We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lied Twice about their Seafood”
Review of Rincon Tropical Restaurant - CLOSED

Rincon Tropical Restaurant
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Puerto Rican, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Mayaguez
Level Contributor
207 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Lied Twice about their Seafood”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

NAME: Rincon Tropical [1]

TITLE: “Lied about their Seafood” [Tripadvisor, review #42, 2 March 2014]

SUMMARY: They lied about their fish and its freshness. Average to poor local food. They are badly over rated online and said they do not like tourists. I cannot recommend them. Their online reviews are misleading.

RANKING: Poor. 27TH out of 62 Restaurants in Rincon is incorrect

TELEPHONE: (787) 823-2017

WEB PAGE: http://rinconpr.com/rincontropical/

RESERVATIONS: yes

MANAGER: Wilson

HOURS OF OPERATION: 11 am to 9 pm

LAYOUT: An open air bar with patio furniture. Some distance from the highway fumes and noise. Large parking lot. Not a bad location.

LOCALITY: Turn left out of the Rincon of the Seas Hotel and take the first right. Otherwise it is difficult to find. Their sign is hidden. They know this and do not care (I asked them). Their online kilometer statement of 12.0 is incorrect. They told me they know this is wrong and have not corrected it because they do all their business with locals and do not care about tourists.

VIEW: They have no view. However, Cattle Egrets walked right up to our table. [2]

LATITUDE/LONGITUDE: 82.329338/67.247961

DIFFICULTY LOCATING: bad.

OCCASION: A couple for lunch. The online reviews attracted me, but the were misleading and incorrect.

PARKING: easy, ample

SPECIALS: They post specials on a chalkboard. They had non-seafood specials for locals.

AIR-CONDITIONED: open air, rustic, wooden bar and grill

FURNITURE: patio, but comfortable

CUISINE: Puerto Rican

MENU FORMAT: Well done in color with pictures

MENU ITEMS: normal stuff

WAITRESS: Waiter was efficient, polite, and amusing. His English was probably better than ours.

ENTRÉE: They claimed to have fresh Mahi Mahi (Dolphin) [3] in butter sauce. The fish was not Dolphin because [A] You cannot cut a thin fillet from a Dolphin. [B] The meat was tender, but Dolphin is firm. [C] It tasted “fishy,” but Dolphin is delicately flavored and not fishy. [D] The markings in the flesh were wrong. The fish had been badly frozen since the edges were frayed and the color gray. The sauce was not butter, watery, and flavorless. The chicken pieces were over done and tasteless. How can anyone make bad fried food?

SIDES: Their tostones were okay. Their mofungo was poor and their broth tasteless.

SILVERWARE: flimsy plastic

SERVING TIME: a little slow, but acceptable

COST COMPARISON: Most items on their menu are the same price you would see in a real restaurant. There are no bargains here.

SECURITY: Puerto Ricans are the nicest and most gracious people on earth; however, I would not ever go any place where I was not wanted. Tourists are most welcome other places.

COMPARISONS: I liked the similar Tropical Gourmet Restaurant better. I actually prefer 61 other restaurants in Rincon over the Rincon Tropical.

PROBLEMS: [A] They should have not have given the wrong fish to a seafood specialist. [B] They should not have called a badly frozen fish “fresh.” [C] How could they prepare a fish so badly that it was contaminated with bone fragments? [D] Use butter in sauce when it is ordered. [E] Do not over cook the chicken.

AWARDS: Their 2013 Certificate of Excellence should be revoked.

RECOMMENDATIONS: [A] Do not lie about your fish. [B] Do not lie about freshness. [C] Learn how to prepare a fish. [D] Use butter in your butter sauce. [E] Learn how to cook. [F] Never lie to the Pirate.

HISTORY: We had never been there before and we will never be back. They once had breadfruit tostones. A rarity in Puerto Rico these days. They once had air-condition seating, but no more.

FOOTNOTES:
[1] This is one of the places the locals really love. With all due respect to Puerto Ricans (People tell me I am a Puerto Rican, now, which the Pirate considers an honor), they mostly like chicken and fried foods.
[2] I have never seen “trained” (= fed) Cattle Egrets before. The “tame’ birds were Pearly-eyed Thrashers at the Tamboo Tavern. If you do not want “Big Bird” scaring your children, then you may not wish to come here.
[3] This was a large, but very thin fish. I expect that it was a filefish or a triggerfish, and probably a White-spotted Filefish. There is nothing wrong with this fish, but please tell me the truth.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernest W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    63
    21
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great local food”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The fried whole red snapper was freshly caught and deliciously prepared, as was the mofongo with chicken chicharrones.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank nofotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food for the Price”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The Food is excelent and price is great....... the mamposteao rice is do die for..... great lunch special every day...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elfotingo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Yummy food, local atmosphere”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

This place came highly recommended for fresh seafood and didn't disappoint.

First - if you are looking for fancy, don't go here. It is open air off of route 115 just past the Econ grocery store. Other reviews complained of servers who didn't speak English. We did not experience this. We had two English speaking servers. And, besides, the menu had plenty of English so in a pinch it would be possible to just point.

I had the whole red snapper which was fabulous. Very tasty. My wife had the snapper filet which she enjoyed.

We had previously observed that the flan desserts that we have had in Puerto Rico were very dense and heavy. Not so here. The guava flan was very light - much to our liking.

Helpful?
Thank dktenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUERTO RICO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yummy food!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We visited on a Sunday around noon, our server was bilingual and she was very nice. We had the octopus salad and corn fritters (sorullitos de maiz) as appetizers, so good! My husband had the fish stuffed mofongo and I had the mofongo with breaded shrimp, see photos. Will recommend to friends and will visit again as soon as we have a chance.

Helpful?
Thank myriam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rincon Tropical Restaurant also viewed

 
Rincon, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing