We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”
Review of Awatuna Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Awatuna Homestead
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Awatuna
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We enjoyed our overnight at Awatuna Homestead very much. We received a friendly welcome, and when we asked about Hemi's cars he was quite happy to let us see them. We enjoyed seeing the weather house (green house) as well, and felt comfortable and at home in the garden.

We were given directions to Hokitika Gorge and went on some great hikes in the area.

The room we stayed in was very nice. Love the lodge! Everything was clean, breakfast was delicious. Pauline and Hemi are great, and we would stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rubysusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 58 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We found this accommodation after a shocking night of disrupted sleep at Stumpers, what a dump. The beach views were amazing and as it was beginning to storm, the seas were really high and quite noisy, which I really liked. A great location, very clean and comfortable. Cheryl and Malcolm are a lovely couple they give you enough space and time to unwind and are also happy to have a chat. Lovely breakfast and conversation with other guests. Highly recommend.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Pauline and Hemi made us feel like their favorite relatives had just come to visit. Pauline is a great cook and a wonderful hostess. She made us feel comfortable roaming the house and property. Hemi was entertaining and very informative about the politics and history of the area. He had sveral interesting stories about the Maori artifacts on display.We missed our dogs and enjoyed playing with their dog Mae who was quite entertaining and very well trained. We will definitely visit there again and keep in touch with them as we feel we made new friends.

Room Tip: There is no pool-checked in error. Rooms are small but very nice and comfortable. Toiletries and a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Awatuna Lodge in December 2011 as part of a holiday trip up the west coast of New Zealand. Hosts Pauline and Hemi made us feel so welcome when we arrived and for the duration of our visit. Pauline cooked a magnificent lamb fillet roast and fresh vegetables to complement the lamb, some from her own garden. We dined as "part of the family" with two other guests and had a most enjoyable evening. After a peaceful sleep in a huge comfortable bed, waking up to rays of sunshine and a beautiful garden outside our window (which we could explore later) was an added bonus. Then there was breakfast - cooked and continental options in a big family kitchen. Excellent! Before we left we took a tour of the local beach and searched for pounamu (greenstone). Hemi showed us his vintage car collection and we threw a frisbee for their pet dog. This is the second time I have stayed at Awatuna Homestead, and I would recommend it with no hesitation. Pauline and Hemi also ensure they meet all the required standards for a special eco friendly quality rating. It is a beautiful place to stay, and the hosts are warm and friendly and cook fab food!

Room Tip: There are a range of rooms available - it is worth talking to Hemi when you book to get what you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cosmo132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were in Hokitika in January and we decides to stay at the Awatuna Homestead.
When we chose it we didn’t know it is a so wonderful place.

It is not in Hokitika but a little bit north and it is quite difficult to be found because near the main street there is the railway and the B&B is on the other side of the railway.
Don’t worry, very few train and even if during the night one train passed very near to our room we didn’t ear anything.
The B&B has very few room, three or four I think and more than a hotel is the house of Pauline and Hemi that receive you very kindly and that help you in everything you need.

There is a car parking in front of the B&B.
When you enter there is the room for breakfast (there is not a restaurant in the hotel) and a living room where you can sit down watching TV or talking with Hemi or the other guests.
The room was quite small but it has a huge built-in cupboard where you can easily put all your luggage.
The bathroom was quite big and very clean as the room.

The breakfast was fantastic: they prepare you more or less everything you want (honey, toasts, jam, marmalade, bacon, eggs,…) at the moment and when they are sure you have all you need they sit down with you talking.
It’s a great experience to understand the local way of life!

If you travel with a laptop here a free wifi connection is available.

This was one of the best places we stay during our trip in New Zealand! Thanks Pauline and Hemi!

Suggestion: go to the seaside at the sunset, seeing the sun setting down in the Tasmanian see is a marvellous experience! Be sure to go the Glow worm forest.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navigator78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

A friend of mine from Japan and I stayed at the Homestead for one night near the beginning of a trip around the South Island. We had been travelling for hours and were very tired, neither of us speaking the other's language very well and a little traumatised by the recent earthquake events in Christchurch. Pauline and Hemi and their family welcomed us in, gave us the studio with two bedrooms, let us wander in their garden and then brought us a three course meal cooked to order - and including fish caught across the road in the wild seas hours earlier - just for us. After dinner we spent time with the family and learned about family history and the attractions of the area. We slept blissfully and woke ready for our next installment of hospitality - Pauline cooked us the most wonderful breakfast. There were so many things to choose from and it was all delicious. We didn't want to leave and managed to fit in a visit to the vegetable garden and the special garage with collectable cars, patted the dogs and eventually went on our way. We would recommend staying here and look forward to a repeat visit later this year.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cosmo132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

This was one of the locations where we stayed on our New Zealand trip of 2011. As soon as we arrived here, we have been greeted very warm by Hemi, and a little later by Pauline. When one of the other reviewers said that they feel part of the family, than we can agree fully - that was how we felt welcomed here as well.
Pauline and Hemi, knowing that we had a very long drive getting here, even made sure we didn't had to go out anymore but they accommodated us with all we needed. The animals of the B&B are very gentle.

The room we had was a little small. The common lounge is nice, spacious and has some nice books - not the ones you find in every other place. We have been waken up at night by the crickets that started a concert,, but hey - that's part of the lovely nature you can stay here in.

If you travel the new zealand west coast, than this is sure one of the places to keep in mind to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koenbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Awatuna
7.8 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
#4 of 10 in Hokitika
579 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
7.2 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#9 of 10 in Hokitika
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
7.7 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 10 in Hokitika
268 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rimu Lodge
Rimu Lodge
#1 of 18 in Hokitika
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awatuna Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awatuna Homestead

Address: Awatuna, RD 2, Hokitika 9 Stafford Road RD 2, Awatuna, Hokitika 7882, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika > Awatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Awatuna
Price Range: $174 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Awatuna Homestead 4.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful colonial-style family homestead since 1874 (rebuilt 1998 after fire destroyed original homestead), situated between Hokitika & Greymouth, by the sea. Elegant, boutique lodging, set in park-like gardens. Superior ensuite rooms & 1 self-contained Apartment. Separate guest lounge, Wi-Fi. Eco-conscious professional hosts. Organic produce grown for Homestead table. Guided beach walks. Two friendly dogs, vintage cars. Dinner by prior arrangement. 10 mins to Hokitika and lakes, shops and craftspeople. Glaciers/Punakaiki Rocks within 2 hours from the Homestead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Awatuna Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awatuna Homestead Hokitika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing