We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”
Review of Awatuna Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Awatuna Homestead
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Awatuna
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The homestead and garden are glorious, and our upstairs apartment was perfect. But what really made our stay was meeting Hemi and Pauline, feeling part of the family, and Hemi's willingness to share his knowledge of Hokitika and its Maori history. An interesting, and most warm and welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonlmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Awatuna Homestead
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 56 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our family of 5 stayed only one night at Awatuna Homestead. It is a beautiful place with exquisite gardens. The self contained apartment we stayed in was lovely and comfortable. We had a yummy breakfast in the morning with a great conversation with Hemi who also showed us his vintage Morris 8's. The kids really enjoyed the dogs too. Thank you!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Mereyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had a great stay at the Awatuna Homestead last week. Hemi and his family were very welcoming and gave us great tips on touring the west coast of the South Island. We enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We enjoyed our overnight at Awatuna Homestead very much. We received a friendly welcome, and when we asked about Hemi's cars he was quite happy to let us see them. We enjoyed seeing the weather house (green house) as well, and felt comfortable and at home in the garden.

We were given directions to Hokitika Gorge and went on some great hikes in the area.

The room we stayed in was very nice. Love the lodge! Everything was clean, breakfast was delicious. Pauline and Hemi are great, and we would stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rubysusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We found this accommodation after a shocking night of disrupted sleep at Stumpers, what a dump. The beach views were amazing and as it was beginning to storm, the seas were really high and quite noisy, which I really liked. A great location, very clean and comfortable. Cheryl and Malcolm are a lovely couple they give you enough space and time to unwind and are also happy to have a chat. Lovely breakfast and conversation with other guests. Highly recommend.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Pauline and Hemi made us feel like their favorite relatives had just come to visit. Pauline is a great cook and a wonderful hostess. She made us feel comfortable roaming the house and property. Hemi was entertaining and very informative about the politics and history of the area. He had sveral interesting stories about the Maori artifacts on display.We missed our dogs and enjoyed playing with their dog Mae who was quite entertaining and very well trained. We will definitely visit there again and keep in touch with them as we feel we made new friends.

Room Tip: There is no pool-checked in error. Rooms are small but very nice and comfortable. Toiletries and a h...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Awatuna Lodge in December 2011 as part of a holiday trip up the west coast of New Zealand. Hosts Pauline and Hemi made us feel so welcome when we arrived and for the duration of our visit. Pauline cooked a magnificent lamb fillet roast and fresh vegetables to complement the lamb, some from her own garden. We dined as "part of the family" with two other guests and had a most enjoyable evening. After a peaceful sleep in a huge comfortable bed, waking up to rays of sunshine and a beautiful garden outside our window (which we could explore later) was an added bonus. Then there was breakfast - cooked and continental options in a big family kitchen. Excellent! Before we left we took a tour of the local beach and searched for pounamu (greenstone). Hemi showed us his vintage car collection and we threw a frisbee for their pet dog. This is the second time I have stayed at Awatuna Homestead, and I would recommend it with no hesitation. Pauline and Hemi also ensure they meet all the required standards for a special eco friendly quality rating. It is a beautiful place to stay, and the hosts are warm and friendly and cook fab food!

Room Tip: There are a range of rooms available - it is worth talking to Hemi when you book to get what you wan...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cosmo132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Awatuna
7.8 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
#4 of 10 in Hokitika
560 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
10.0 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Greymouth
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
7.7 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 10 in Hokitika
264 reviews
6.0 mi away
Theatre Royal Hotel
Theatre Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kumara
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awatuna Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awatuna Homestead

Address: Awatuna, RD 2, Hokitika 9 Stafford Road RD 2, Awatuna, Hokitika 7882, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika > Awatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Awatuna
Price Range: $177 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Awatuna Homestead 4.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful colonial-style family homestead since 1874 (rebuilt 1998 after fire destroyed original homestead), situated between Hokitika & Greymouth, by the sea. Elegant, boutique lodging, set in park-like gardens. Superior ensuite rooms & 1 self-contained Apartment. Separate guest lounge, Wi-Fi. Eco-conscious professional hosts. Organic produce grown for Homestead table. Guided beach walks. Two friendly dogs, vintage cars. Dinner by prior arrangement. 10 mins to Hokitika and lakes, shops and craftspeople. Glaciers/Punakaiki Rocks within 2 hours from the Homestead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Awatuna Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awatuna Homestead Hokitika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing