We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for relaxation but missing knowledge of language of personal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bambara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bambara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Felsotarkany
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel for relaxation but missing knowledge of language of personal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel is great for relaxation, situated in a national park. Therefore, the area is great for walks and being in nature. The offered treatments are great and the food delicious but the almost non of the personal speaks another language then Hungarian and this could be an obstacle. I had a friend with me who spoke Hungarian but without her I would have been lost. The buffet meals are described in Hungarian only and if you are looking for something the people are mostly not able to reply as they just do not understand. Some are just talking Hungarian to you and I had no clue what they where saying... Beside the language, all was great. The room was clean and everything was provided as needed. The saunas/spa were good. There is an area where children are not allowed to be able to relax and read a book in silence.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary6020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    29
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
72
54
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Bambara with its African Mali style building and interior design offers a unique experience. The hotel is 10 minutes drive from the vivid historical town of Eger, the center of the famous wine region.
The building has a fascinating outer design and also the rooms bring excitement into your stay. I especially liked the sauna on the upper deck with a nice forest view.
The spa area offers comfortable deck chairs and a vast range of saunas. The pool is rather small but again nicely designed. The separated spa area for adults is very much welcome if you wish to experience perfect relaxation. The hotel has a strict policy regarding towel changes which can only be done twice during the day (one occasion is during dinner time). Guests need to find creative ways to avoid laying on wet towels the whole day. I found this very unpleasant and also unprofessionally handled by the hotel staff. They kept automatically replying that towels can only be changed between 11:30 and 12:30 even when I was approaching at noon… Unfortunately we quite often faced unprofessional staff that did not live up to the high standards of the hotel. The receptionist lady for instance delivered hostile gestures as one of my credit cards was declined upon first attempt. On the other hand we also met exceptionally kind waiters and other staff members, special compliments to them!
The cuisine is amazingly good especially during dinner time! Meerkats are very cute and surely the best marketing asset to attract families with children. :-)
We had great three days! Besides minor improvement opportunities Bambara is a perfect place to get some rest! Thank you for this unique experience, I will definitely recommend you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gege004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrecen
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Both inside and outside of the hotel is great designed and constructed, the building's location is excellent. The unique style of interior trim is very classy. Calm, quiet and clean everywhere. The staff is highly courteous. The wellness area is very high quality, especially the "Dogon huts" for an unforgettable experience. Great idea within hotel "meerkat zoo" design. Although the servise prices a bit high, but not as high-cost. I can only recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pogahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Mali in the middle of a Hungarian forest? Sounds weird, but this concept hotel is one of the most beautiful I have ever been to.
The design and the architecture was really beautiful, every little part of the hotel had the Malian tribal theme on it, and it looked good!
The room - of course with Malian tribal design in every little details - was luxurious, the bed was very comfortable.
The pool area was smallish, but fun.
And now the negatives: 1. The guests. On our second day, a women's choir (!) arrived with their friends and some of them behaved themselves like animals. They were loud, drunk, walked with street shoes in the pool area, touched the food like bread and cheese with their hands etc. Of course this was not the hotel's mistake, but it was disturbing.
2. The staff. Although most of them did an excellent job, there were some issues. The pool keepers did not warn the above mentioned guys to leave to pool area with street shoes on, the waiters did not make up enough tables in the restaurant at breakfast and dinner time, it was hard to find a made up table, some of them were not even cleaned fast enough, once I had to warn the guy to clean up at last the messy neighboring table.At the omelette stand noone showed up for several minutes. The most severe issue is that our room was never cleaned, even after we hung out the "please make up the room" sign.
3. The food. One would accept at a Malian concept hotel to have at least one or two Malian specialities on the menu. There was none. The vegetarian selection was also quite poor.
I know these were only smaller issues, but a 4+ star hotel should take care about these details, too.
The meerkats were really cool, it was fun watching them, even if you know that they are Southern African animals, and the best bet to find one in Mali is the Bamako zoo.
The hotel is qiute close to the town of Eger, with some beautiful medieval sights.
Despite of the above mentioned minor issues I gave this hotel five points, mainly because of the beautiful architecture and design.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelmutHungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I had a wonderful time when I stayed at the Bambara hotel. I was there during winter and there isn't much to do outside of the hotel which was perfect because the hotel will keep you very entertained.

There is a great spa and the pool area is amazingly designed. Although the pool itself is small, it has a whirlpool which is really nice for kids. I was with a 6 and 10 year old and they played in there for hours. They also have a really cool shower area and about 4 unique saunas including a salt room and steam room! It was a really neat experience plus because the hotel is so new, you felt like the facilities had never been used before. Take advantage of the bed-style furniture by the pool and order drinks! They'll bring you want ever you want. The hotel was very kid friendly, but at the same time it would be very good for couples as it's super relaxing!

The rooms were very nice and again it felt like everything was brand new and never used before. I particularly loved the bathrooms.

Every night they had a different live musician after dinner. One night I was there they had a Mexican band!

But my FAVORITE part of the Bambara and their consistant African theme were the meerkats in the center of the hotel!!! They are caged in, but just SO cute to see there. I mean they really went with this theme. Don't forget to purchase a stuffed meerkat on your way out :)

Room Tip: I stayed in a suite. I don't think you can go wrong with a room in this hotel though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agard, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel was built in African style.Excellent environment, African magic in the forest.
Rooms with A/C. The Spa area of the hotel is approximately 1000 m2 with in and another outside pools.
There can be found a salt-twig cabin, an African herbarium cabin, a salt spray steam bath and a sauna which was made of driftwood. On top floor, there is a relaxing area with jacuzzi, sauna and massage. Very child friendly with playhouse, mini pool, water stuffs and toys.
Food is excellent and various


Spa closes at 20:00 pm every day.
There is no wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby and the San Toro restaurant.
The checkout takes 1 hour at least!

Room Tip: The special rooms are bearing authentic names: Toubab and Farafin suites, Bambara and Fulani apartme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SZG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hotel is just a 5 min drive away from Eger, a beautiful city in the northern part of Hungary. It is built on an African theme and the design is well thought through and consistent through the rooms and the facilities. The room we stayed in was spacious, slept four easily, there were plenty of cushions as decoration and the high walls were decorated as if inside an African tribal house. Although there was an lcd tv in the room, it had a very small screen, seemed a cheap solution to me. The bathroom is uniquely designed, it is not one unit but the toilet and the shower are separated by the washbasin which is in the entrance, totally open.

The wellness facilities are on two floors, there is an inside baby pool and wellness pool (with all kinds of gadgets) on the first floor. And a recreational unit on the top floor with open air terrace, very quiet. The inside wellness pool are invaded by kids and even babies as the water is quite hot, the baby pool was empty most of the time. Anyway both the inside and the open air pool is so small, you can not swim. There are the usual sauna, tropic shower etc facilities as well. These are nicely designed and constructed, however, they were quite overcrowded on Saturday night which is a surprise as the hotel is rather expensive!

The restaurant again has a consistent African theme design and the chef tries his best to accommodate all kind of tastes and runs an international cuisine with some African specialities but offering also the typical Hungarian options. The service is mediocre in the restaurant, we ordered the same beer on following two nights but they were served rather dully on the second night. This is a wine region, so I tried some local wine as well. It arrived in a glass, never saw the bottle and had a feeling it had some water added...It seems the hotel is understaffed with waiters, one night they could not cope with the cleaning the dirty dishes from the tables...

Otherwise, the hotel has all what families with babies or toddlers need, playroom next to the restaurant, cartoons shows in a meeting room, plastic cutlery and baby chair in the restaurant...So overall it is an baby hotel but not a good value for money for others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malacomvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felsotarkany
23.0 mi away
The Residence Ozon Conference & Wellness Hotel
12.5 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Palota
Hunguest Hotel Palota
#1 of 1 in Lillafured
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
6.0 mi away
Imola Hotel Platan
Imola Hotel Platan
#1 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Szalajka Liget Hotel
Szalajka Liget Hotel
#1 of 2 in Szilvasvarad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cascade
Hotel Cascade
#1 of 1 in Demjen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
5.7 mi away
Senator House Hotel
Senator House Hotel
#2 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambara Hotel

Property: Bambara Hotel
Address: Buekkerdo setany 2-4, Felsotarkany 3324, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Felsotarkany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Felsotarkany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bambara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bambara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing