We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breaky Time”
Review of Solar Eating House

Solar Eating House
Ranked #5 of 9 Restaurants in Oneroa
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cool, Stylish Cafe and Restaurant at the top of Oneroa with fantastic breakfasts and amazing sea views. Oneroa's only garden bar overlooking the Hauraki Gulf. Huge outdoor areas, family friendly fun room and real outside castle.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We sat outside... Great View. Felt like eating at Tarzan's house... tehehe yes I have been there... Reasonable price, massive all day breakfast, friendly staff, again nice setting. We'll be coming back here :)

Thank Den1ce_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solareatinghouse, Owner at Solar Eating House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thanks Denice!

Glad you liked the breakfast! And the view.... You should come in for dinner one night!

Cheers

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 134 of 148 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

I went here for breakfast and had their Solar Grill Big Breakfast,it came with hash,sausage,bacon,mushroom,eggs and ciabata bread,and it tasted really good,and the portions were good too. I had a great view from my table,recommended this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solareatinghouse, Owner at Solar Eating House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you so much, Richard....Glad you enjoyed your breakfast - the locals say we have the best breakfast on the island.. we agree (har har). But it's not just breakfast - you should come for dinner one night - we have an award winning chef on board and our roast duck just flies out the door.

Cheers

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This café was recommended and now we know why - amazing lunch. The food was wonderful and the juices were healthy and tasty. Plenty of outdoor seating. Will go there again.

Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solareatinghouse, Owner at Solar Eating House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you Karen!

It's a beautiful spot, isn't it? Next time you are back you should come for dinner. And bring some friends. Have some bubbles and a laugh. Yummy!

Cheers

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had one meal here at Solar. It was nice and tasty. The view from the hill over Oneroa was again beautiful. The staff were very friendly, we all enjoyed our meals!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank millie0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Tonight is our second visit to Solar for coffee and desert, can not seem to stay away. This place would be one of the highlights of our weekend, an award winning chef and great front of house staff. Such a great place to relax with a local wine or just a coffee. Fantastic menu, everything made in house. We will be back for breakfast tomorrow. A++

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spuds6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solar Eating House also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 

Been to Solar Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing