We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite local pub”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Govan's Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Bosherston B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Favourite local pub”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Although my favourite times in the pub are in the dark nights of the winter when you come in from a pitch black, starlit countryside into a warm and welcoming atmosphere with a log fire, the summer times are pretty good too. There is always a wide selection of meals to choose from including seasonal specials. There is a good selection of beers, both from Wales and further afield including one of my favourites, Adnam's Broadside.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    82
    28
    11
    11
See reviews for
50
105
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very warm welcome on arrival . Room was very clean , lots of storage and comfortable beds. The complimentary drinks and biscuits very well stocked ,shampoo and shower gel was also provided.
Evening meals could be ordered from the restaurant downstairs and were very good value.The full English breakfast was delicious and the staff very attentive and friendly offering more tea and toast as well as directions to local attractions.
Staff very helpful , courteous and made sure everything went smoothly for you.
Bit hesitant writing this review as it would be easy to keep it a secret.

Room Tip: Should imagine nothing to choose in quality of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanfordjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Absolutely excellent service, good food with a very clean quiet room in an excellent location.
Plus a roaring fire in a cosy restaurant.
What more can a person ask for?

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodnod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Even though my husband wasn't able to have his first choice (it had sold out) his second choice of gammon was lovely. The best thing is that they cater for people with Coeliac Disease so there is always something you can choose. (A little secret is that St Govans Country usually has a gluten free brownie tucked away especially for us). Thank you to the chef and kitchen staff. Very helpful and friendly (chips are gf too).

Room Tip: Meal only experienced
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have just returned from two nights at St Govan's on an amazing value Travelzoo deal. The inn is perfectly situated within walking distance of Bosherston lily ponds, St Govan's Chapel and the Pembrokeshire coastal path. The inn is a country pub with welcoming staff and a relaxed feel. On our first evening it was fairly quiet, but we enjoyed our meal and the wood burning stove made the bar cozy and warm. The second evening was very different as there was a blues singer performing, drawing in the punters and making the atmosphere lively and friendly.
An added bonus was the cafetiere and coffee in the bedroom, as well as the usual tea, instant coffee and chocolate. A nice touch!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The curry nights are really good & ideal for anyone who loves various curries & want to try all or any of the 7 or 8 on offer. East as much as you like too - such value for your money. Also you can take your non curry eating friends as bar meals are available too. Also, the Sunday lunches are really good too. One of the few local places which i keep returning too time & time again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HMB000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just got home following a very relaxing 2 night stay. St Govan's was found by our son and his fiance and bought for us as part of our Christmas present, and what a find!! The staff were very friendly couldn't do enough for you they even made our dog welcome with a nice little welcome package in the room for her. Really looking forward to our next visit because we most certainly will be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bosherston
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
231 reviews
10.4 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
4.4 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pembroke
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
6.0 mi away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
290 reviews
7.1 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Govan's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Govan's Country Inn

Property: St. Govan's Country Inn
Address: Bosherston SA71 5DN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Bosherston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bosherston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Govan's Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you from Alex, Mallika and the rest of the team at this quiet country retreat where you can enjoy a restful stay, a good meal with friends or family or just sample our fine cask ales with a newspaper. We offer quality accommodation (4 star Visit Wales rated annually) a varied menu featuring local ingredients and homecooking and a fine selection of well-kept cask conditioned ales. We also sell freshly ground real Italian coffees that please even the purists among us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your St. Govan's Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing