We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but not again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa

The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa
Ranked #2 of 110 Restaurants in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice, but not again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

After hearing rave reviews about the English Rose we chose it for a birthday celebration breakfast.
We arrived 5 minutes before opening to minimize the wait, which is typical and can be 20-45 minutes.
Our table was outside on the porch next to the railing. Probably the best seat in the house. View was beautiful: pool, hillside and ocean.
Tables are so close together that you hear all of the surrounding conversations.
Service was average, certainly not exceptional.
Prices are high. All side dishes are extra.
"Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice" was served with so much ice that it was too cold to drink. Should have removed the ice, but didn't think of it, DUH for me.
Why dilute fresh OJ with ice!?
Road to get here is easy to miss, narrow, curvey, and steep. A great adventure and scenic, but not for the timid.
Had a nice time, but more because of the celebration and my husband.
Would not go again or recommend.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SunzOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    75
    28
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor service, mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went to the English Rose during our Honeymoon in August since it was highly rated in our guidebook. When we arrived there was a 30 minute wait (no big deal) and we got on the list. I asked the owner if I could pay to have a cup of coffee while we waited since the wait was so long, and she (while holding a mug of tea for herself) simply said, "No, I can't do that." We waited for a table, and waited a good ten minutes before anyone came to our table and it's a SMALL restaurant: We weren't hard to miss. I ordered the eggs benedict for about $10. See the picture. I was not impressed. I found the service to be very poor, cold and unfriendly, and perhaps I just choose the one bad item on the menu, but very poor value and quality of breakfast.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Brunch in Rincon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Friends and I have a condo in Rincon and have been enjoying brunch at the Rose since the beginning. The view is great, the staff / owners friendly and the food is terrific. We always go at least at least a few times during our brief stays. It is well worth the somewhat hairy drive up into the hills. On weekends especially, plan to go early and expect to wait for a table. The Dead Elvis and parcha iced tea are favs. Don't miss this place!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Evilqueen2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Great value for an amazing breakfast. We had to wait for a table for over an hour, but it was worthy. Highly recommended. Hands down.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ivan_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yes, yes, yes.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This place is absolutely fantastic. The best breakfast on the island and it is situated on top of a hill with a view. I was there with a group of friends, but it would be a great place for a romantic meal.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WibbsSurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa also viewed

Rincon, Puerto Rico
 

Been to The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing