appropriate spicing, even keffir lime leaves - great thai meal (we have spent months in Thailand). The only dish that was not great was the Massaman curry chicken.

The second time (2 days later), the food was much less inspired (not sure if this was a different chef), different spice profile, and the texture of the fried dishes was not spot on. Not bad, but not nearly as good. The service was fantastic both times. Wish they accepted reservations.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Thai in Rincon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great Thai food where you would least expect it and at very good prices. A bit hard to find but worth the effort. Only complaint was the noise level. Couldn't carry on a conversation with person across the table but maybe the outside seating is more conducive toward conversations. Chicken and pork stays were very good apps and also had 3 very good entrees. Appreciated waitress' concern over spice level and adhered to her recommendation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan6NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Food & Atmosphere in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Enough said. The Thai food is great and very affordable. The ambiance is perfect, the drinks are tasty and the view from the deck is amazing. The owners really know what they're doing and it shows across the board.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Incredible Thai food in Rincon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

I had found Ode to the Elephants on a few web sites and wanted to try it out. I am an Asian food junkie so I am on the hunt even in a place like Rincon. "The Ode" is up the hill from the coastal road in the Puntas area of Rincon. Check out their web site for directions before you go otherwise it can be a challenge to find.

This place has great outdoor seating. I got there just before the sun went down and sat down. Wow! What a great view of the ocean!

I had looked at their menu beforehand and thought I knew what I wanted but the waiter wanted to tell me the specials. Fortunately, I listened to him. I ordered a Shrimp with Four Mushroom special which had a medium level of spice. It came with a side of rice. Wow! All of the flavors came together very well. There were mushrooms in the entree that I had never seen before but everything tasted great. It came with a side of white rice. The portion size was just right. I was quite full.

A few comments on the service. The service was a as fantastic as the food. I was greeted when I came in, seated promptly, placed my order and received the food quickly as well.

The whole meal (entree, soft drink, and tip) came to under $20. They accept MasterCard and Visa.

I will definitely be back to this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElGringoViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ode to the Elephants also viewed

 
Rincon, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing