We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not appetising food, left disappointed.”
Review of Empress Garden

Empress Garden
Ranked #9 of 21 Restaurants in Sandhurst
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not appetising food, left disappointed.”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We ordered by telephone. The waitress taking the order was very patient and helpful. The order was ready at the time they requested I collect, so all good so far.
Got the food home. (starters) The ribs were dry, the duck was cooked to within an inch of its life, and not shredded (not in a foil container as you'd expect but plain household foil - novel!!). Other items just ... Not memorable.
(Mains) Beef in black pepper sauce, good, not wonderful, just good. Smoked chicken, chicken was smothered in some sauce, tasted like it came from a jar!! (Probably uncle bens. I'm not a fan!)

So my search for a decent Chinese around Crowthorne continues!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank weird76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    28
    7
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Had the buffet menu, apx £16pp. You can get as many different dishes as you want and they proportion the size to the amount of people on the table.

Really fresh food, very well cooked and well presented. The staff were lovely, very cheerful and happy to help you.

Will definitely be going back, it was a great treat!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleBiscuit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We tried Empress Garden last night and it turned out to be a fantastic place to eat.
Food was brilliant. Very well cooked, well served and varied.
Definitely worth trying.
We will be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Welcoming”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Well worth the drive for good variety of food, and lovely staff. Highly recommended. I'm garic intolerant and the kitchen cooked some items especially for me without the garlic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cornish-Born
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binfield
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

So much better than a buffet!
Choose everything you want from the extensive menu, and all is served to your table.... Fantastic food, no leaving the table to serve your food from a buffet, proper duck!!!! Wonderful!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NPB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empress Garden also viewed

Yateley, Hampshire
Sandhurst, Berkshire
 
Sandhurst, Berkshire
Yateley, Hampshire
 

Been to Empress Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing