We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic spot for taking photos & watching surfers @ Domes Beach”
Review of El Faro Lighthouse

El Faro Lighthouse
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Find a maritime museum and dolphin-spotting platform at this lighthouse in Rincon.
Dunedin, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Scenic spot for taking photos & watching surfers @ Domes Beach”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Visited Rincon Lighthouse on a beautiful Saturday afternoon. Plenty of free parking, well maintained grounds, and incredible views for watching the surfers along Domes Beach! However, both the mens' and womens' bathrooms were locked/closed, which seemed very strange for a public park on a busy day.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyQuest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    164
    57
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Try going at night...”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Honestly, the sunset is gorgeous from anywhere in Rincon as it faces west; but, I didn't see it here. Rather, we came here in the middle of the night on a new moon. There was no gate or anything in the parking lot, so it was very easy to access. I still felt safe, though, in a small group of four. There were mainly couples there doing...romantic...things in the shadows, and a few groups of people smoking. All in all a very chill and dark place to come at night.

We came at night as a place to meet up with friends, but stayed because the stars were absolutely gorgeous. There are tons of benches around and very little ambient light. So, this was a perfect and comfortable place to chat with friends and stargaze. Perhaps one of the clearest views of the stars I have ever seen in my life.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tyler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach Island, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Great Sunset Photo Opportunities - Well-Kept Public Area”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This place is one I return to each time I stay in the area for a winter escape. I like the sunset photo opportunities when it is a bit cloudy (for spectacular colors) over the Caribbean looking west toward Isla Desecheo, south to the gringo surfing beaches and many great waves, and north overlooking the surfing beach know as Domes. One can also get wonderful photos of the well-kept lighthouse and the grounds with well-tended many tropical flora, and at the right times, the place is populated with birds, iguanas, etc. It is popular with the Puerto Rican people (my recent visit was on Three Kings Day of Jan 6), and tourists alike for a couples or family stop during a daytime excursion. Frankly, I always pass by the local vendors who sell water, some packaged snacks, soft drinks and the US-style ice cream truck, and beach flotsam and "artwork" made out of shells, beach glass, and other such trinkets. The ice cream truck's incessant jingle on a loop breaks the mood as it competes with the wonderful sounds of the birds and crashing surf below on the rocks (one star off for that). The parking lots are expansive, and free. El Faro in Rincon is easy to find via PR 413 - just follow the signs to turn north and pass by the ever-crowded Calypso bar and grill, and the other shops that cater to aging hippies and surfers from the world over, and pass the surfing area parking lots (unpaved and sharp rocks) to the west side, and you will come out to the point on a bluff where the lighthouse is perched.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Sunset”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We went in December and stopped there to the the sunset. You could see surfers down at the sea and enjoy the beautiful sunset. There is lots of parking and our kids were able to run around.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MiamiTravelMom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakemont, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lighthouse with a view”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Watch the surfers from the patios, take lots of pictures, enjoy the local vendors wares. Great place to see the protected island off shore from a distance.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 41Buick19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Faro Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to El Faro Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing