We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super place to stay”
Review of Chateau de Palaja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau de Palaja
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palaja
Certificate of Excellence
Riberac, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super place to stay”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here en route to Nice. Lovely old building in pretty village close to Carcassonne. We only stayed one night, but had wonderful welcome from the owner, and an excellent dinner at the adjoining restaurant. Room was simple but very comfy with big shower in the en suite. Grounds are lovely, not vast, but plenty of space to have breakfast outside or enjoy the pool. We are considering staying again at the end of our holiday, and if not, then definitely another time when we are coming down to the south of France.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorelei6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    83
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
103
250
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night but wished we could move in. Gorgeous touches throughout, our own stunning pool to make noise, our three little boys playing boisterously on the lawn, a big delicious bath and then dinner at the restaurant next door.
Very special.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Portia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, with our three young daughters. The hotel owner, Madame Remy, was very helpful. Our family suite (Queribus) was perfect - three single beds in one room for the girls, a spacious bathroom with a good sized bath and shower, and a separate room for us. Reasonably priced, a nice (though a little cold) pool, beautiful garden. It is in a convenient location for exploring Carcassonne, but in a peaceful semi-rural location. Our girls were happy playing pétanque and running around the garden while we had dinner in the restaurant next door ("S Comme, highly recommended). A very pleasant couple of days!

Room Tip: Queribus has plenty of space for a family of 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwinTravelSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a very nice area located and the garden and the house is really nice. The restaurant, which belongs to the hotel, is excellent.
The service at the font desk is very helpful and gives some good recommendations for Carcassonne.
The rooms are clean fresh renovated. Unfortunately our standard room doesn't fit our expectations, we had from the pictures seen before.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Schneido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

The chateau has been entirely and extensively renovated by the owners. It is obvious they took great care and expense in the renovation maintaining the character of the chateau while blending both contemporary and rustic designs harmoniously. We stayed in the La Cite family room (family of four with two adult children) which was spacious (70 square meters) and was incredibly comfortable and relaxing after several hectic days of travel and staying in cramped rooms. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast a European buffet was very complete and high quality of food to choose from. We were disappointed that we could not stay longer in order to enjoy the beautiful grounds and other amenities. I would strongly recommend the Chateau de Palaja.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Traci E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This family put their blood, sweat and tears into a total renovation of this chateau! We were first thinking of staying within the walls of Carcassonne, but the logistics of driving, parking, luggage etc. made us look outside and we were glad we did. The hosts were delightful, the rooms sleek and beautiful artworks were throughout the rooms and public spaces. Gorgeous grounds, a pool
(though we did not swim in early May) and an excellent restaurant on site. Be sure to look at the photo book of the remodel project in the lobby. First class all around! Also good for corporate functions it looks like.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank triplenickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

If you're visiting Carcassonne, this is the way to do it -- the Chateau is only about a 10 minute drive from all the medieval town craziness, but you get infinitely more for your money if you go that little distance. Palaja is a sweet little town, and the chateau is beautiful -- our room was large and beautifully appointed, and the grounds are lovely. One of the best features of the place is the staff -- to a person, they were helpful and pleasant, and spoke excellent English. The only thing we regret is not spending more time in the area so we could take their advice on wonderful places to visit other than the castle and medieval town -- ask them about the hike to the top of the castle ruin. We also appreciated that they recommended to us a restaurant that was nice and off the beaten path -- whereas many hotel owners in France (understandably) direct the American tourists to inoffensive traditional food, they Chateau staff sent us to an out of the way place that specializes in cooking with fresh organic produce. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoraxLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palaja
2.5 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
3.8 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
2.7 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Palaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Palaja

Property: Chateau de Palaja
Address: 7 Barri del Castel | 11570 Palaja, 11000 Palaja, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Palaja
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palaja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Palaja 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Boutic hotel"very nice. 12 rooms for 2 people or 3 or 4. 5 mns driving from the old city of Carcassonne. huge park, free parking, outdoor swimming pool, free access sauna and fitness. collection of comics. wellness massages with reservation. very good breakfast as a buffet. best price on our site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Chateau de Palaja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing