We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Island - Love this Place!”
Review of Hotel Boca Brava

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Boca Brava
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Hotel Boca Brava feels like you're stepping onto a movie set. It's an island paradise.

Brad and Kelly, who run the place, are super nice and accommodating. They bent over backwards to get us a room, even though it was nearly full.

Also, the price is very reasonable. It's only $40 a night, whereas other hotels on these islands are $200 or more!

Not only is the hotel reasonable, but the food, beer and everything else is fairly price. If you think about it. You're stuck on an island, so they can charge you whatever they want, but they keep the prices very cheap. For instance, we got a delicious whole fish for only $8. It was one of the best meals we had in Panama!

They also arrange for snorkeling adventures and other excursions that make the trip incredibly fun. They take you out to white sand beaches and provide all the snorkeling gear, so you can spend the day looking at tropical fish and basking in the sun.

If you're looking for a place to stay in Boca Chica and don't have gunnysacks of money to throw at a luxury eco resort, Boca Brave is your place!

The hotel isn't super fancy. But it's well maintained and comfortable. We loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoffman-Kokubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 247 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and in this period the room wasn't cleaned once, no new towels either, no emptying the bins eather. This wouldn't be so bad if the room was clean to begin with, but unfortunately it wasn't. There were more hairs on the bathroom floor than in an average hairsalon and you didn't want to look in the corners near the bed. We used some towells trying to clean the place a bit, but as the towells weren't replaced... well we just weren't to happy about the room.

The hotel has a nicely built restaurant with a nice view. Food is allright and well priced (although waterbottles aren't that cheap). The reception area is located in the restaurant. Don't expect anyone to be able to speak English. Although I do speak a bit Spanish we had lots of communication problems. Especially about the tours. The hotel offers a lot of nice tours and although we booked on forehand on the internet we never went as there weren't enough participants, there weren't participants for other tours either on the days we spent here...

The only other things to do around here is hiking the island, which is very nice as you will see lots of howler monkees and nice birds. The trails aren't well kept or marked (only the beaches are mentioned) but you can't get lost. The beaches on this island are very nice. The other thing to do is renting a kayak. You can kayak to the surrounding beaches which are beautiful.

We didn't find the employees very interested, open or welcoming, maybe that's due to the language problems. We would have appreciate a bit of information about the hotel, the area or things to do but you need to find out those sort of things through the other guests.

The island is wonderfull and neglacting the hotel is such a pity, it has high potential. just do one daily tour, maybe there will be participants than.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pepper1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

we went to Boca brava which is a beautiful rather remote island at the pacific coast.
we were travelling as backpackers trying to keep costs low and primarily we found Boca brava hotel in our "rough guide" book.
the hotel was definitely nice, good place with beach within walking distance an possibility to rent a boat or kayak (rather pricey) to reach more distant and really remote beaches or go in a tour (which weren't recommended to us by people who had gone on them)
the owner of the hotel, brad and his wife kelly are very friendly, staff is less friendly and quite slow regarding the service.
the only claim we have is that we didn't have a common kitchen for the hostel-rated rooms (shared bathroom) therefore you had to have meals at the restaurant each day and to pay extra for everything but we had a good stay.
it's possible to find other places on the island just by walking around, asking, there are cabanas and so.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank principessakneesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Away from the party scene, quiet island has great beaches and great open air bar/restaurant. Snorkel trips were a great deal (though what you see on the reef is a bit hit or miss). Best parts-lots of monkeys, private balcony to spend sunset happy hour on while watching sun go down behind Volcan Baru, affordability and really interesting people it attracts. Downsides: no other food or water option than to buy there (though their prices are reasonable and food good), rooms mediocre if you want to be inside much, no real complaints. The owners are great. Go enjoy your balcony and beach without the masses.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithsony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We really loved this place. We had a "deluxe" room with hot water, TV (which we didn't use) and AC (which we also didn't quite need, but we might have, so it was worth a little extra to have it). There were monkeys right outside our balcony. To spend less, there are also hammocks and a dorm (although when we were there the hammocks were not being used).

Hotel Boca Brava is quiet and serene, but with plenty to do. We should have stayed longer. We did the boat trip with snorkeling, and hiked to the nearby beach (more monkeys there), but didn't have time for a kayak trip. The food was great, much better than expected, especially the breakfasts and the fish filet and whole fish options, and the chicken. Rice and pasta dishes were also fine. The owners and staff were very helpful all around. Certainly no one tried to rip us off; in fact the final bill omitted an activity we did, and we had to point it out to them.

The bar-restaurant area was the place to be, with great views, and we found many compatible travelers to socialize with, mostly very well-traveled, as first-timers are unlikely to wind up here.

I would suggest a few improvements. The owners might mark the trails and provide a little map to carry along; we kept running into "Privado" signs and weren't sure which way to go. The hot water wasn't very consistent, and the taps loose. It's OK that there is no housekeeping service, but then I would have liked a broom to sweep out the sand now and then.

But overall it was great.

Room Tip: Depends on how much you want to spend, from hammock to suite. We had room #6 and loved it. The que...
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jeanfrombos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Wife and I spent 5 nights here Nov.15 - 20. Great spot to relax with friendly staff and great economical meals. The location is a bit off the beaten track and that is what makes it great ! Good location to kayak from and there is easy access to nice beaches either on foot or by water. Local tours of the islands for snorkelling, swimming and exploring with Captain Jay are a good value and our only regret was we couldn't stay longer. Lots of birds and wildlife. Our standard room was basic but a great deal for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLB123go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I enjoyed a couple of nights at Hotel Boca Brava. Fabulous little spot, good walking trail and howlers to be seen. Decent little beach a short walk from the hotel. Lovely airy restaurant where travellers meet. Brad is great as owner - very hospitable and happy to swap stores with visitors. C Staff is sweet.

Beware of taxis and collectivos trying to nickel and dime you to death. Find out what the prices are and make sure your taxi drivers stick to that. On our tour to the islands Bolenos, Gamez and Parrilito, our water taxi tried charging us and extra $10 above what Brad told us it would be. When we got back and we told this to Brad, he spoke to the driver who then charged us the lower rate. Also in the $3 collective from Boca Chica to the Panamerican highway, the driver tried to charge me $5 instead of the $3 Brad told me it would cost. I insisted on the $3 and the driver accepted meekly. I know it isn't much, but it happens all over Panama. So stand your ground.

Room Tip: The standard Queen only has cold running water and is not that nice. In rainy season, you may want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontheroadannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Boca Brava
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Hotel Bocas del Mar
#1 of 4 in Boca Chica
514 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cala Mia Island Resort
Cala Mia Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seagull Cove Resort
Seagull Cove Resort
#2 of 4 in Boca Chica
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roxy Fishing Club
Roxy Fishing Club
#4 of 4 in Boca Chica
42 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Resort at Isla Palenque
3.4 mi away
Residencia De La Marina
Residencia De La Marina
#1 of 2 in Boca Chica
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boca Brava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boca Brava

Address: Boca Chica | Boca Brava Gulfo de Chirique, Isla Boca Brava, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Isla Boca Brava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Boca Brava
Price Range: $53 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Boca Brava 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Boca Brava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Boca Brava Panama/Isla Boca Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing