We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
149
7
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
7
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszip liningwedding venueamazing venuefamily gatheringparty weekendcoach housebed rooms areamazing weekendbar roomirish weddingwalled gardenirish dancingsignificant birthdayguests stayingmagical weddingfantastic hostsfriday evening
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 158 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2015

I cannot stress enough how incredible Blackwater Castle was as a wedding venue. My wife and I are from the U.S. and took 16 guests with us for our small destination wedding. Without the ability to tour the grounds, I relied completely on Blackwater’s website as well as the incredible assistance of Sheila O’Keefe, one of the castle’s owner/operators, to plan our two day stay, ceremony and reception. Sheila made everything a breeze. She e-mailed me numerous times to help me understand the castle layout, let me know what amenities the castle and the nearby towns of Castletownroche and Mallow might offer, called me to arrange for some meals while our guests were at the castle and helped me find catering and bar service for the wedding.
Sheila and Patrick went above and beyond to make us feel like we owned the castle during our stay. We had full run of the grounds, explored the castle, hiked the river valley and explored the town. Our guests took advantage of some of the activities offered by Blackwater Outdoor Experience, zip lining over the beautiful Awbeg river, joking with our guides. We took stunning pictures in the castle gardens, used the amazing Norman tower as a backdrop, and rearranged furniture within the castle to suit our dining and dancing needs.
If you have a smallish group, there is plenty of room in the castle proper. Our group of 18 had room to spare. For larger groups the dormitories on the grounds will house a few dozen more guests. The beds in the castle were very comfortable, the ensuite bathrooms all clean and spacious. We held our entire ceremony on the castle grounds, dined in the medieval hall and danced the night away in the large bar area with music provided by a group of local musicians who taught us (as well as they could) a few Irish step dances.
All in all our time at Blackwater was lovely but too short lived. We look forward to celebrating an anniversary or taking a longer vacation in our own private (for a week at least!) castle again in the future!

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila O, Owner at Blackwater Castle, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2016

Dear Justin and Anna, it was a pleasure to host you all here. Your pagan ceremony was fantastic and really made use of all the spiritual and pagan elements on the grounds. Truly unique!

Best wishes to you both,

Sheila & PAtrick

PS Anna, JAxon says hello!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2015

What a venue! We rented the castle for a weekend for my 40th birthday. The castle itself is everything you could want - magnificent, grand, quirky and eccentric! The grounds are stunning and extensive including a dramatic driveway that really sets the tone for any event!
The hosts Patrick and Sheila are such a pleasure to work with - from the first email to our final wave goodbye! So helpful, relaxed and they really do add to your event.
I cannot recommend Blackwater castle enough to anyone looking to hire a unique venue in a stunning location close to Cork - you will not be disappointed and it is incredible value for what you get. Thank you Sheila - we are all still talking about the 'Best Party EVER!!' :)

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mscarol11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila O, Owner at Blackwater Castle, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2016

Dear Carol, we are delighted you have such nice memories of our Castle, it was great having you here. Thank you so much for your kind words.

Best wishes,

Sheila & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2015 via mobile

We are now celebrating our first wedding anniversary and we thought it was high time we wrote a thank you message to Patrick and Sheila for helping us put on the best wedding ever!! The freedom to create our own unique wedding in the beautiful grounds of Blackwater castle, allowed us to bring a little slice of Azerbaijan to Castletownroche. Patrick, Sheila, Mick and Eileen pulled out all the stops to help make our day successful. The castle itself is beautiful and full of character, and it's great that we can turn the whole place into our home for the few days that we were there. The guys in the Spinning Wheel and the Rockforest Bar helped throw the best pre and post wedding sessions ever!! Thanks to all involved, and we can't wait to visit Blackwater castle again!! Gunel and her now obedient husband, Hughie

Stayed: October 2014, traveled with family
Thank Sherpa546355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila O, Owner at Blackwater Castle, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2015

Thanks a million Hughie and Gunel, great to hear from you. Delighted you are enjoying lovely memories of your special event. And Hughie, I don't believe a word about your obedience - the "now" gives you away! All the best, Sheila & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2015 via mobile

Three generations (spanning 60+ years) stayed at Blackwater Castle for a family reunion in the last week of August 2015, and had the time of our lives. The owners, Sheila and Patrick, take legendary Irish hospitality to an entirely new level. An amazing castle in a beautiful location. We are currently trying to think up any excuse to go back, eg; a wedding/significant birthday/the day of the week has a vowel in it...anything!! We highly recommend this castle and would like to take the opportunity to thank the owners for making such a wonderful experience achievable.
the Lane family.

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
Thank eeppll2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila O, Owner at Blackwater Castle, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2015

Thank you so much to all the Lane family for such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you all back to the Castle soon. Kind regards, Sheila & PAtrick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2015

Just back from a beautiful wedding weekend at Blackwater Castle, and I cannot recommend it enough. Patrick and Sheila are fantastic and so welcoming to all. The Castle itself is just how a castle should be fun and quirky. Cannot wait for out next visit as we most defiantly do plan to go back... And I must say that one of the best things is there is no wifi, a lot may be turned off by this but it is fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkMilly33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila O, Owner at Blackwater Castle, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2015

Thanks a million Milly for your kind words and yes, no WIFI is a bonus. We tried to install it but as our medieval walls are 10 feet thick in places it was hard to get a good signal. There is free WIFI in the village pubs so our guests are never far from the WWW but not having WIFI at the Castle means guests can concentrate on communicating in traditional ways and enjoy the experience all the more for it. All the best for now, Sheila & Patrick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews