We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best trip ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2009

My girlfriend and myself wanted to get away for her 50th birthday, after spending a long, cold winter in Ohio. We found the Lemontree Waterfront Suites online in Puerto Rico. Neither one of us had ever been to Puerto Rico before, and wanted a relaxing, yet exciting vacation. A vacation to always remember. The owners of the Lemontree were very accomodating to our every need. The view from our Veranda was breathtaking! The Ocean noise was a sweet lullaby to us each night, and the sunsets were stunning. If you are thinking of visiting Puerto Rico, check out the Lemontree in Rincon, Puerto Rico. You will not regret it. It is nestled in the smaller town of Rincon, about 2 hours west of San Juan. It was well worth the drive, and the eat in kitchen allowed us to save money by cooking many flavorful meals. The beach was relaxing to sit at and stare endlessly into the Ocean, and the owners offer up beach chairs, sand toys, and floats to dip into the Ocean if you wish. Our DVD player was on the blink, and it took one request of the owners, and a new DVD player appeared! It was a birthday celebration that will not be quickly forgotten. On two of the days, we went snorkling at a nerby beach, and the people were so friendly. The locals welcomed us so much, we did not want to leave. Thank you Lemontree!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gersiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 190 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2009

My wife and I recently spent eight days at The Lemontree Waterfront Suites, and we found it to be everything we had hoped for...and more. Bella Jane and her family were charming and helpful, and the intimate Coco Suite was cozy and private, with a huge balcony overlooking the Caribbean. The Lemontree is just minutes away from the "surfing" beaches like Maria's and Domes Beach, while snorkeling, swimming, and seaglass scavenging are literally just outside your door at the Lemontree. My wife and I had a wonderful time in Rincon, and our stay at the Lemontree was a big part of that experience.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2009

the first page of their website shows two beach chairs looking out at the ocean, yes LemonTree is on the ocean,literally right in the ocean, only reason I mention is there is no beach as the ocean comes right to the base of the building, suppose you could go for a swim off the stairs that lead down to the water but not my idea of spending time on the beach, not trying to say the owners are trying to deceive with the picture, we enjoyed ouit stay as our suite was large, clean, and contains all sorts of information about the area, one other word of caution especially if you go there with children, it's located on a narrow back road and the traffic flies & I do mean flies by the resort. It sits right on the road and the parking is on the side of the road across the street so be really careful to get your car off the road as far as possible and watch out for the nuts driving up & down

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ball82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LemonTree, Bella Jane, Owner at LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2009

Our thanks for writing a review about your experience at the Lemontree. All pictures on the website were taken right here on the beach at the Lemontree and I was either facing south, looking directly into the ocean, or east down the beach or west down the beach.

The beaches in Rincon are “natural” beaches. They have the sand that comes to them naturally with the ebb and flow of the ocean. The beaches here tend to be narrow (not a lot of sand to walk across to get to the water) and, from time to time to experience some sand mobility, depending on what weather systems come our way. When you live by the sea you come to accept the beach that nature presents to you each day.

As for water sports...sometimes snorkeling is great... sometimes it’s just not happening; same for surfing and swimming. In Rincon, we are blessed to have beaches that are northwest facing and those that are south facing. The south facing ones, like the Lemontree’s, are relatively calmer than the north facing beaches. On almost all days you can find a great ocean side or in-water activity here... from walking to parasailing, surfing to a gentle soak.

During February when the swells rolled in, Lemontree beach had some sand mobility, like all the beaches here. Despite, less sand, and yes, sometimes the edge of the water came right up to the Lemontree, we had many guests, who stayed with us during the month, and everyday most took a long walk down Lemontree’s beach and went swimming in the ocean. They also enjoyed going to the northwest facing beaches and watching the surfers. And most of all, every day they were thrilled in being so very close to the ocean. They embraced, as we encourage all of our guests to do, what nature sends to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Nice surf but incredibly overpriced for bed and balcony with microwave, mini-frige as a "villa." Very unfriendy place. No friendliness from "Bella Jane" from NYC or her husband we never saw, though they both stayed right next to us. These people shouldn't be in lodging industry. Picture of beach on website doesn't exist. Office, when you open the door, is actually a messy closet with broom, etc. My wife and I went over to Amirage right next door--very friendly and real apartments for themoney!!! Would stay there next time IF we decided to stay so far from the main action as this was. What a mistake we made!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LemonTree, Owner at LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2009

Our thanks to this pseudonymous guest for taking the time to join Trip Advisor to write a review about his experience at the LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages. The reviewer, “David White,” is correct in saying that the Lemontree is not a “villa” and we have never presented it as a house or “villa.” We have six suites of varying sizes, from studios, where this guest stayed, to three bedrooms. For our guests, the completely equipped kitchens with refrigerator, stovetop, coffee maker, blender, toaster and microwave, along with pots and pans, dishes, and utensils and outdoor gas grill enable the preparation of a complete meal or a simple snack which can be enjoyed on their suite’s large, private oceanfront terraces. We are fortunate to be located in a quiet area of southern Rincon with restaurants and nightlife about a 10-minute drive to the north or a three-minute drive to the south. The vast majority of our guests appreciate the option of either seaside tranquility or the easy access to participation in the varied activities available in Rincon.

We provide our guests with the guidance and recommendations they wish; we live on site and are always available should a guest have a question or concern. This review reminds us that it is crucial that there be a good match between guests’ expectations and what a vacation property has to offer. Over the past five years we have been pleased to welcome many, many hundreds of guests who have appreciated the Lemontree vibe. The atypical experience, as voiced in this review, suggests that the vibe here at the Lemontree was not for this guest. There is an accommodation for everyone at all price points and one of the great values of Trip Advisor is as an aid in making a good match.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2009

Me and my partner stayed 3 nights. The ocean is right below your porch and it is absolutely beautiful. The Inn Keepers are nice and easy to talk with. The town itself Rincon is a very awesome town with lots to do. We plan on returning in July with our daughter to enjoy another relaxing vacation. We ate at the Mahi Mahi restaurant and the food was to die for. The locals are very friendly. Alot of of people from the states use this section of PR for surfing and sailing.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank frankie1adrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Frommers labels this place a "find" and that's exactly the word I would use. We stayed in the Mango suite. It was really nice: we had a bedroom, bathroom, kitchen that had everything except a dishwasher or oven, sitting area with TV/DVD player, and a huge balcony. The balcony was probably bigger than our living room at home and when you were sitting on it, all you could see was ocean.

To address some concerns other travelers might have: You'll have to rent a car to get to the Lemontree and while I was nervous about it, it turned out to be no big deal. Contrary to stereotype, I didn't find Puerto Rican drivers to be any worse than urban drivers in any city on the mainland.

Other reviewers have commented on the plumbing: we had no issues at all with the hot water and I didn't think putting toilet paper in a wastebasket was a big deal.

Also, I thought the beach was great: it's not very wide, but it's long, all sand (no mud), and the water is clear and great for swimming. You can snorkel off the beach, but the snorkelling is better off Steps Beach. I should mention that the public beaches in the Rincon area that I saw were all very clean.

Some things near the Lemontree that I can recommend: Steps Beach, Tamboo Beach (and Tamboo Tavern), Shipwreck Restaurant and the EC Bakery.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachelfromarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

Wow...what a great place! It's absolute privacy and the view...words do not describe. We stayed in the Bannana suite and once the door to the deck was opened it was like being on a boat. The ocean is right below you and it's the most incredible sight and feeling to being that close to the water.
The room had a small kitchen, big beautiful bathroom, jacuzzi, and shower.
There are stairs to get down to the water and depending on the tide there's a sliver of sand to walk on before you're in the water. The water is very clear here and provides some nice views of a variety of fish. Sunsets in Rincon are incredible...especially sitting on the deck.
Rincon is a wonderful place to visit, great people and food.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeta5862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
2.9 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
803 reviews
3 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
8.7 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#2 of 4 in Mayaguez
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
208 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rincon Beach Resort
Rincon Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Anasco
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages

Address: Carr 429 Km 4 1 | PO Box 200, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Rincon
Price Range: $153 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private and directly on the beach, our eight oceanfront suites build vacation memories that stay with you for a lifetime. You will live by the sea, in tune with the natural rhythm of the sea and sky without time and pressure. Our beach is tranquil and our lifestyle is relaxed. This place is that "low door in the wall" which opens a space for grownups looking to reawaken their spirits. The beach here at the LemonTree is calm, swimmable and walkable. Private terraces and kitchens make the suites economical and fun. Each suite has its own charm and amenities so be sure to check out each one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemontree Oceanfront Cottages Hotel Rincon
Lemontree Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Lemontree Waterfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing