We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah, the serenity ...”
Review of Chateau de Palaja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Palaja
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palaja
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ah, the serenity ...”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Enjoyed 3 nights of luxury during 5 weeks in France. Loved the quiet location (car GPS needed to find it the first time), and only a short drive into Carcassonne. Our first floor junior suite "Font-Froid" was huge with contemporary but classic décor; separate shower & big bath, and separate toilet; king-size bed; block-out shutters & thick walls so we slept well. Free coffee anytime from decent machine. Breakfast (not included) was good variety of cold options. S Restaurant on-site run separately with good food & good service at price we expected (multi-lingual waiter made excellent crêpe suzette!) Many other dinner options for any budget in Carcassonne itself - an incredible place day & night. Sauna & pool on-site (but we didn't use either in April.)

Room Tip: No lift, but only 3 storeys (2 flights of stairs) - I believe any room would be OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoslynJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    83
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
103
250
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ambergris Caye, Belize
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

A very pleasant hotel with very welcoming and helpful personnel. Has a lovely calm setting and the bed was very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel without any hesitation. Our room looked out onto a beautiful blossom filled tree.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosette81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We loved the chateau de Palaja, located in a tiny at picturesque village outside Carcassonne. The chateau was spotless, nice free parking. The building is beautiful but more like a house not like a castle. The receptionist was lovely and very helpful. I absolutely adored the garden an the swimming pool, so quiet, clean..was marvellous. Our room was nice but not as luxurious as I thought for the price, the bathroom was really small with only one shower. We did not take the breakfast as we thought it was very expensive and was not included, we trade it for a lovely croissant and café au lait in Carcassonne. Overall, it was charming but not the best value for money for the south of France. It has a good location, 5 mins only by car from the main parking of la citadelle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagonisi, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

only 4-5 minutes drive from la cite is this excellent chateau. large modern rooms within a traditional looking house. very good quality regarding bathrooms, matresses, wooden objects. The outdoors is wonderful. Sitting area under aged trees, big garden, cosy swimming pool, and the beautifull old bridge that leads to the free parking area. The owners are great guys-hosts speaking fluently english and willing to give you all the information you need to enhance your stay. The village itself is very small but is worth a walk around for half an hour. there is also a playground for the kids if they seem too tired of visiting sites. If you stay in a hotel close to the fortress you will have to pay much more to get similar quality. So if you have a car don't even think about it. It is only 5 minutes away and it is very easy to park near the gates of carcassonne. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank panos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very friendly & welcoming, quiet, great service, stylishly furnished & comfortable bedrooms. We stayed in a family suite in the eaves - luxurious as far as the children were concerned and plenty of space for 4. Easy to get to Carcassonne and on to Toulouse. Only downside was the restaurant (next to, but separately managed) which was expensive for what it was and a little disappointing. Lovely setting, service and atmosphere and child friendly but short, cheap wine list and limited choice of food, even before they ran out of some options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifer1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
92 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Spent four nights in this beautifully renovated village castle, some 10' drive from the splendid fortified cité de Carcassonne. The rooms have 'personality', the breakfast is complete and can be taken in- as well as outdoors, the lady of the house is very friendly and helpful. A fine restaurant can be found on the premises, a decent pizza and good-priced menu of the day can be eaten in the village. In all a very nice experience, recommended!

Room Tip: Obviously, sleeping in an old castle means that you can experience some creaking floors. Not that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Having stayed in 'modernised' chateaux before, I didn't have exceptionally high hopes for Chateau Palaja, but it was lovely. The rooms and public areas are immaculate, the renovations have been done very tastefully, and Mme Remy the owner is friendly and efficient. Breakfast is continental only, but everything is fresh and tasty. The pool area is nice, although the steps down to it are a bit scary with a 3 year old in tow! The hotel is a 5-10 min drive from Carcassonne, but there is a lovely restaurant next door, and also a nice cafe bar within a 5 minute walk. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. My only negative was that our room slept 4 people but only had a small wardrobe with about 10 hangers and no other storage space whatsoever

Room Tip: La Cite is a gorgeous suite right at the top: bit of a trek up the stairs, but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty-Hawke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palaja
2.5 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
3.8 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
2.7 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Palaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Palaja

Property: Chateau de Palaja
Address: 7 Barri del Castel | 11570 Palaja, 11000 Palaja, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Palaja
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palaja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Palaja 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Boutic hotel"very nice. 12 rooms for 2 people or 3 or 4. 5 mns driving from the old city of Carcassonne. huge park, free parking, outdoor swimming pool, free access sauna and fitness. collection of comics. wellness massages with reservation. very good breakfast as a buffet. best price on our site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Chateau de Palaja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing