We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yumm... yumm....”

The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa
Ranked #2 of 115 Restaurants in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yumm... yumm....”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The best breakfast and view in the area of rincon. The "full monty" is my favorite and the eggs benedicts, homemade sausage, "parcha icetea" its a most!! I recomend to get there early, it gets very busy in high season but its worth the wait!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherkalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    76
    29
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best breakfast ever!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hands down, this is the best breakfast experience we've ever had. They have home made bread and home made sausage, and they both taste delicious! They use fresh ingredients, and you can tell by the clean flavor. Coffee is great. Lemonade and passion fruit tea with mint are an absolute must-try. I had the omelet with toast, and enjoyed every bite. My boyfriend had eggs with sausage and bacon, and was delighted. Also tried the french toast with caramelized bananas... I am not fond of sweets, but this dish has to be mentioned!

They will be closed from September 02, 2013 and will reopen in October 30, 2013.

Overall, it was a great experience, except for one thing. We called on the way there, and the hostess told us that we didn't need a reservation at the moment, because we were only 2 people and there were tables available. When we parked our car 10 minutes later, there was a tall guy (one of the employees, a local by the accent when he spoke to us in Spanish) and a waitress, standing outside, and both signed us that it was closed/full. We disregarded that, and still got out of the car. When we did, he was very rude and told us it was full, and that we could not go in. We told him that we had called 10 minutes earlier. Then he asked if we had a reservation. We said that the hostess told us on the phone that we did not need one. Then he said "good luck", like it would be impossible for us to sit for breakfast. It was such a negative vibe! As soon as we walked in, the hostess (very sweet by the way), welcomed us and seated us immediately! The experience afterwards was worth the nasty employee, but it should be mentioned because people like this harm the image and vibe of the businesses they work for and which do not belong to them. This is the reason why I rate poorly the service. Other than him, place is excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GIRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Uniquely Phenomenal”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Step 1 -- CALL BEFORE 6 pm & MAKE A RESERVATION FOR THE NEXT DAY. Remember to ask for a balcony table (there are only 5 so be flexible).
Step 2 -- Go to bed and dream of the most wonderful breakfast experience imaginable in Puerto Rico.
Step 3 -- Show up on time (it is quite an uphill climb and there are no signs, so give yourself extra time. Be flexible as some folks linger, particularly at tables outside.
Step 4 -- order the Full Monty or the Dead Elvis or practically anything on the menu and have your dream expectations exceeded in every regard.
The panoramic vista, cool breezes and sumptuous meals -- at very reasonable prices -- are without peer on the west coast. This is truly a place and a meal not to be missed if you are on the west coast of Puerto Rico. If you are on the east coast of the island, get in your car and make the trip, but only after you have made reservations before 6 pm the night prior. FWIW, we had no reservations and got lucky, but I know that can't possibly happen that often. This is the kind of place that makes for the best travel memories. Don't miss it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank duffpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in pr”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have to definitely recommend this gem! I hate tea but this is the only place that i have to drink because is wonderful! Natural juices are also a must!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duddits1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the drive up the hill!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had brunch at The English Rose and it was greatly enjoyed. Driving up the hill to the resturant, we second-guessed the location. Follow the winding road all the way to the top! It's the reason it has such a lovely view of the sea!
We had the Dead Elvis (French Toast), and the House Eggs Rancheros. Both were delicious! We also had their homemade lemonade and Passionfruit Mint Iced Tea. Very impressive and enjoyable!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ne0ntraveLs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa also viewed

Rincon, Puerto Rico
 

Been to The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing