We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a little village ”
Review of Chateau de Palaja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Palaja
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palaja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there only for one night - unfortunately! The owners were so nice to us and made is feel really welcomed. The chateau itself was renovated by the owners themselves. They both worked in the construction industry, so everything is done very nice and charming. The rooms are quite big and everything you need inside. The breakfast was excellent!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank bauer123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 453 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

About 15 minutes drive from Carcassone the Chateau de Palaja is a nicely updated and decorated family run boutique hotel. Rooms are generously sized (at least ours was) and furnished with interesting pieces. Buffet breakfasts are excellent. If you understand French there's a great library of comic books (bande desinees). The restaurant next door (which is not actually part of the hotel) is good but not open on Monday. Ask for recommendations for places to eat in Carcassone because it's a bit of a tourist magnet.

Pool looks nice, but we did not use it as it was not quite the right weather.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I chose to stay at Chateau de Palaja as we are travelling by car; parking can be a nightmare, but not at Palaja. It is barely five minutes drive to the old World Heritage Listed town that tourists infest. Although not a real chateau, Chateau is a lovingly restored old mansion in a tiny village close to Carcasson. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was suitable for disabled folk, about the only one we have seen this holiday. It was spacious and the bed large and very comfortable. The bathroom was huge and well fitted out. Breakfast was much better than average. The Chateau has charm and is set in a semi rural setting with a very large garden and plenty of parking. We dined at a nearby cafe which was just OK.

Room Tip: Book ahead for the restaurant. It is popular and was booked out by the time we checked in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This small, lovingly restored mansion, has 12 rooms, and is set in a charming quiet garden about 15 minutes from Carcassone. We swam in the pool (frais!) and sat and caught up with emails over a glass of wine in the garden, although we could JUST access the internet in our room (Mirepoix). Dinner in the restaurant, a converted outbuilding, was absolutely outstanding and the the staff, both there and in the hotel, friendly and helpful. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Mirepoix is one of the south facing rooms overlooking the garden, a large comfortable bed, and inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janiedevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Absolutely loved this little "mansion". Catherine, one of the owners was most welcoming, helpful and friendly and the rest of the staff were equally great. We loved her enthusiasm about the place and about providing great visitor service. She told us a lot about the whole conversion of the house, which was very run down when they bought it. "It was raining in the house!" Our room Minerve, one of the suites was large with superking sized bed and an additional sofa bed. The shower and bathroom were also roomy with great fixtures and fittings. The air conditioning was very welcome. The self service continental breakfast was sumptuous and extremely tasty with fresh croissants, brioche and bread, eggs, cheese ham, fresh fruits and cereals. The restaurant on site S Comme (not run by the hotel) was absolutely excellent with wonderful attentive service.

Be warned It's a good 10 minutes drive outside Carcassonne so you do need a car as public transport is virtually non existent. Also, the outdoor swimming pool is unheated and absolutely freezing!

Room Tip: Minerve, one of the suites was quiet, simple and luxurious. It is at the back of the hotel and does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Chateau de Palaja is a beautifully restored, boutique hotel in the small village of Palaja, near Carcassonne. Parts of the chateau are incredibly old but the rooms are spacious, modern, clean and comfortable. The gardens are lush, the swimming pool is sparkling and it's a lovely place to while away some time. It's also well located for day trips to the amazing fortifications further south. The owners are on site and always available for a chat or to recommend attractions and restaurants. Originally, this was a stopover but we were so impressed that we stayed a further 3 nights!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Quirky but likeable decor and style here. Good value breakfast and well appointed rooms but we have had better value in Toulouse. We ate at S Comme on both evenings which was great and explored the area by day. The inly ,oan is not having adequate WiFi in the rooms. However sitting outside to make calls or use the internet was pleasant.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank HT1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palaja
2.5 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
3.8 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
327 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
798 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
2.7 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#5 of 39 in Carcassonne
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Palaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Palaja

Address: 7 Barri del Castel, 11570 Palaja, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Palaja
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palaja
Price Range: $119 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Palaja 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Boutique hotel"very nice. 12 rooms for 2 people or 3 or 4 people. spacefull rooms. 5 mns driving from the old city of Carcassonne. homemade renovation . very nice welcoming. huge park, free parking, outdoor swimming pool, free access sauna and fitness. collection of 1200 graphic novels. wellness massages with reservation. very good breakfast as a buffet inside or in the garden. best price on our site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Chateau de Palaja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing