We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A well run, relaxed, hotel in Rincon, perfect for just chillin' out!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lazy Parrot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lazy Parrot Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A well run, relaxed, hotel in Rincon, perfect for just chillin' out!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

This would be my 4th visit to the Lazy Parrot and every one has been perfect. A well run efficient hotel with an excellent Pool Bar and good food. Would recommend a Pool view room as you then see the ocean too, each of these rooms has a balcony, perfect for enjoying the late evening sun. Just about 5 or 10mins drive to the beach, plenty of choices of good beaches, and in the evening the bar can be nicely busy with a good local clientele. The breakfast is help your self but a nice selection of cereals, muffins, bagels, fruit, yogurts etc. Endless coffee and Juices. Definitely recommend the Lazy Parrot if you are not staying beach side,

Room Tip: Suggest poolside room with balcony, a little more expensive than in the actual hotel but well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
After 4 stays you should know us inside and out !!! 4 times!!! Wowee!!!!.....these aren't guests anymore.....they are family!!!! Thanks a million! That review was worthy of Krispy Kreme donuts!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    121
    48
    17
    16
See reviews for
104
187
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

You see this funny place right on the main road and you think,'oh no'. Then you walk into a little paradise. It is a small, family run hotel, centrally located in Rincon. Easy to find. We had a room on the second floor, overlooking the pool, bar, and restaurant. You have a great view over a small valley and the ocean. The rooms are clean and the service is friendly and efficient. The bar and pool are very welcoming after the long, hot days. I guess the bar and restaurant need to be reviewed separately, but they do a good job on the whole package.

Last time i was in Rincon, we stayed somewhere else. We came to the Lazy Parrot for dinner and i thought it was so pretty, I vowed to stay there on my next visit. I am glad I did and I will stay here again. We arrived in the middle of the night, but they had given me clear instructions on how to find the room and keys. No problem. There are a lot of stairs and climibing, so I you're not up to it, you may want to rethink this place.

For the price this is a great value.

Room Tip: be wary of the rooms up front in the older section. But they will be less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Over the years, so many people have commented on our front exterior. That comes from taking a 3 bedroom private home and converting it to a 21 room hotel with 2 restaurants and a putt putt golf course. In the 23 years since the "parrots birth" we have thought again and again how we could change the funky little front to something more spectacular but when you only have 1 front entrance and 50 foot of road frontage, you are limited. Glad you enjoyed your findings, most people can't believe what's inside, so look at it as a prime example of "don't be too quick to judge a book (or a hotel) by its cover".

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

This was our second visit this year for a short break so you can tell that we are already fans!
As usual, we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Francia on reception was most welcoming and helpful. Although the main restaurant is closed out of season, the bar food is excellent, and the service friendly and efficient. The Lazy Parrot has a real Caribbean feel to it and is a great place to relax for a few days. If you are flying in, you really need a car to get around and to visit the various beaches that are only a short distance away.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JatandGst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
So happy to hear of your return to the Lazy Parrot.....relax and chill out is the perfect header....if you are relaxing and chillin out, sounds like our job was well done! We look forward to your return.....

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
1,150 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 707 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Based on Trip Advisor reviews, I booked a 3-night getaway. What a bizarre experience. The inn isn't awful, but it certainly isn't 3-star worthy.

First, it's literally impossible to find, even with a GPS. There is no address, which is apparently typical in Rincon. We had to stop at another area resort and beg directions. With a written play-by-play, it still took an additional 20 minutes to locate.

We arrived for a "late" check-in which, by Lazy Parrot standards, is after 5 p.m. Not a soul was to be found anywhere in the hotel who might guide us to our room, so we finally made our way to the bar, which is under separate management, and asked if someone could help us. We were advised to see if there was an envelope pinned to a bulletin board outside the gift shop. We did manage to locate the board, and there was an envelope with our name on it. Would have been nice to have some instruction from the hotel staff in advance. However, I'm not sure hotel staff actually exists. Other than the gift shop clerk, we didn't see a single hotel employee the entire time we stayed. We turned in our key at the gift shop when we left, for lack of other guidance.

The hotel decor is pretty in the common areas ... parrot themed furniture and art, and flowering tropical foliage throughout. Be prepared to climb stairs if you book here. There must have been four dozen stair steps between the parking lot and our room on the second floor, and there are no elevators or wheelchair ramps. We lugged heavy bags up and down and up and down. You can't even get to the hotel lobby without climbing stairs. Parking is free, but the parking lot is across the street and extends down a steep hill. Watch that your car door doesn't fling open and slam into the car next to yours. Bumpy pavement makes the climb back up toting luggage precarious even for people in good physical condition.

Our superior pool-view room was interesting. The property is older, but clean and maintained. We had a pretty view through sliding glass doors, looking directly over the pool/pub area, and a big balcony with wicker chairs. The bed was very comfortable, mattress not too hard or soft, lots of pillows. The floors are tile though, and there's about an inch opening under the door to the hallway, so guest traffic coming and going is loud, and small creatures can roam freely in and out. Fortunately not too many guests were in residence during our stay, so we weren't disturbed much by hall noise. We did clearly hear someone vomiting and flushing at 2 a.m. in the room next to ours though.

TV screen is maybe 32", so you can't see a late movie from in bed across the room, and there's nowhere else in the room to sit and watch. Furnishings include a table and two basic wooden dining chairs - helpful for cooking coffee and using laptops. Plenty of electrical outlets facilitate keeping cameras, computers, and phones adequately charged. Free wi-fi was appreciated, and the signal was good in the room, as well as at the pool area.

Room darkening curtains made it easy to sleep late, which caused us to miss breakfast the first two mornings. That turned out to be no loss, as breakfast consisted of bread, bread, and more bread. We made it a point to be up in time for breakfast the third morning (served between 8-10 a.m.), and ended up not eating it. There was dry cereal and toaster waffles, cheap yogurt cups, and a few pieces of fresh fruit. Nothing worth getting up for.

The bathroom had no tub - shower only. Water pressure was fine, but the water never got warm, no matter how long we let it run. We literally froze in the shower. The hotel supplies conditioning shampoo, bar soap, and plenty of towels. There is no hair dryer, so bring your own. No iron or safe either.

The room had a microwave and mini-refrij - no coffee maker. For coffee connoisseurs, there's an incredible little gourmet coffee shop right next door. There's also a little convenience store on the other side of the hotel, where you can order an omelet or a sandwich. (Their coffee is barely drinkable though.)

The hotel pool is small but well maintained and is open 10-6 daily. Don't bother with mini-golf on site. We thought we'd play for $5, but changed our minds after checking out the course. You must climb 30 feet down a steep hill to get to the first hole. The holes are basic straight greens, and because the course is built in a jungle-like area of the property, the greens are covered with wet leaves and dirt. Brush is thick and we were concerned about possible snake encounters. Instead, we trudged back up the hill, climbed stairs to our room and packed a few items for a day exploring Rincon.

An inconvenient surprise awaited when we climbed down and up stairs to exit via the lobby. A maintenance man working on a hallway floor barred our exit with yellow tape. He redirected us to the back of the hotel to exit, where we had to climb seventy feet up another steep hill, next to the adjacent convenience store, to get to the street and our car. After touring all day, the hallway was still taped off when we got back and there were large holes in the floor. No staff, no explanation, no apology, no instructions. Just a dark hallway with holes in the floor. We exited out the front and walked around down the hill in the dark to the back of the hotel, to make our way to our room.

A redeeming aspect of our stay was The Rum Shack pub on the property, under separate management. Though we had to flag down staff when we wanted a drink, they were friendly and helpful. We dined one night on their chicken quesadillas and house salad. Both were divine, as were the strawberry frozen margaritas. Don't bother with the buy one/get one free coupon in your room for Cuba Libres though. The rum is bottom shelf and the cola is a watered down tap variety.

I'm not sure why other travelers gave this hotel such high reviews on Trip Advisor. We're used to staying at very nice properties and wouldn't have booked this had we known in advance what we know now. I'd recommend paying no more than $50 per night to stay here.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms 1-10 near the entrance to climb the fewest stairs. For the best pool view, stay in r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FancyFree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
First, I would like to clarify that the Lazy Parrot is a AAA rated 2 star hotel not a 3 star as this guest refereed to and that this guest booked through Sky Auction which does not provide the hotel any guest information other than name and dates of stay. Guests who choose to book in this manner usually call the hotel to verify their stay and get necessary information. Seasoned travelers usually skip this part but with that choice comes the risk and pitfalls of assumption. If these guests had called, emailed or at least visited our website, most of the items that were negatives would have been addressed before their arrival....#1 - GPS doesn't work in Puerto Rico since most don't recognize our funny addresses, #2 late check- in instructions would have been provided,, #3 our continental breakfast menu is posted and served from 8am to 10am, #4 hairdryers, irons and coffee makers are available for use on a request basis #5 We have lots of stairs, we are built on the side of a mountain....we also have a wheelchair ramp and side entrance that allows minimal stair usage.

The little gift shop they refer to is also the office, which has BIG letters over the window stating so. If they had ever checked in or stopped in the gift shop prior to checking out they would have had lots of answers to their questions. For the record, we totally respect the privacy of our guests who choose to remain anonymous during their stay and generally speaking when someone has a need they ask, the office is open everyday from 8am to 5pm, restaurant 11am til 10pm and the emergency night number posted throughout the hotel. Our non-existing staff aka invisible parrot housekeepers are the ones who cleaned their room everyday, which they said was well maintained and clean.

Oh, we did have a major repair gong on while they were there which impeded the main entrance for a day, a broken water pipe was to blame and the tile floor in the upper pavilion had to be busted out, thus closed off for the safety and protection of our guests.

As I say time after time, we aren't for everyone, if you don't like stairs, need a TV larger than a 32" to see from 15 feet away, don't like tile floor, continental breakfast, putt putt golf that isn't on a flat surface or any of the other things mentioned, I would suggest staying at a cookie cutter brand name hotel with carpet and elevators. If you are the type who wants an adventure, with tons of atmosphere and a laid back Lazy Parrot style, we are probably the perfect place!

Regards,
Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Business travels takes me to the west coast almost every other month. This time I decided to try something different and was not disappointed. The room was comfortable and well equipped. I was one of the lucky ones with a balcony overviewing the pool. The service was superb and attentive. I had the prime rib (excellent ) and was served with the sweet potato hash which added a very nice touch. Only a few minor details I'll point out, the room key (an actual key, not a key card) had a huge parrot shape key holder, not a big deal but made me forget the key in the car a few times since carrying it was a little.....bothersome. Also the parking arrangement is a little odd and they might have gone a little overboard with the fabreeze in my particular room.....I may be nit picking here..... I guess it just add to the character and quirkiness of the place. Overall a good, affordable experience and would definitely recommend it for a west coast escapade.

Room Tip: The rooms above the pool area have a small balcony....nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank consiglieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
I am so happy to hear you finally tried us out and was not disappointed. There are a lot of choices in Rincon and we are flattered that you chose the Lazy Parrot. We have found over the years that guests lose keys all the time. The large parrot key ring makes it a little harder to misplace and when it is left at a local restaurant or shop, guess what, they know who to call. In the long run saves the guest a key replacement fee and keeps our keys close to home. We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We're not surfers, just sailors. We've visited Puerto Rico from west to to east and from north to south. The Lazy Parrot offers one of the best quality hotels all over the island (we don't speak about the resorts). Better than Parador Villa Antonio which is absolutely awfull. And cheaper!!! The room we've been in, view on the swimming pool was perfectly designed, very clean and nice. Nothing negative to say on. The ambiance all around wonderfull. For an overnighter nothing better!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beata h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Sounds like we are doing our job well, offering atmosphere, value and cleanliness. To be compared as one of the islands best quality hotels is an honor. We thank you and hope to see you again soon on the isle of enchantment.

Regards,
Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We didn't stay here but had dinner at the rum shack the last night and it was great. The place is so beautiful and the staff was really friendly. We are planning to stay at the lazy parrot next year for sure. The food was also really yummy.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tjclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
So happy to hear you enjoyed the Rum Shack Poolside experience. I will be happy to give our restaurant staff and management a big thumbs up! We look forward to your return!

Regards,
Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
2.2 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
1.3 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
4.8 mi away
Hotel Colombus
Hotel Colombus
#1 of 2 in Aguada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rincon Beach Resort
Rincon Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Anasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Parrot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Parrot Inn

Property: Lazy Parrot Inn
Address: 4.1 Carr 413 | Barrio Puntas, Rincon 00677-2108, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lazy Parrot Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21 Room inn with 2 restaurants and bars nestled in the mountain overlooking the valley and ocean below. 1/2 Mile to 2 miles from several beaches, swimming, surfing, snorkeling, whale watching and many more activities available in Rincon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lazy Parrot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Parrot Hotel Rincon
Lazy Parrot Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing