We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Naturally Luxurious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Treehouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropical Treehouse
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Rincon
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Naturally Luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

This place is just really well done. My gf and I spent two nights in the Sunset Hooch and it was just a great vacation experience. We like non-traditional accommodations like yurts, cottages, and cabanas etc... Anything that gets us away from people and closer to nature is a bonus. If you're like us this place is a dream.

The property is really well landscaped with an awesome variety of plants, flowers, mango trees. You're not too far away from town but when you walk on to the property you feel like town is very distant. Also the hooches are just far enough from eachother that you feel like you have the whole property to yourself. I recommend walking the trails around the property and seeing the different plants and variety of bamboo he has planted.

As far as the sunset hooch itself, it has everything you need. Propane stove, cooler, sink with running water, pots, pans, silverware etc.. Just make sure you grab ice for the cooler before you arrive at the market down at the bottom of the hill on 115. Bathroom has it's own separate hooch just down a path and you have a switch to light up a path to walk dow to it at night. Bed is comfy and there are two rocking chairs up there with you to just sit back and enjoy the view, read, or do whatever.

This place is a perfect romantic getaway for couples who want to get away from people and closer with nature. This would also be great for a solo traveller looking wanting to get away and unplug for a couple of days. The tropical treehouse is truly unique in how it achieves harmony with nature, style, and comfort... We eagerly await our next visit.

Anthony & Katybeth

Room Tip: Sunset hooch has the best view. Almost 180 degree of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misteradamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    11
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tofino, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

This is a really unique accommodation, and I'm happy we found it when planning our trip to Puerto Rico! This is a bit like roughing it, so don't go if you're expecting luxury accommodations. My husband and I loved this place! Jo e-mailed us really specific directions on how to get there, and we arrived with no problems just before sunset. We were staying in the Sunset Hooch and the view was splendid. After the sun goes down, there are some lights (running on solar power they've stored during the day, and on a battery), but they don't last long, so plan accordingly. We decided to go out for supper after sunset and had a great time. It was surreal staying in this tall treehouse in the middle of the bush and we absolutely loved it. The shower is cold, and totally outside, so you can't be shy - shower quickly! What a great experience surrounded in nature, though. Totally enjoyed it.

Room Tip: The Sunset Hooch is worth the extra dollars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomiyamaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

I found out about the Bamboo Tree house while looking online for a sustainable bamboo bed for my new apartment. Since we were going to Puerto Rico in a month, I immediately called Jo & Sam Scheer and found that the Luna Hooch I was interested in was open the 2 nights we'd be there so I quickly reserved it! WOW! What luck!

In Puerto Rico we drove to where Mapquest said it was but the local road we were looking for had no name (most don't there)! Hmmm. After driving around in the dark night for 15 minutes & not finding it, he called and found out there are DOS stationes carro de Texaco en Rincon! LOL. We searched further north & found the road. Jo said go up 2 hills and turn left at the bamboo patch by the road. We drove up and think we found the right bamboo patch and called to make sure. Jo said he'd be along the road shaking his foot. They stayed on the phone and as we turned a bend in the dark we saw a leg shaking in the headlights. LOL. We pulled in. We got out met Jo & Sam. Jo led us down a neat narrow forest path then took a left & there it was! The Bamboo Tree house We could see the almost full moon through the skylight in the middle of the roof. It is another inCREDible sight! You'll have to stay there to appreciate it the most! Since we love nature, one morning Jo took us on a tour of his paradise. Several large colonies of towering green yellow bamboo and dark brown termite colonies in the middle of a few trees. We met another family staying in the Sunset hooch. Another great gem in Puerto Rico.

It's not the kayaks of Barefoot Adventures or Yokahu or the guesthouses of the Bamboo Tree house or LaPaloma, it's the creativity and persistence of Keisha, Jo, Nilda & Luis to turn their dreams into a warm reflection of their passions and share them with the rest of the world! Each of you are very inspirational angels making the world a better place. Now it's time to work on my dreams to help make the world a better place. Peace

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charliefunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

Overall it was just OK. It was pretty hard to find at night, but we found that many places in PR are hard to find due to a lack of street signs. Anyhow, we got there after dark the first night. Jo showed us to the Luna Hooch and showed us where everything was and even had ice for the cooler for us and a flashlight we could borrow. After that though, things kinda went downhill. First there was so much noise! It could have been neighbors but I think it may have been people staying over at the main house. Whatever it was they were up really late and obviously having a very good time! But that was only mildly irritating compared to what came next. There was a HUGE rainstorm. Not a big deal except the skylight had a major leak. Over half of the bed got completely drenched. When we left the next morning to go to the beach we mentioned it to Jo and he said he'd take care of it. Well, he did try. However, the following night it still leaked really bad. To make a long story short, we ended up leaving a night early. Of course I told Jo that we would be willing to pay for the additional night since we had made the reservation and I wrote him the check. However, I thought it was in rather poor taste that we were charged the full price seeing as how the two nights we stayed there our bed was drenched in the middle of the night. We seriously got NO sleep because of it and it was generally uncomfortable. Plus even after attempting to fix the skylight the soaking wet sheets were left on the bed. But, I would recommend it because it would have been OK if not for those two things.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AppGirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

If you are shy, you'll have to use the outdoor shower and toilet at night when it's dark. And don't forget to close the hatch after you climb the ladder to the top of the treehouse so you don't accidentally fall down through it!

Small leaves naturally continually fall down onto the sinks because it's outdoors, but the grit and rust around the sinks made it appear that they had not been cleaned in a real long time. There was a huge frog sitting by the spicket for our shower that was so big we thought it was fake! And a tiny frog was hanging out inside the toilet, but we never did hear the sound of any coci frogs in this area.

We had mailed our deposit 2 months ahead of time for the Sunset Hooch and our adult son had mailed his deposit for the Luna Hooch. We arrived too late to see the sunset because we couldn't find the place. They don't have a sign. We found the general directions to anywhere in Puerto Rico to be poor, at best. Eighty percent of the streets don't have street signs.

When trying to find the treehouses, we took the first sign for Hwy 115... Note that the directions to the treehouse say to take Hwy #2 coming from Aguadilla or San Juan and then take Hwy #115. There are 2 signs for #115 because it loops around and both ends come out on Hwy. #2.

Do NOT turn at the FIRST sign for #115, which also includes Hwy #111 and takes you through the town of Aguada.

The correct directions are for the SECOND turn onto #115! (If you are not paying close attention, though, you won't even see the first sign for #115.)

Also, the name on the sign of a small resort on the left side of the road just before the the treehouse is not exactly the same name given in the directions.

Jo was was a kind man very willing to let us use his electricity to recharge our camera overnight. However, he had a mix-up in our reservations. He was expecting our son for the Luna Hooch, but had lost my reservation for the Sunset Hooch and didn't know we were coming. Despite that, he reassured us that they sheets were clean. The next morning I found a t-shirt between the bed and the mosquito netting, so I'm not so sure sure....

Nevertheless, lying on the bed at the top of the hooch in the morning and just looking over the top of the forest at the ocean in the distance was an experience of a lifetime.

We stayed the night of Feb. 8, 2010 and it only got down to 74 degrees. We slept with only one sheet on top of us and we did not get cold. However, the water in the shower was cold and never got warm.

My husband has sleep apnea and has to sleep with a c-pap machine. He used a cigarette lighter adapter, which was a hook-up available in the Sunset Hooch. It did work the entire night without any problem.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2009

The other reviews mention a hot tub, I will just say I didn't see one anywhere. Also, be aware that the shower in the main "hooch" is COLD WATER only, and the after-dark lights are from a car battery so they don't last long. I can't imagine the smaller hooch is any different. I wish I'd known that before staying there. Otherwise, it's a great place. The view is good and the accommodations are definitely unique. It definitely has the "away from it all" feeling. Except when the neighbors blast their reggaeton!!!

Also, it's NOT a treehouse. In the sense of being supported by a tree. It's a house on bamboo stilts.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mass1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

This place is in a tropical bamboo jungle with a constant ocean breeze and a fantastic view. You sleep above the jungle floor in a treehouse or in a treehouse! We stayed in the mainhouse which has more amenities but next time we will stay in one of the tree house "hootches" (What Jo, the owner, calls them). We had no idea they were so cool! We particularily loved the view of the ocean from the hot tub. Explore the many acres of bamboo, listening to the natural click and clack of the bamboo or ask about surfing lessons from the owners son, Sam. We did both! All within our budget. Thanks Jo! And Sam!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daffydill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
0.9 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
1.0 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 8 in Rincon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
19.3 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coconut Palms Inn
Coconut Palms Inn
#5 of 22 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Treehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Treehouse

Property: Tropical Treehouse
Address: Barrio Pueblo | Calle Julio Soto, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have three treehouses located on 12 acres oflush tropical foliage, with fruit tree, 35 species of bamboo, and tons of privacy. Each "hooch" treehouse has a kitchenette with sink, solar hot water, two burner stove, dishes and utensils, and cooler. The bathroom has a sink, shower, and flush toilet. The upper penhouse suite features a queen size bed with mosquito net, and a killer view of the Caribbean sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropical Treehouse Hotel Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing