We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpretentious but good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solar Eating House

Solar Eating House
Ranked #5 of 8 Restaurants in Oneroa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Cool, Stylish Cafe and Restaurant at the top of Oneroa with fantastic breakfasts and amazing sea views. Oneroa's only garden bar overlooking the Hauraki Gulf. Huge outdoor areas, family friendly fun room and real outside castle.
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
148 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Unpretentious but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Nice location at the top of the main street in Oneroa, we came across this place almost by accident, after scouring the village on our first day on Waiheke and after a long walk. We made a good choice. We ate outside and my caesar salad with duck was excellent, very fresh and with just the right amount of dressing. Desserts were also excellent, so we put back in calories what we had walked off. Didn't like the ordering process - pick your food from the menu, go up to the bar and pay, and wait for your meal with a number beside you. Then do the same every time you want something more. Doesn't detract from the quality oif the food though, and the wine. Good value for an island with quite high prices generally

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sweetfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    52
    19
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced, disappointed ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The only good thing is the view. Public holiday surcharge, small portion, AVERAGE foods. Was told will be at least 30 minutes wait right after we paid when the cafe is not even busy or full house. There are plenty of other cafes out there that do lot better. (Customer dogs constantly barking in the restaurant and kids screaming make the experience even worst)

Not recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank 2xchefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Thought we would give solar a go for breakfast as we have had great breakfasts there. This time a little customer service could have gone a long way. So we order food and coffee, only 2 people on front of us, so far all good, coffee comes-it's drunk-still waiting for food so after 20-30 mins we ask how is our order coming, they say just plating up, now another 5 mins it's arrives, cold toast cold bacon hot everything else, we say that took a long time in which the waitress replies we should have a little patience there was 2 orders ahead of us. She continued in what we perceived as a argumentative tone that we really shouldn't be complaining. Not what I would call great customer service , an easy explanation of having trouble with the poacher your meals may take a little longer would've worked. Aside from that the food is fresh and good . Have also had some very good dinners there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ataleit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Bread!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

This cafe presented me with the best cup of coffee I have had in NZ! The toast was made from bread baked on the island and was delicious. The staff we encountered was friendly and interactive. The poached eggs were done right!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Comoxfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
296 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“excellent selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Loved Solar- went for lunch with a girlfriend for my birthday and was amazed at the wonderful selection of food. Being vegetarian there were plenty of choices and the meal was very tasty and would go back again

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TrishyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solar Eating House also viewed

Oneroa, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Solar Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing