We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mill House

The Mill House
Price range: $25 - $33
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Much Improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

We revisited The Mill House as we wanted to meet up with with friends near Odiham and were reluctant to use the Waterwitch after a previous expensive disasterous experience. I suspect The Millhouse has changed hands as we had quite a good time. Prices have risen a little but a wide selection of local real ales are a rare sight and well worth a try and there seems to be an encouraging focus on locally sourced produce . Service was good and friendly, surroundings were first class, meal prices ranged in price from just under £10 to over £15 but the surroundings are more restaurant than pub and quite interesting with exposed parts of the historic mill house nicely featured. All four of us enjoyed our meals and we will return in January 2014 to take advantage of the discount voucher we were given on leaving as a nice surprise Christmas gift

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank millsy95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    199
    119
    61
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Bad !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Many years ago and under different management I dined in this restaurant (it was called Bluebeckers then). It was excellent!!!

Yesterday my wife and I and two friends went to lunch and it was awful. We waited for staff to take our order and it took around 40 minutes to arrive. The food was edible but not appear to be freshly cooked. We then waited a further 20 minutes to order dessert. We had to chase the staff and finally received dessert 40 minutes later! They had got the order wrong! This was corrected quickly!

This is a great venue but the service was abysmal and the food not much better. We will never return unless it is taken over by people who CARE and understand about food and service!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank IMAK1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridport, dorset
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a beautiful place to dine in, with a lovely lake outside, which I understand is stunning in summer. Very impressed by the venue, BUT the food was decidedly SO SO, and having had it recommended to me by two different people, I was disappointed. Considering each meal on average is around £15, you arent gettting anything special. I had a burger, chips and coleslaw and the coleslaw was more mayo than slaw, and the burger was average. Chips more fat than potato, even though they were the big chunky ones. Two of our party had the Christmas Meal and they said it wasnt 'value for money'. Insufficient veg, and potatoes were tiny and hard to cut, and not enough of them. We had waffles with caramel sauce and banana for pudding, and the waffles were very dry so we had to order more caramel sauce to soften them. Overall, I wouldnt eat here again (service was good though with very pleasant waitresses) but I would go here for a drink in summer instead. Beautiful place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deefletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“knife & fork needed for a sandwich!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Popped in with the intention of a few drinks as both of us had been before and knew that the pub is lovely, especially around Christmas (a huge Chistmas tree and log fires). The ambience of the pub has not changed. Having been there a while we decided to grab something to eat. With us both being not overly hungry we ordered sandwiches. They arrived relatively quickly, with knives and forks which at first I found mildly amusing. On trying to eat the sandwiches we found it was impossible without the knife and forks. The bread was really thick, but fell apart on being picked up, which caused us some amusement. Having said that both sandwiches seemed to have much more bread than filling which was disappointing. The main courses that we saw looked good and almost made us wish we were more hungry!
Overall though - great location, nice pub!

Helpful?
1 Thank raychberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I recently booked a table for 10 for my family and our fiends, the service was terrible, we ordered our drinks which took over 15 minutes to arrive, and then was wrong, so we waited another 10 minutes for them to be corrected. When we began ordering our dinner, the waitress seemed totally disinterested, and was actually moaning to the table when we asked for "Roast with No Gravy" saying that "it will tae her half hour to write the order up if we keep changing things from the menu"

We had our starters, but when our main courses arrived, there was a noticable black hair coked into one of the roast potatoes on one plate, having sent this meal back we waited for another 10 minutes for a replacement, which when it arrived came out incorrect. At this point we requested this meal was removed from the bill as the rest of the table had almost finished.

Other problems were; no sauces provided, extra drinks ordered but not served, vegtables not provided with meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mill House also viewed

North Warnborough, Hook
 

Been to The Mill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing