We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Atmosphere”
Review of Solar Eating House

Solar Eating House
Ranked #5 of 8 Restaurants in Oneroa
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cool, Stylish Cafe and Restaurant at the top of Oneroa with fantastic breakfasts and amazing sea views. Oneroa's only garden bar overlooking the Hauraki Gulf. Huge outdoor areas, family friendly fun room and real outside castle.
waikato
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We had pre arranged a Sunday morning breakfast for 27 people with Sue and her team. For such a large group the presentation and taste of the food was top notch. Great good, coffee and juices and the view outstanding!! A large group like this would surely put any cafe under pressure but Solars Staff were awesome with everything.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2travelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    55
    21
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“top spot”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

first trip to the island and this was our lunch location, great value for money and the food was excellent along with a glass or 2 of passage rock wine, check it out yourselves !!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renegade53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdeburg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most delicious seafood-platter ever!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We just popped in by chance and went out with a huge smile after our lunch. We've had the Seafood Platter and directly voted it as our best meal we've had on our whole traveling trip, so far (we're on the road for 6 weeks now:-)).
The view is just stunning and the staff lovely.
A must have once you're on the island!

Helpful?
Thank die_christin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious food and superior views”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We thought that as locals, we should check out Solar's lunch menu and ordered the seafood platter for two. Well my husband is a bit of a seafood fan so I was hoping that the platter lived up to his expectations. It did and we will be back.
The views deserve a mention. They are vast, stunning and visible from almost anywhere - inside or outside. The decor is superb - I really love it and take my hat off to whoever the designer is. Classy. And I have to say I really loved the little salt and pepper shakers - cute pairs of shakers (all different) on each table. It's a little touch but so very nice.
I recommend that future visitors take the time to walk up to the roundabout and pay Solar a visit. You won't be disappointed.
And finally, the staff are friendly, polite and tidy. We will see you all again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solareatinghouse, Owner at Solar Eating House, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thanks Robyn - we did the interior design ourselves! Cheers Sue & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great make-over”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Solar serves similar style of casual food to the old Lazy Lounge that was here before. But they have completely renovated the building with an eclectic style. Plenty of outdoor tables (for those of us with well-behaved dogs) and a playground for kids. Lots of comfy individual indoor seating areas. Great food and fantastic fruit juices.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solar Eating House also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Solar Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing