We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locally Grown Heavenly Mofongo”
Review of Rincon Tropical Restaurant - CLOSED

Rincon Tropical Restaurant
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Puerto Rican, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Locally Grown Heavenly Mofongo”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We're from Michigan. What is it about Mofongo that is so addicting?! It must start with the fact that the plantains are locally grown and picked by Hacienda Mendez in Moca. We get the Mofongo con Caldo, (with broth) as a take-out (about $8.00). Combine it with rice, onions, garlic, hot sauce if you please, some fresh chicken and it is our favorite meal. Call ahead and the service is 10-20 minutes. Get comfy, add a cold Medalla and ummmmmmm, heaven! Go often. Their fish is very good also, as are thier tostones (which are very large, come with dipping sauce, and under $2.50 for 5). Interesting décor, plastic chairs, snappy music on weekends. Perfect for stopping after the beach. Dine in or take-out as we do.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunzOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    63
    21
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Local spot”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We ordered snapper filet.. very tasty. Open air dining, breeze and ceiling fans. Limited wine selection and the salad is an afterthought.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tenbiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Only place we ate at twice”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went here the evening we got into town on the recommendation of the local agent who checked us into our apartment. We all had seafood which was excellent. They provided a pitcher of water to hydrate our thirsty family, as opposed to many places which only have bottled water. The outdoor seating was a great way to enjoy the tropical warmth after just leaving the cold midwest.

A few days later we stopped in for a late lunch. The food was just as good then. We sampled the mofongo, fried shrimp, mahi creole, shrimp and crab rice, and shrimp alfredo pasta in 2 visits. Each was very good and we were very happy with the friendly efficient service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank farmerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My review will be mainly of their food. We started with bolitas de quezo, (cheese croquets?) and conch salad (amazing!) had the red snapper fillet in butter sauce with breadfruit tostones (tostones de pana), the mahi fillet in creolle sauce with rice and beans, and a chicken mofongo as entrees. The chicken mofongo was good, but the fish were the highlights. They were cooked PERFECTLY and were flavored nicely. The restaurant is right in front of the rincon of the seas resort (1 min drive or 5 min walk). The atmosphere was casual and service was good. Will go again someday!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady-SMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Too much fried food”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was excited to try Rincon Tropical even though I had been told that the food was very average. Well, they were right, it is very average. Our family meal started out with a combination appitizer platter that included many traditional foods such as bacalao and corn fritters. Almost all of the food was way way over fried where it had no flavor and was dried up. My husband had Mofongo and I had the chicken asopao. Both servings were generous but again, lacked flavor. A red snapper filet was very nicely cooked and flavored. Rice and beans were decent.
I enjoyed the very casual atmosphere but can't say that our server seemed anything but annoyed. The bar that is part of the restaurant next door is fun and friendly with very good rum punch!
If you want really good Puerto Rican food you need to go outside of Rincon to Mayaguez or Aguada.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pierette_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rincon Tropical Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing