We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Limited Menu, Overpriced, Bad Service”

Kahuna Burger Bar and Grill
Ranked #26 of 111 Restaurants in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Situated at the Casa Verde Hotel, this Burger Bar is very popular among surfers who have sandy feet and board in tow. If an adult built a tree house, this is what it would look like. It is open daily from 12pm-midnight (in the winter months). We only do two things but, we do them extremely well. Burgers and Wings.
Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Limited Menu, Overpriced, Bad Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We liked this place for lunch when it was Rock Bottom and came here fequently. The make over is not a winner for us. The cool funky decor that gave this place character is gone, the menu is limited, and food/drinks are over priced. $12 forgettable burgers and a $10 salad. I unwittingly ordered the "Biggest Loser" salad and I was the major loser. This is really a side salad of romaine, an unripened slice of tomato, and two small red onion rings, all for $10! I would have been embarrassed to serve this to anyone and then charge $10 for it? It was a .75 cent salad at best. What a joke! We were the only people in the place (5 of us) and the bar tender watched the TV the whole time. We had to go up to the bar( 5 steps away) three times to get his attention. Had to ask for silverware, condiments, napkins, and drink refills. Sorry to say it Billy, but this place has become a Rincon tourist trap. We won't be back unless there are some major changes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shcje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy B, Owner at Kahuna Burger Bar and Grill, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
As soon as I read your review I had them make me a salad. Boy were you right. I am proud to say we no longer offer the "biggest loser salad" for $10. We have replaced it with a Ceaser Salad for only $6. If you let me know in person, while you were there, I would have comped your entire meal. As far as the staff watching TV...well, lets just say that has also been corrected. I really wish to earn your trust back. Next time you are in town be sure to check us out and at least come on in for a free Ceaser Salad.

My apologies,

Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    48
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windham, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good burgers and hand cut fries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Was really good service was great and it wasnt to bad in price the rum punch was great would recomend if u come torincon make it a stop

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank refscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy B, Owner at Kahuna Burger Bar and Grill, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hand cut fries are the best. Thanks for the review.

Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Big Burger”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

never felt so full after eating a restaurant burger. Staff is very friendly and full of local knowledge.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KMSM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
685 reviews
463 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Lunch in the Off Season”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

During a recent surfing getaway, we were somewhat stymied as to where to get lunch in the Puntas area - a lot of the mainstays (Casa Islena, Lazy Parrot, Tambu) are not open until later in the season. But Kahuna Burger bar offers a reasonable menu of burgers and/or grilled chicken, plenty of beer and friendly chit chat with the bartender. Worth going back in season for sure. WIll not stretch your budget.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yog-Sothoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy B, Owner at Kahuna Burger Bar and Grill, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Not a lot of places open that time of the year. We are futunate enough to have a lot of local support. When so many other places need to close, we try to stay open. thanks for the review.

Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
192 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The best burgers in the area, by far. They have several different burgers, all served on a garlic bun. This restaurant/bar used to be called Rock Bottom and if you were a fan of the old Rock Bottom, you will see that although there are many similarities, a lot of the grungy charm of the old place is gone. The new place is a product of the cable TV show "Hotel Impossible." I'm hard pressed to see where the improvements are. Also gone from the old Rock Bottom are the onion rings - bring them back! But the burgers are still the best. The bartenders are very good, although I've yet to see the bartender known as Red smile. But he's on the ball.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CSI-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kahuna Burger Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Rincon, Puerto Rico
 
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Rincon, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Kahuna Burger Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing