We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect break.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oyster Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oyster Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Oneroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The perfect break.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The most wonderfully crafted boutique inn. Delightful and charming decor, excellent food, ideal location and exemplary service. 6 members of our family stayed for 2 nights in July 2013 in the wonderfully decorated rooms and found a true home from home for every one of us. Despite ranging from 5 months to a more senior age, we were all looked after wonderfully and really did not want to leave. A special mention must go to Perry who took so much time and care to provide the kind of personal service that is rarely encountered these days. A better ambassador for this establishment would be impossible to find. Please spoil yourself and visit this haven for a meal or even better a short and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
50
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Fantastic boutique hotel and restaurant. The service really is a standout - casual and relaxed yet very attentive. As always, the food was really really good. A well thought out menu which has something for everyone.

Room Tip: We have a 6 mth old baby and we stayed in the smallest room (room 3) and even with a port a cot ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sampan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in early June. Andrew, Jonathan, and the staff made us feel welcomed and as if we were staying at their home. Everyone was friendly and always went out of their way to ensure we were having a good visit. (When I bought my newspaper each morning, I was invited into the restaurant for coffee and conversation while the staff prepared the kitchen and dining room.)

Our room was spotless, spacious, and quiet. It had a very "relaxing" feel.

I should also note that the transfer to and from the ferry was flawless, and breakfast was delicious (made better by the view!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanMac14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Oyster Inn. Well, it would be wouldn't it? It's by the beach! It's got stripes on its bus! Like a deck chair! It's got portholes on doors! Safe to say the cliche book is thrashed to death on this one-probably because everyone loves a cliche. The plus though is its actually much better than it looks.......it's not great, but its good. The food in particular-the chef may well be a little touchy ( we were told that " he won't do a boiled egg" -as requested by our two year old at breakfast- which considering we were one of two tables occupied seemed a little, shall we say, precious) but he/she can knock out some decent grub . I know, I know-reviewers are supposed to know all about the chefs-frankly I couldn't care less who is banging the pans as long as the food is worth the shekel-and it was. The menu is nicely contained-at least for dinner. At breakfast it's a bit minimalist and as stated, appears to be adhered to with a humourless zeal-so apparently the chef is serious-too serious for this reviewer at this location. Its not El Bulli. Anyways-the rooms-like the dinner menu were "contained"-and again in a good way-had almost everything we needed, and some we didn't-like the pungent continental odour of a septic tank just beyond the window that clearly needed emptying. Still, it's an island offshore a bigger island-at least the sea is clean...In general the service was good , esp from the younger co-owner, but the young restaurant staff were a more mixed bag-one with an unnerving habit of looking at then completely ignoring two patrons in an otherwise empty dining room. maybe he was on a gap year. Or a gap day.
Oneroa itself is no great shakes-the best bits of Waiheke are a decent drive to the east-well away from the subdivided suburbia of what passes for a chic weekend escape for the aspirational Aucklander it seems. Who, coincidentally, make up most of the clientele and will I am sure, leave well satisfied, just as we did.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at the Oyster Inn for several days at the end of the high season and was very impressed by the personalised attention and attention to detail at this quaint spot. With just three perfectly appointed rooms and a gorgeous restaurant with a view over Oneroa Bay, everything about the Oyster Inn feels custom made.

First the room - simple and stylish with lots of luxury touches, from the open beam rafters in the room that match white wooden hangers in the closet to the huge mid-century wash basin and rain shower tiled in little hexagons - the feel is curated, not cluttered - and feels expensive. The beds are ridiculous, and it all feels more like a rich friend's guest house than a boutique hotel. And the pick up at the pier, in the 1960s VW Combi van is like something out of a novel.

To me the whole place is best described as Montauk South - timeless mid-century design updated to now, great use of color, conservative but contemporary, and effortlessly chic. Breakfast on the verandah of the adjoinng restaurant, with a rich, perfect flat white coffee and baked egg pie, sunlight in your face with a stiff northerly breeze... heaven!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanS769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Jonathan and Andrew of the Oyster Inn have have created something truly exceptional in Oneroa. We stayed recently for our wedding anniversary. It was the best decision we've made in a long time. This place has every detail covered. Think Magic City crossed with a Wes Anderson movie, with some extra local lux thrown in for good measure. The rooms are perfect, oozing with charm and cool, calm beachiness. The food (slow cooked pork belly, mozzarella and local figs, sticky toffee pudding...you get the message), wine (local and national greats), hallertau on tap (great choice), and coffee (perfect everytime) are outstanding. Pehaps most important, and impressive, is the service. Jonathan, Andrew and all the staff are freindly, attentive and thoughtful. During a very busy weekend, they managed to make us feel as though we were the most important people there. What a skill! A great moment was eating a delicious breakfast on the verandah, in the sun, taking in a breathtaking view to a soundtrack of 60s jazz/lounge greats. I felt as though I was in a scene from Magic City and, were it not for our plan to walk along the beach after breakfast, I would've ordered a bloody mary and settled in for the day. Nice work Oytser Inn, you've truly put Waiheke on the map.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms, and they're all gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeeDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I had a super relaxing experience at the Oyster Inn from start to finish. It is a little pricier option on the island but we felt worth the extra $$. Some highlights...
Location: Oyster Inn is smack-dab in the middle of Oneroa, the largest 'town' in Waiheke, overlooking the main drag and Oneroa beach and is only about 5 minutes taxi ride/20minute walk. Bus stop two blocks down got us around to Palm Beach, Onetangi beach and several wineries easily.
Owners: Both Jonathan and Andrew offer friendly and personal service, Jonathan picked us up
at the ferry in the cute yellow Oyster Inn VW bus pictured on their website and also showed us to our room and Andrew made a point to stop and say hello during our dinner there.
Room: Clean, simple and stylish modern white rooms. We stayed in room #2 which had a nice far away view of the ocean. The balcony is on the small side but nice to have the door open with the fresh air. The bed & bathroom were great.
Dinner: Delicious and fresh seafood (we had oysters, fish'n'chips and spaghetti with clams) and loaded garden-picked salad. We asked several locals for recommendations and all of them suggested Oyster Inn restaurant not knowing we were staying at the Inn.
All-around, great stay. Would stay again next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwichickytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oneroa
2.0 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.5 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marino Ridge
Marino Ridge
#6 of 27 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Inn

Property: The Oyster Inn
Address: 124 Ocean View Road, Oneroa, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island > Oneroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oneroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Oyster Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Oyster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing