We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to spend a few nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Parrot Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lazy Parrot Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
PR
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend a few nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I live here in PR and only stayed there for 2 days, needed a room for a Volleyball tournament. The experience was good. The staff service was good as well.

A few things you should know, if you’re looking for a luxurious hotel, this is not the place. This is a nice place to spend the night(s), it has a pool, nice view, good area(s) surrounded by trees and a quite place. But it’s a place more for people that will spend the night there and then go out to the beach, visit other places or so.

The room was good, clean and comfortable (microwave and small fridge). The staff was very friendly. The hotel is not located near the beach, but, if you want to go there for surfing or any other sport, it’s just a few minutes driving. If you want to more to the south (Mayaguez, Cabo Rojo) it will be like 30 minutes driving.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrc_pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We do not nor have ever tried to market our hotel as luxurious! What we do have is a very friendly, laidback mini resort that has all the amenities (pool, restaurant, bar, free internet and parking) of a name brand hotel but we are far from a cookie cutter experience.

Neither do we claim to be on the beach, however the terrain does confuse people into thinking our hotel is farther from the beach than it is....3/4 mile to 2 miles from not 1 but 8 beaches....you ask, how can that be, Rincon is very mountainous with coves and different stretches of beaches located on a pennisula on Puerto Rico's west coast. Different beaches for different water sports and you never get bored going to the same beach everyday.

Our motto...arrive as guests, leave as friends!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    116
    46
    14
    15
See reviews for
91
174
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Let me start off saying that I'm not a surfer, but when I got here, i wanted to be! A huge poolside projector featured scenes of surf competitions from around the world. The hotel is colorful and well maintained; the bar had good food and the staff was mostly american, so no language barrier. Wish it was closer to the beach. Very happy- stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OfeDaizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Although Rincon is known for its great surfing, many people enjoy it even if they aren't surfers!

So glad you liked the big screen and the insight into the surfing world. Not only do we show surfing flicks during the week but in April we also host the Rincon International Film Festival. A week long event that showcases short and feature films from around the world.

The Lazy Parrot is 3/4 mile to 2 miles from 8 different beaches. Although we aren't right on the beach, you have the peace and quiet being a little more removed from the late night beach scene but the unique proximity to so many different beaches.

This time of the year some folks only give Rincon a night or 2 on their island wide tour and end up wanting to stay longer. Glad we still had space available and you were able to stay with us awhile longer! Hope to see you again soon at the Lazy Parrot!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was scheduled to stay at The Lazy Parrot from 1/22 to 1/28. I had to cancel due to unforeseen circumstances. My email was answered promptly and professionally. I have stayed at "5 star" hotels and never received the personal response I feel the staff here gave me. It is the only place I would consider staying when I am able to make the trip. Kudos to The Lazy Parrot!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent review! Things happen and when they do a professional and courteous attitude should be the norm not the exception. So happy to hear my staff handled your situation in a timely manner! We hope to see you soon when the tide calms down!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We went here for lunch during our stay in Rincon. It is a small bed and breakfast type hotel with a cute little pool and poolside tables for lunch. There are some nice mountain views by the pool. Kids loved playing by the pool and we enjoyed our lunch. Maji Maji tacos were pretty good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selincik2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We encourage people who are not staying with us to stop by and enjoy lunch or dinner poolside! As long as you are patronizing our restaurant feel free to use our pool facilities! It is all about being lazy and enjoying your vacation! Children are always welcome here too! Glad you enjoyed the day!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just spent three wonderful nights at the Lazy Parrot. The complex and rooms are very clean and make for great accommodations in Rincon. Really a respite with great views off to the sea.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the Lazy Parrot, we hope to see you again soon!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is very nice, small, clean and you have enough to just relax during the vacation. The hotel personal is very nice and helpful. The have a continental breakfast but if you want next door there is a bakery that you can buy ham and cheese and upgrade yourself. The bar is open until 10:00 p.m., but must places have the same closing time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinetteMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
That is what vacations are all about....being lazy!!!! Glad to hear we accomplished that and the staff was helpful and nice. The Lazy Parrot restaurants close by 11pm in order to allow our guests a good nights sleep. Rincon (being a surfer town) is early to bed early to rise however if you are wanting late night activity you can find it in Rincon on the weekends until 2am. Weekday closing law is 12 midnight.

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We would absolutely stay here again! We are currently living in the San Juan metro area and enjoy going here or there for a night or two. We really enjoyed the Lazy Parrot and Rincon. The property definitely exceeded our expectations for the rate. Our favorite things about the Lazy Parrot are its character and cozy-relaxed feel. We love all the fun decor... especially the mosaic wall! We had dinner down by the pool and within our group were 4 kids. We ate (and drank) well and the staff was kind and patient with the children allowing us to stay and enjoy quite a bit longer than usual. The rooms are simple, clean and distinctive. The gift shop is also worth mentioning considering it is stocked with really great items that I have not seen elsewhere on the island. It is just a short drive to the beach and lighthouse which are just gorgeous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so much for noticing the details. We really try to make you feel at home, not in some generic hotel with every room decorated the same. The mural you wrote about took about 3 months to do.....my husband will be so happy to hear you liked it (he did all the work, I just gave my 2 cents worth here and there).....you even noticed the turtles climbing out of the pool.....did you know turtles hatch on our beaches all the time...it is quite exciting! Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you soon!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
2.3 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
1.4 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
26.7 mi away
Parador Combate Beach
Parador Combate Beach
#1 of 4 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
2.3 mi away
Parador Villa Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Parrot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Parrot Inn

Property: Lazy Parrot Inn
Address: 4.1 Carr 413 | Barrio Puntas, Rincon 00677-2108, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lazy Parrot Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21 Room inn with 2 restaurants and bars nestled in the mountain overlooking the valley and ocean below. 1/2 Mile to 2 miles from several beaches, swimming, surfing, snorkeling, whale watching and many more activities available in Rincon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lazy Parrot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Parrot Hotel Rincon
Lazy Parrot Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing