We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hekerua Lodge Backpackers
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
322 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Nestling off the beaten track, it was a lovely place to stay for us during our trip to Waiheke island. It was clean, quiet, just like our home. The pool and jacuzzi were great to complete an exploring day. My friends and I all loved this hostel. Plus, "May Day" was a cute dog and quite famous!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiet Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    33
    18
    10
    12
See reviews for
5
17
66
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here over the summer 2013 I found this place very friendly and welcoming. The staff are very helpful and will help you with you're your of the island. I loved it so much I stayed for a few months when I found work.
There is excellent facilities and a pool and spa which are good for those lazy days. Little oneroa beach is 5 minutes walk away and oneroa a local town 10 minutes walk.

Is a great place to meet plenty of people and meet new friends. There is also a camp ground where you can stay overall I would recommend this to any traveller or person wishing to stay for a few days

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leesmith1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed in a double room.

This hostel has the potential to be really lovely - it is in a nice building and has a pool and a jacuzzi. When I arrived I thought it could end up being the nicest hostel I had stayed at in NZ. My room was clean and nicely decorated, the kitchen looked modern and no dirtier than the average hostel and there are sufficient and clean showers.

However, issues before I arrived and issues that I noticed whilst staying actually made this my least favourite hostel in NZ.

When booking: when I asked how to get to the hostel the woman on the phone just said "oh, get the bus, they'll tell you". No bus number, no timetable, no bus stop name. Found a pamphlet at the ferry terminal and followed the instructions, hostel is a bit off the beaten track.

When arriving: was partially shown around but not told much important information - like how to get to the town, or the beach. No information available anywhere about what there is to do on Waiheke. Perfectly pleasant and told to "ask if I needed anything" but didn't see her again until the next evening and, although there seemed to be a lot of long term guests, it wasn't clear who worked there. After three days I still had no idea.

Room: has no chetain, meaning that if anyone goes onto the balcony (open access to all) they can see into the room.

Shower: only worked for about 1 minute. Then a cold trickle.

Noise: other guests made a lot of noise (or the walls are thinner than other places). I'm tolerant of noise and it did not bother me in other hostels when sharing a dorm but this was late and excessive. For example, someone extremely drunk (unable to walk) was wandering arousing shouting at 1.30, bumped into my bedroom door heavily, then started shouting aggressiveky off the balcony and then started having a loud argument with his girlfriend outside my bedroom door, which was all a bit frightening.

General attitude: one of the long term guests random started to insult me (totally out of the blue insulting my looks, insulting my country and city and even telling me i was cooking onions wrong and turning up the heat of the hob I was using without asking me. Weird) others seemed to have formed a friendship group of long term guests. As a lone short term guest I felt unwelcome - there were nothing set up to join in with even though the hostel was busy. There is also a menacing attitude about washing dishes (signs saying you will be thrown out and a security camera saying it is watching that you do the dishes...). Someone had nonetheless put away a glass the smelt so strongly of ouzo you could smell it from about 2 meters away!

Wifi does not work. In addition to the irritation of having to use prepaid wifi (no free Internet provided here, not even a low value voucher like in most other hostels) the wifi signal is not strong enough to be able to make a Skype voice call. I was able to do this in all other hostels I stayed at.

There is a cat and dogs here. Although The cat is cute the dogs growled and bit and fought each other really near me ( almost on me) for about 30 minutes until I moved. Their owner (does he work here? No idea) said "stop that" a couple of times but didn't actually stop them.

This place could be great if it was run professionally but seems to be designed for long term and really heavy drinking guests only.

If I was coming with a large group then it might be fun with the pool etc. but I would not return here alone or as a couple.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rtwopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 1 night and was satisfied with the lodge. Our twin room was upstairs and was small, clean, and comfortable. Bathrooms were just down the hall and were clean enough. Pretty much a typical backpacker with friendly staff. Some of the common areas were not very clean, but not unexpected for a typical backpacker. It is off the beaten path and a little difficult to find, but the wooded location is calm and relaxing. Has its own pool as well. I found it difficult to find a place on Waheke that would take a reservation for just one night, but this place did. No regrets staying there and would recommend it for a reasonably priced place to stay in Waheke.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garyhjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

It would be hard to find a better place to stay on Waiheke Island.
Tom and his crew of helpers are a fantastic friendly team, I also have to mention that it is rare to find somebody like "Tom" who is so passionate about providing and environment for both the family and the lonely traveler looking for some friends.

The Pool and spa area is just amazing and helps get the sand out of your ears gathered from the beach not even 5 minutes away.

All my best memory's of my stay on Waiheke happened at Hekerua Lodge and with the people I meet there, during my stay I would of seen 80 percent of travelers change there plans to stay longer.

In terms of cleaning........... spotless! and the beds and cotton soft sheets are lovely :-)

Enojoy!
By far the best place on Waiheke........ TY Tom

Room Tip: Rimu 2 with the ensuit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deconorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Awesome weekend away. Great friendly, very relaxed host and staff. Nice to see they can socialize with the guests when they want yet at other times just leave everyone to themselves. Great place to meet lots of different people and have a good relaxing weekend. Great pool and spa. Clean tidy rooms (even though i stayed in a tent) Easy walk to the beach and shops. I will be back and my first task will be to take out the rooster and claim the bounty.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 1 night and when we checked in everything seemed ok. Our private room was clean and pretty much what we expected. We spent the whole day exploring the island and when we came back we spent most of our time in our room relaxing and the place was quiet, but not for long. After dinner the TV in the lounge room was turned on full blast and and at first we thought a fight broke out but it was just the very loud movie being watched. The kitchen was dirty and I couldn't find a clean cup anywhere. In the morning I guess I was in the shower a little too long (5-7 mins tops) and the male host, forgot his name, run up the stairs and pounded on the door very violently. He proceed to tell me to [--] off as well as a few other choice words and that I needed to get out of there ASAP. After that we left immediately and didn't look back. We both work in hospitality and I have to say that was the worst attitude I have ever seen. Cute hostel but definitely not worth it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mook G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oneroa
1.3 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.6 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waiheke Punga Lodge
Waiheke Punga Lodge
#7 of 27 in Waiheke Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.5 mi away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
#7 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hekerua Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hekerua Lodge Backpackers

Property: Hekerua Lodge Backpackers
Address: 11 Hekerua Road, Oneroa, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island > Oneroa
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Oneroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our small social backpackers on the magical Waiheke Island, the island of sun, wine and fun! Only 35min from downtown Auckland. Waiheke is so close, yet so far removed from the rat race of Auckland City - come and see why Waiheke was voted one of the worlds top island destinations in the world by many travel magazines. The Hekerua Lodge Backpackers is centrally located secluded on an acre of stunning New Zealand native bush, only 5 minutes walk form Little Oneroa Beach and another 10 to the shops We cater specially for the international youth travel market, a place to meet new people, laugh and dance in paradise, so if you wish to socialize and have fun then the Hekerua Lodge Backpackers is the place for you!! We offer a chilled spot to get away from it all and immerse yourself in island and backpacker life. We have no TV so relax on any of our sun decks, take a dip in our rock pool or just wash it all away in our spa pool. Get involved with all our fun activities in the camp-ground including volleyball, cricket, beersbie and yoga! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hekerua Lodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing