We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have a car”
Review of Chateau de Palaja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Palaja
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palaja
Certificate of Excellence
Lagonisi, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you have a car”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

only 4-5 minutes drive from la cite is this excellent chateau. large modern rooms within a traditional looking house. very good quality regarding bathrooms, matresses, wooden objects. The outdoors is wonderful. Sitting area under aged trees, big garden, cosy swimming pool, and the beautifull old bridge that leads to the free parking area. The owners are great guys-hosts speaking fluently english and willing to give you all the information you need to enhance your stay. The village itself is very small but is worth a walk around for half an hour. there is also a playground for the kids if they seem too tired of visiting sites. If you stay in a hotel close to the fortress you will have to pay much more to get similar quality. So if you have a car don't even think about it. It is only 5 minutes away and it is very easy to park near the gates of carcassonne. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank panos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    86
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
106
264
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very friendly & welcoming, quiet, great service, stylishly furnished & comfortable bedrooms. We stayed in a family suite in the eaves - luxurious as far as the children were concerned and plenty of space for 4. Easy to get to Carcassonne and on to Toulouse. Only downside was the restaurant (next to, but separately managed) which was expensive for what it was and a little disappointing. Lovely setting, service and atmosphere and child friendly but short, cheap wine list and limited choice of food, even before they ran out of some options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifer1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Spent four nights in this beautifully renovated village castle, some 10' drive from the splendid fortified cité de Carcassonne. The rooms have 'personality', the breakfast is complete and can be taken in- as well as outdoors, the lady of the house is very friendly and helpful. A fine restaurant can be found on the premises, a decent pizza and good-priced menu of the day can be eaten in the village. In all a very nice experience, recommended!

Room Tip: Obviously, sleeping in an old castle means that you can experience some creaking floors. Not that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Having stayed in 'modernised' chateaux before, I didn't have exceptionally high hopes for Chateau Palaja, but it was lovely. The rooms and public areas are immaculate, the renovations have been done very tastefully, and Mme Remy the owner is friendly and efficient. Breakfast is continental only, but everything is fresh and tasty. The pool area is nice, although the steps down to it are a bit scary with a 3 year old in tow! The hotel is a 5-10 min drive from Carcassonne, but there is a lovely restaurant next door, and also a nice cafe bar within a 5 minute walk. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. My only negative was that our room slept 4 people but only had a small wardrobe with about 10 hangers and no other storage space whatsoever

Room Tip: La Cite is a gorgeous suite right at the top: bit of a trek up the stairs, but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty-Hawke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I had heard about this new restaurant "S comme" in the grounds of Chateau de Palaja and wasn't disappointed. Lovely decor, good friendly service, and wonderful food. Run by two Belgian brothers, a great addition to dining options for anyone looking for a special evening out in Carcassonne.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed for three days of our week in the Languedoc, and eventually came back for three more days! Great place, beautifully kept, the Maitre d is a charming and very helpful lady. All her tips and advice on attractions and good restaraunts came up trumps. Lac de Cavayere and the town of Carcasonne (le Cité, the Midi Canal, etc) are all within striking distance using the bicycles which can be hired at the Chateau de Palaja for €10. Would definitely recommend this as a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaMouton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This hotel was a delightful choice for us - fabulous rooms and sumptious breakfast! The owner was a lovely lady who did everything possible to ensure our stay was a pleasant one, which it most definitely was!
Our room was spacious and extremely comfortable, furnished to a very high standard. Probably slightly more expensive than we would usually choose, but we felt still very good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NannyBAbingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palaja
3.8 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
302 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#5 of 39 in Carcassonne
333 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
778 reviews
17.1 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
2.5 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Palaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Palaja

Property: Chateau de Palaja
Address: 7 Barri del Castel, 11570 Palaja, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Palaja
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palaja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Palaja 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Boutique hotel"very nice. 12 rooms for 2 people or 3 or 4 people. spacefull rooms. 5 mns driving from the old city of Carcassonne. homemade renovation . very nice welcoming. huge park, free parking, outdoor swimming pool, free access sauna and fitness. collection of 1200 graphic novels. wellness massages with reservation. very good breakfast as a buffet inside or in the garden. best price on our site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de Palaja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing