We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Oyster Inn - Like Montauk South, Effortless Chic”
Review of The Oyster Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oyster Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Oneroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at the Oyster Inn for several days at the end of the high season and was very impressed by the personalised attention and attention to detail at this quaint spot. With just three perfectly appointed rooms and a gorgeous restaurant with a view over Oneroa Bay, everything about the Oyster Inn feels custom made.

First the room - simple and stylish with lots of luxury touches, from the open beam rafters in the room that match white wooden hangers in the closet to the huge mid-century wash basin and rain shower tiled in little hexagons - the feel is curated, not cluttered - and feels expensive. The beds are ridiculous, and it all feels more like a rich friend's guest house than a boutique hotel. And the pick up at the pier, in the 1960s VW Combi van is like something out of a novel.

To me the whole place is best described as Montauk South - timeless mid-century design updated to now, great use of color, conservative but contemporary, and effortlessly chic. Breakfast on the verandah of the adjoinng restaurant, with a rich, perfect flat white coffee and baked egg pie, sunlight in your face with a stiff northerly breeze... heaven!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanS769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for The Oyster Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 73 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

Jonathan and Andrew of the Oyster Inn have have created something truly exceptional in Oneroa. We stayed recently for our wedding anniversary. It was the best decision we've made in a long time. This place has every detail covered. Think Magic City crossed with a Wes Anderson movie, with some extra local lux thrown in for good measure. The rooms are perfect, oozing with charm and cool, calm beachiness. The food (slow cooked pork belly, mozzarella and local figs, sticky toffee pudding...you get the message), wine (local and national greats), hallertau on tap (great choice), and coffee (perfect everytime) are outstanding. Pehaps most important, and impressive, is the service. Jonathan, Andrew and all the staff are freindly, attentive and thoughtful. During a very busy weekend, they managed to make us feel as though we were the most important people there. What a skill! A great moment was eating a delicious breakfast on the verandah, in the sun, taking in a breathtaking view to a soundtrack of 60s jazz/lounge greats. I felt as though I was in a scene from Magic City and, were it not for our plan to walk along the beach after breakfast, I would've ordered a bloody mary and settled in for the day. Nice work Oytser Inn, you've truly put Waiheke on the map.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms, and they're all gorgeous.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeeDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I had a super relaxing experience at the Oyster Inn from start to finish. It is a little pricier option on the island but we felt worth the extra $$. Some highlights...
Location: Oyster Inn is smack-dab in the middle of Oneroa, the largest 'town' in Waiheke, overlooking the main drag and Oneroa beach and is only about 5 minutes taxi ride/20minute walk. Bus stop two blocks down got us around to Palm Beach, Onetangi beach and several wineries easily.
Owners: Both Jonathan and Andrew offer friendly and personal service, Jonathan picked us up
at the ferry in the cute yellow Oyster Inn VW bus pictured on their website and also showed us to our room and Andrew made a point to stop and say hello during our dinner there.
Room: Clean, simple and stylish modern white rooms. We stayed in room #2 which had a nice far away view of the ocean. The balcony is on the small side but nice to have the door open with the fresh air. The bed & bathroom were great.
Dinner: Delicious and fresh seafood (we had oysters, fish'n'chips and spaghetti with clams) and loaded garden-picked salad. We asked several locals for recommendations and all of them suggested Oyster Inn restaurant not knowing we were staying at the Inn.
All-around, great stay. Would stay again next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwichickytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a beautifully appointed and charming destination, a highly recommended visit if traveling to New Zealand or spending time in Auckland.
Our hosts were gracious and welcoming and took great care of us over the weekend. The restaurant and bar sit overlooking the ocean in this tiny seaside village, a casually chic and stylish spot, we enjoyed excellent food and service here.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pp2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank tabicanarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jagrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oneroa
2.0 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#3 of 4 in Waiheke Island
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#9 of 30 in Waiheke Island
181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 30 in Waiheke Island
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
49 reviews
3.0 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#3 of 30 in Waiheke Island
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Inn

Address: 124 Ocean View Road, Oneroa, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiheke Island > Oneroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oneroa
Price Range: $124 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Oyster Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Oyster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing