We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with wonderful views over Danube”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilltop Borhotel es Etterem
Ranked #1 of 2 Neszmely B&B and Inns
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food with wonderful views over Danube”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Often come here when staying in the area on business. The menu had a wide choice to suit all tastes, I opted for fillet steak which was beautifully cooked and presented. Wine from vineyard is excellent, and not expensive considering the quality. The restaurant is in a lovely setting overlooking a long stretch of the Danube, the sunset over which was spectacular. Would recommend this lovely restaurant to anyone who is in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wartnaby39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped at the Hilltop Restaurant and Winery for lunch on our way out of Budapest on a tour. It is a nice restaurant with a wonderful view of the surrounding lands. They also have a B&B available for staying overnight. In addition they have a large winery operation. Their wines are excellent. We did not have taste any at winery but had several excellent bottles on our ship during a river cruise. They lunch was nice and we had a strudel making demonstration before lunch. After the staff prepared a strudel they selected some of our group to make strudel. While their strudel did not look as good as the staff's, I don't think it tasted much different after cooking. It is out of the way but a nice place to go for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rfenton231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

this place is of the beaten track but well worth the detour. The setting is delightful with 360 degree views from extensive grounds which include a swimming pool and viewing platform. The winery produces excellent wines of high quality which I am trying to find in the UK because they are so good and such good value. The restaurant is also very good serving dishes that are perfectly cooked and presented. As always the staff are friendly and helpful and some speak English. German is more commonly spoken than English in Hungary, but this is starting to change.

on my last visit i had crispy goose leg with red cabbage and potato with onions which was delicious together with the Cabernet Sauvignon - truly divine!

I have not stayed at the B&B so cannot comment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The Hilltop Winery Hotel is an excellent B&B, in a first-rate winery looking down on the Danube River. The restaurant is excellent, and draws people from the village down below.

The winery itself is a large operation, and produces excellent wines which are largely for export. The B&B operation itself is sort of an afterthought, and there are signs of deferred maintenance, such as peeling paint. However, the rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, and the breakfast is complete, including ham and eggs or omelette. Great hospitality. The road up the hill is narrow and winding.

We arrived in mid-afternoon, and after walking around the grounds, sat down for a wine-and-cheese pairing, where we were impressed with the wines. After catching up with email, using their speedy wi-fi connection, we had an excellent dinner in their dining room. Like most good restaurants in Hungary, prices were very reasonable for the high quality of the food.

Room Tip: Ask for Danube view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilltop Borhotel es Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Borhotel es Etterem

Property: Hilltop Borhotel es Etterem
Address: Meleges-hegy, Neszmely 2544, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Komarom-Esztergom County > Neszmely
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Neszmely
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hilltop Borhotel es Etterem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Borhotel Es Etterem Hungary/Neszmely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing