We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Panama Big Game Fishing Club
Certificate of Excellence
New Braunfels, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The best fishing resort I have ever been too, is how I would sum my wife and my stay at PBGFC, I would like to thank Mr. And Mrs. C for being so gracious. I also would like to thank the staff. Carlos for being a great driver and tour guide on our way to the Lodge,
Victor for organizing, Rolando for keeping our drinks full, Carlos for tending to every need with a big smile, Bartolo and Jeffery for making our trip on the water fantastic, Victors mother for keeping our room impeccably clean and the cooking staff behind the scenes for making all our meals five star. For all those wanting to visit a magical place far away from the hustle and bustle of every day life look no further this is it. Thanks to everyone for making our trip amazing. Can't wait to return with friends and family. George and Shay Williamson

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
20
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

First class staff and accomadations. The Black Marlin we wanted eluded us do to the bait situation, But the Yellow fin action was fantastic with our smallest at #125 and largest # 300 IT WAS WAS A REAL TREAT. I WILL SUGGEST THIS LODGE AND FISHING TO EVERY ONE.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just returned from fishing trip to PBGFC and was treated to one of most desirable trips I
have ever been on. Rooms were 5 star with 50" flat screen on satalite, stocked fridge, phone,
microwave,large walkin showers and more. Service was beyond compare.Food served by excellent chef such as turkey & dressing, lobsters, ham, tuna fantastic, shrimp coctails more.
Boats and crew were excellent. Caught 200# tunas, 70# rooster fish, snappers, wahoo, jacks
doradas and others. My wife Ann and grand son Cross and I will never forget this trip, and
will return. Excellent swimming pool and bar.
Everett Hodge - Denver City, Texas

Room Tip: All are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Everett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Why I love my Dad
This all started with a deal I had made with my father. IF I could graduate high school with honours, I would earn the trip of a lifetime. Eight months, and a heck of a lot of work later, I managed to exceed my expectations and not only did I pass, but I passed with honours, HOORAY!.
I had two decisions to make. The first was easy. I wanted to go fishing with my Dad !!!. After extensive research and due diligence, there was only one place I wanted to go to- The legendary Panama Big Game Fishing Club, Isla Boca Brava, Panama. I read about the world-renowned Hannibal Bank and Montuosa Island and the monstrous Tuna and Marlin that are produced from them.
From the arrival at Panama Airport, I was whisked through customs and immigrations from the PBGFC Royal VIP meet service and was enjoying a beer in there VIP Saloon within 3 min's of getting off the plane, no waiting in line for me and Dad, for an hour like the rest of the passengers . The same happened all the way to the dock of the club, everything was smooth sailing, this is the only way to travel.
As soon as we arrived on Isla Boca Brava, we were greeted by the staff, and although it was the middle of the night, everyone belonging to the club was willing to cater to our every need. We hit the mattress early and were awoken to a steaming cup of the finest Panamanian coffee and a hearty breakfast of whatever we requested.
We stepped on to an immaculate boat with a hardworking Skipper and Mate. I can't emphasize enough the work these people did to get us the fish we want. We slammed some monster snapper and had a great day on the water. Later in the week we even had a huge Marlin on, even though we lost it a couple minutes later, it had certainly raised the heart rate of everyone on board.
We stepped off the boat and were welcomed with a cold beer and whatever snack we requested. The food at the Club was first-rate. The chef, Fidel, was truly a professional, and would cater to whatever you wanted to eat. After a delicious meal, it was an amazing touch to sit in the Jacuzzi with a drink and chat about our day's adventures and reflect about the greatest catch of the day.
To summarize an overall exhilarating trip, I was overly impressed by the accommodation that were simply fantastic. The care that the Club takes of its guests to the island of Boca Brava is just first class. I couldn't begin to describe the lengths of the crew had gone to, to make sure that this was a family feel. Within hours of being here, I had felt like I was at my own home. Although we hadn't landed the record breaking fish this week, the feeling I received while out on the ocean was amazing. The time I spent fifty miles out with my Dad offshore, chatting ,laughing and fishing will stay with me for the rest of my life. I dream of the day I can return here and bring my father and my grandfather for a week to catch the dream marlin that all of us fishermen dream to reel in.
I am sitting at the pool bar writing this review, before I have to leave first thing in the morning to Panama City, wondering how I can earn the cash to bring my Dad and Grandfather back here next time, but this time on me to catch the Marlin that escaped back into what they call here" Jurassic Park", to put on a few hundred pounds more for our next meeting. Thank you Dad for showing me the power of hard work. I will truly never forget this experience, and await the day we come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank derreck v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

What more could a Father ask for, a daughter visiting from the States who likes to fish and a day with 5 tuna to 50 pounds topped off by a 500 lb Blue Marlin that tried to drag me off of the boat!!

My story

Here I was planning my daughter’s arrival from the US and setting up a little boating with a friend in Boca Chica when I get this call from Dubai. Dubai, what the heck!!! Well it was a guy named Mark Charman who introduced himself and proceeded to tell me that he is the guy who bought the legendary Panama Big Game Fishing Club in Boca Chica and he enjoyed reading my blog. He invited me to visit with him sometime and I told him that I would stop by and check out his resort when I took my daughter boating. Well one thing led to another and before I knew it my daughter and I were at his resort enjoying a wonderful evening and preparing for a day of fishing.

Arrival is via boat then a short funicular ride up to the resort on top of the hill. And of course the complimentary beverage and shrimp cocktail! The resort has been completely rebuilt and an infinity pool was added with a swim up bar overlooking the water where we enjoyed an incredible sunset.

The next morning we were up before dawn and headed out to sea by 6:15 on the hunt for big game and we were not disappointed.

The long ride out was smooth and uneventful as we were on a classic 31 Bertram Sportfish powered by new Cummins diesels. Before we knew it we were in a pod of dolphin that follow tuna and in one cast we were hooked up.

Next up, 4 more of these nice fish and then off to catch bigger bait for bigger fish. We got some nice bonito, loaded up the tuna tubes and then set out a nice spread of bridled baits. And oh yes, our mate Jeffrey can bridle a bonito in under 30 seconds insuring fresh presentation in the water.

Within 45 minutes the right outrigger clip popped and we had a FISH ON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yes, I had hooked up my first blue marlin and set in for a long fight. After an hour and fifteen minutes, I could not raise the fish as it sounded and with the mates help, we got the fish to the boat in an other 15 minutes where we released it unharmed. Better to break a IGFA rule and have someone help manage the line while you crank so you do not kill the fish. Estimated weight — 500 pounds, yeah baby!!

We arrived back at the resort and I can tell you that this was probably the most memorable fishing trip in my life. After catching a few smaller black marlin here in Panama, I finally tagged a big blue and was I happy! This was after I caught the 5 tuna to 50 lbs. The chef prepared a wonderful spread of fresh yellow fin sashimi and we ate every last piece.

The next morning was a beautiful day waking up at poolside watching the monkeys playing and eating in the trees next to us. We could not have had a better time and I looked forward to coming back to Panama Big Game Club soon and fishing with Mr C.

One of the best fishing resorts in Panama!! Well done Mark

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Babe1234_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

My dad and I spent Father's Day weekend at PBGFC - two nights two days and a full-day deep sea fishing trip. We arrived right before dinner time and were greeted with shrimp cocktails and caprese salad appetizers along with our drinks - the bartender makes a delicious dirty martini!

Then we spent a little while chilling in the jacuzzi and infinity pool - amazing views all around and just the perfect temperature - followed by a perfectly rare filet mignon and fresh vegetable dinner.

We went for a beautiful pre-bed time swim - the jacuzzi and infinity pool are lit with LED lights at night. We headed to bed early so we could get up at dawn for the full day of fishing. The room was wonderful - amazing walk-in shower and bathroom; huge TV with fishing DVDs on hand; four comfy beds; big couches and a little living room area.

We got up and headed to an awesome made-to-order breakfast - the chef is amazing. We headed down to the Bertram 31 Sportfish - gorgeous boat - for our full day fishing trip. They have bean bags on board! The whole trip was so comfortable I even took a nap on the way back in. We caught five 50+ pound tuna and my dad battled a 500+ pound marlin up to the boat - mind-blowing experience and fresh fish for dinner.

As soon as we returned we rode (with trimmed tuna in hand) the train lift up to the resort - no walking dozens of steps after a long day on the boat is so wonderful! My dad hopped in the pool and I opted for the jacuzzi, which they kept at a nice cool temperature for me - so perfect.

We had a few drinks and ate a fresh sashimi dinner of the most delicious tuna - so awesome to catch your own dinner!

Overall, the trip was amazing - as the title states. I'd go on, but the pictures say it all!

Room Tip: The Tuna-1 cabana is closest to the bar and pool ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I went out to Panama Big Game Fishing Club with my buddy to do some fishing and I have to admit it was AWESOME! It had to be the best fishing trip I have had in a long time.

I am a professional fishing guide myself so I spend the majority of my days on fishing trips and I have to say this trip to Panama was incredible! Battling the gigantic fish was INCREDIBLE! If you are looking to fight with some BIG FISH, then this is the place for sure.

The staff at the lodge is fantastic and food was great too! Thank you Panama Big Game Fishing Club, looking forward to making this trip again!
Tight Lines!
Marc

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marc_ojaianlger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Boca Brava
23.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Hotel Bocas del Mar
#1 of 5 in Boca Chica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
23.1 mi away
Seagull Cove Resort
Seagull Cove Resort
#2 of 5 in Boca Chica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
24.2 mi away
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Roxy Fishing Lodge
Roxy Fishing Lodge
#4 of 5 in Boca Chica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Boca Brava
Hotel Boca Brava
#1 of 3 in Isla Boca Brava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
18.8 mi away
Las Lajas Beach Resort
Las Lajas Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Playa Las Lajas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panama Big Game Fishing Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama Big Game Fishing Club

Property: Panama Big Game Fishing Club
Address: Isla Boca Brava | Near Boca Chica, Isla Boca Brava, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Isla Boca Brava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Isla Boca Brava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Panama Big Game Fishing Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded a Certificate of Excellence 2012, 2013,2014 and 2015 by Tripadvisor, the first and only fishing resort ever to be honoured with this award. Our upscale waterfront jungle location is abundant with wildlife. These natural wonders help make this sport fishing lodge equalled by few places left on the planet. We are able to provide dream vacations where you can fish the big game fish, relax in a tropical setting and enjoy gourmet dining. The Club is located on the Island of Boca Brava and has proximity to the famous fishing grounds of Hannibal Bank, Isla Coiba, Montuosa and many other islands dotted throughout this area. Fishing is good year round with a lot of that due to the many sea mounds and banks that bring the bottom up from a Thousand Meters to less than Forty Meters. These areas hold a lot of baitfish. Inshore and offshore fish species include: black marlin, blue marlin, tuna, sailfish, wahoo, mahi mahi, cubera snapper, rock snapper, mullet snapper, yellow snapper, rooster fish, amberjack, crevalle jack, blue jack, horse-eye jack, sierra mackerel. Our sportfishing packages are all inclusive: accommodations, fine dining, open bar, Infinity pool with swim-up bar and Spa and local air and land transfers. The resort has undergone a multi-million dollar upgrade completed in May 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Panama Big Game Fishing Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panama Big Game Fishing Club Isla Boca Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing