We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inman group Feb 23” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panama Big Game Fishing Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Panama Big Game Fishing Club
Certificate of Excellence
Lumberton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Inman group Feb 23”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I gained 6 lbs in 4 days of fishing. The food was great and customized to our desires. We had fresh tuna dolphin and lobster. The boat caption and mate were great to work with and friendly, plus good fishermen. The facilities are in great condition and appear new with stainless steel railing everywhere. I felt safe and comfortable in Panama with Mr. C's folks taking care of us at the airports and driving us around Panama City and David.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TomInman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
20
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
panama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Once again I was able to visit "Mr&Mrs. C" at the club. It continues to amaze me with the constant up-grading of the incredible lodge/hotel. They are adding more space with a new " apartment" complete with a full gourmet kitchen". for a couple or family that may wish to "honeymoon" there.
The food cooked by Fidel is beyond description, I am a professional fisherman and know how your daily catch should be handled. Mr.C and his staff understand the importance of all this and it shows in his commitment to excellence. T.he minute your fish is caught it is iced and prepared for the dinner table. The lodge is also a leader in the conservation movement here in Panama. Great place!

Room Tip: Any of them are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maynardjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Upon arriving at the club, I instantly realized that I had a new favorite place in the world! Everything about my experience at Panama Big Game was pure excellence. From the VIP service through the airports, the van ride to the club with a cooler full of beer and water, and the stay at the lodge, your being waited on hand and foot. The food, drinks and staff at the club were outstanding. Seven star accommodations across the board!

When I arrived at the club, I realized that I had forgotten my sunglasses. When I asked Mr. C if there was a pair I could purchase, Mrs C quickly took her Ray Bands off her head and handed them to me to use while I was staying at the lodge. I have never had that kind of service any where in the world! Mr. and Mrs. C run a world class lodge.

If you're looking to come to Panama on a fishing expedition, then there is only one choice for you: Panama Big Game Fishing Club. The best fishing, rooms, views, food, drinks, service and staff than anywhere in Central America!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hayden lake
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you are unable to deal with first class (over-the top) food, accommodations and service then you might want to consider a different venue. If you can't handle chasing some of the largest gamefish on one of the best fishing grounds (Hannibal Bank) known with the best that Shimano,Penn and Melton International have to offer then the Panama Big Game Fishing Club is not for you. If,however, you like the idea of 200lb tuna and 400lb marlin during the day and returning to the very best in accommodations,food and service in the evening then I would highly recommend The Panama Big Game Fishing Club. It has come a very long way under the ownership of Mr. & Mrs. C and if there is any room for improvement it was not apparent to me. I'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 714danj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chugiak, Alaska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had been working on this vacation to Panama Big Game Fishing Club for two years. We had lots and lots of questions in that time and all we got from Mr C was, don't worry mate it is all taken care of. When we arrived in Panama he was so right. This a first class operation from the moment you book. We were treated as The VIP guest of the week. The staff is the best you will ever meet. They are always trying to make each interaction a memorable time. From coffee delivered to the room, breakfast to order, lunch on the boat, 5 star dinners, immaculant clean facilities, the pool, the top notch gear, great boats ( Britches & Hoss), and the fishing - the fishing spectacular!!! We caught Mahi-Mahi, Amberjack, African Pompano, Cubera Snapper, Rock Snapper, and Sailfish. All of these are classified as trophy fish and many were lifetime best for my family. How do I talk you into going? I have been trying to figure that out. If you want to be treated like you really matter, that someone really cares about you, and that your dreams may come true? This is the place, Panama Big Game Fishing Club! Mr & Mrs C, Victor, Fidel, Luis, Carlos, Dalis, Bartolito, Micheal, Lorenzo, Narciso, Antonio, Jeffery, and Carlos in David - will make your vacation something to remember for years to come.

The Wagoner Family
Wag, Sonya, Willy, Shelby, & Wiggity
Chugiak, Alaska

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fishinwithwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

What an awesome experience! Mr. C invited us over to come fish and write an article for our upcoming July/Aug issue and everything about the lodge exceeded our expectations. From the VIP pickup at the airport, with a cooler full of beer, water and soda, to the final drop off, the trip was first class. The fishing was amazing, with to many big dolphin to count, sailfish, tuna, assortmant of jacks, record setting Cubera snapper, roosterfish and many more. The boats are also equipped with brand new top of the line Shimano tackle. The accomodations are also in a class of there own, each 2br villa is renovated and even have smart tv's. The staff is at your call 24/7, and the food is to die for. The only downside, was that we only had for days at the lodge, could have used another week or so. The article is going to be one of a kind and can't wait to get back down soon.

Boone Oughterson
Florida Sport Fishing Magazine

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Boone O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Hills, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Resort is first class! Mark, the owner, is a lot of fun and makes sure you're taken care of throughout your stay, Fishing was good- total of 6 sails, five Dorado, amberjack, etc... We will return and look forward to staying with Mark and his team.
The staff is friendly and willing to take that extra step to make sure you have everything you need for an incredible stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Boca Brava
24.3 mi away
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
23.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Hotel Bocas del Mar
#1 of 5 in Boca Chica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
23.1 mi away
Seagull Cove Resort
Seagull Cove Resort
#2 of 5 in Boca Chica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Roxy Fishing Club and Hotel
Roxy Fishing Club and Hotel
#4 of 5 in Boca Chica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
43.8 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
43.3 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panama Big Game Fishing Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama Big Game Fishing Club

Property: Panama Big Game Fishing Club
Address: Isla Boca Brava | Near Boca Chica, Isla Boca Brava, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Isla Boca Brava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Isla Boca Brava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Panama Big Game Fishing Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded a Certificate of Excellence 2012, 2013,2014 and 2015 by Tripadvisor, the first and only fishing resort ever to be honoured with this award. Our upscale waterfront jungle location is abundant with wildlife. These natural wonders help make this sport fishing lodge equalled by few places left on the planet. We are able to provide dream vacations where you can fish the big game fish, relax in a tropical setting and enjoy gourmet dining. The Club is located on the Island of Boca Brava and has proximity to the famous fishing grounds of Hannibal Bank, Isla Coiba, Montuosa and many other islands dotted throughout this area. Fishing is good year round with a lot of that due to the many sea mounds and banks that bring the bottom up from a Thousand Meters to less than Forty Meters. These areas hold a lot of baitfish. Inshore and offshore fish species include: black marlin, blue marlin, tuna, sailfish, wahoo, mahi mahi, cubera snapper, rock snapper, mullet snapper, yellow snapper, rooster fish, amberjack, crevalle jack, blue jack, horse-eye jack, sierra mackerel. Our sportfishing packages are all inclusive: accommodations, fine dining, open bar, Infinity pool with swim-up bar and Spa and local air and land transfers. The resort has undergone a multi-million dollar upgrade completed in May 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Panama Big Game Fishing Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panama Big Game Fishing Club Isla Boca Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing