We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous views”

Mudbrick Vineyard & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Oneroa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Mudbrick is world-renowned for its superb restaurant and award-winning wines. With its spectacular sea views, French potager gardens and hand-hewn mud-brick buildings, the setting is "A must-see when visiting Auckland" (New York Times).
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
235 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous views”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is such a beautiful view. If you take the ocean away , you could be in Santa Barbara Ca , on the hills. O well, it is not Santa Barbara ... But looks like. I had a fish dish with saffron sauce and cheese plate. Nice sized portions and good flavors. The white wines were good but this is not my strong point. The bottle of Chardonnay was about $50. I am sure we have comparable wines at a lesser price. Syrah was very young, no body and at about $60. I am very picky about my reds. This was not a choice.. The island was lovely. I could spend a full day hiking, swimming and eating good fish if not with a group . Definitely, a distinction place. Another time though

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    833
    305
    95
    44
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

What an amazing venue. Sitting high up on a hill looking back over Auckland & also a gorgeous sunset the night we visited. Manicured gardens, upstairs terrace to take in the views. I was quite dishevelled after walking to dinner here but not to be distracted from the beautiful food, attentive service & lovely atmosphere. What an amazing venue for a wedding, one of the nicest I've ever seen. Expensive dinner, though well worth the money spent. Food reminded me of Vue De Monde in Melbourne, very surprising, each dish. Everything perfect.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We went to Mudbrick for our 40th wedding anniversary. The service was excellent and the food and wine was wonderful. Every plate that came out was like a food adventure. So much work had gone into each plate. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelkiwiDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in a fabulous setting!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

While visiting Auckland we spent a day on Waiheke Island. Lunch at this restaurant was the highlight of the day. The view from the top of the hill was spectacular. The food was beautifully presented, unusual and delicious. Naturally the wine suggested by our waitress from their vineyard was a perfect complement to the meal. Expensive but the whole experience was worth it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamorna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Wonderful food, a wonderful atmosphere, great service, what more is there to say? This is an experience to treasure, so make sure you get there

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcus_Clark_Lamorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mudbrick Vineyard & Restaurant also viewed

 
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 

Been to Mudbrick Vineyard & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing