We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service , Rude Staff”
Review of Tamboo Tavern

Tamboo Tavern
Ranked #1 of 2 Nightlife in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad Service , Rude Staff”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

we made a reservation the first of all they don't have a office open after 6:00pm, then the room was very small room with bad smell and had cockroaches after check in we went to the restaurant Tamboo to eat and Also to see Mayweather vs. Cotto fight and suddenly out of nowhere came two roughly bouncers to move somewhere without explanation and told us to speak with the owner who came with a bad attitude and without a reasonable excuse told we have to move or we have to leave
overall it was a dreadful experience not to visit this place

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    33
    13
    1
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great view and awesome drinks!”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Never ate dinner here....but we came here three or four times for drinks and sunset's. They have great Happy Hour specials.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hilburn31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad service, worse food.”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

After reading reviews about this place we decided to go, since they were favorable. The view of the beach was beautiful if you could look past the deck that was falling into the beach. Locals had said it had been like that for a while.

We arrived during happy hour and $2 Bacardi flavors were advertised, all but the Bacardi Limon I ordered, reflected on the bill after the fact. The tostones tasted like cement, the calamari was bland and cold and the service was BAD, one waitress, one bartender and a full restaurant...no manager in sight. The gratuity is included on all checks so walk out before you order or you will be forced to tip on the awful service.

Don't waste your time. There are several other better restaurants in the area.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank maureenhanusek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“One of our favorite spots for an evening meal”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We (mom, teen, 15 and child, 10) were staying at the Boarding House at the top of the hill and the owner recommended this place.
We actually came twice - once on a Monday night and once on our last night, a Saturday, when there was a bit of a Security detail.
They didn't seem to mind that I had kids with me, in fact there was another family, with small kids as well. Perhaps, it was the fact that it was the end of the High Season.

The food was very reasonable indeed for beach fare, but the views are incredible for the evening and even after the sun has gone down, it's lovely to hear the water lapping the shore. Our waitress remember us from the first night and was friendly and chatty both nights. She was actually a graduate from the University of Puerto Rico and had lots of interesting information about the island to share with us. She made accomodation with the menu to suit the children.

The main deck was still in disrepair when we there. Apparently there was a major storm around New Year that had caused it to be damaged. However, that doesn't get it in the way of the seaviews, nor the food. My kids still talk about Tamboo with happy memories now.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank diversitylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Time (Or Money!!)”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We went to Tamboo twice on our trip. Once for lunch during the day and one time at night to check out the party scene. Both times were horrible and they kept getting worse. Tamboo is very small, the service is horrible and the staff is rude. There is no reason to waste your time or money at Tamboo when there are dozens of other great bars in that area alone (i.e. pool bar).

PS: If you decide to check out Tamboo and see the train wreck of a bar/grill/night club with your own 2 eyes be careful where you park. Police drive by every now and then for parking illegally and the fines are no joke. (Make double sure not to park on the sidewalk!!)

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ElGringoAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamboo Tavern also viewed

 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Tamboo Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing