We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always, Stu is there to help! We are going back!”
Review of Villa Playa Maria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Playa Maria
Ranked #5 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Rincon
peabody, ma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“As always, Stu is there to help! We are going back!”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We are heading back to Maria to celebrate our 5 Year anniversary. We cannot wait! Thanks Stu for being a great host. Our friends and family cannot wait to be back! See you next year!! M&M

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank velozm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

My group of old friends stayed in the main house for a week and this was more than we had ever bargained for. The property is immaculate, from the poolbar to the landscaped grounds, to the furnishings and exclusive beach access. The property owner, Stuart, assisted us with whatever we needed, whenever we needed it, including surf boards delivered right to our doorstep and a local chef who rolled in one afternoon with a pig on a spit and all the local trimmings. We stayed in late October and after a day of epic surfing, it was only a short walking distance to local happy-hour spots. I have traveled to beach towns throughout the Carribean and Latin America, and based on the beach access, security, and first rate accommodations, I give Playa Maria a solid five-stars.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TimABQNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We rented the entire villa and guest house for 11 of us. It was the perfect location located right on the beach. Great beach for surfing. Not really for swimming but we had the private pool. Felt very safe because it was a gated entrance. The villa was clean and beautiful inside. The grounds were kept up nicely.
The owner of the villa took good care of us and answered all our questions. He helped us find local restaurants, surf board rentals and other beaches to visit. Rincon is a perfect place for surfing and sunshine!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tparz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Rented the main house and the guest house for 14 members of our family. Eight adults, one teen-ager, and 5 between 10 and 4. Great place. Stu was an excellent host. The facilities were excellent. Did some fishing for tuna (ate it that night); sailing, snorkeling, jet sking; rented a kyack and a surf board (with paddle) for the week. Water is clean and the beach was almost ours 100%. Visited the Calypso cafe for rum punches and a couple of lunches. Stu arrainged a pig roast for us with all the trimmings one night (had left overs the next night). Stu also helped us with all of our transportation needs from San Juan to Rincon, so we did not have to rent three vans for the entire week. This trip takes about three hours and that is the only negative. Had a couple of bon fires on the beach; great for the kids.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tjautry1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

My son got married on the beach in front of Villa Playa Maria. It was a magnificent setting and a beautiful location. The Villa worked perfectly for both families. We have a two year old, several 20 somethings and both sets of parents along with other adult family members. The Villa and location offered something for everyone. Many of us chose to relax by the pool and enjoy the perfect weather and view of the ocean while others took to the water and went snorkeling or scuba diving. The Villa housed five couples comfortably and allowed for the grandparents to share our granddaughter in the lower level common areas.
Stuart, the Owner / caretaker was was quick to provide contacts and directions for our every need.
We used a local chef rcommended by Stuart to prepare the rehearsal dinner on site and it was fabulous. The gounds accommodated the tent and table for the reception and provided an ideal setting.
I would recommend this villa to anyone planning a destination wedding or a relaxing vacation. The only drawback is the 2.5 hour drive from San Juan but it is well worth it once you arrive.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoilerCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playa hermosa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

The management was excellent the property was astounding!!!
Stuart has the market cornered in every aspect !
A designers touch with an unparelleld LOCATION!
Truly a Surfers Dream come true!
A great location for any event!
My wedding was Incredible !!!

Muchos Gracias Senior!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank riptidelodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Agree with restauronteur's review of this beach home, except at this time of year this is NOT a good part of Puerto Rico for scuba diving or snorkeling. However, we did see whales while sitting on our beach chairs, which alone was worth the trip.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank arktrav_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rincon hotels
2.3 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
787 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
201 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
1.0 mi away
Dos Angeles Del Mar Bed and Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palms Inn
Coconut Palms Inn
#5 of 19 in Rincon
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Playa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Playa Maria

Property: Villa Playa Maria
Address: 4413 km 2.8 interior Barrio Puntas, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico (Formerly Villa Playa Maria - The Villa on Maria's Beach)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideally located surf retreat on Playa Maria in Rincon, Puerto Rico with epic sunset views and access to the water. Two villas provide plenty of space for you and your family/friends to spread out and enjoy a killer time in one of the most chill surf locations in the Caribbean. The Ocean Villa has 5 bedrooms and 5 baths, an open living space with a gourmet kitchen and has easy access to Playa Maria as well as the saltwater swimming pool. The Garden Villa has 4 bedrooms and 5 bathrooms with a large balcony with sweet views of the property and Playa Maria. Each Villa can be rented individually or together to accommodate up to 24 guests. We are a full service rental, customizing each trip to whatever you desire. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Playa Maria - The Villa On Maria`s Beach Hotel Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing