We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience-wish we could have stayed longer”
Review of Awatuna Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Awatuna Homestead
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Awatuna
Manchester, MD USA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience-wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Pauline and Hemi made us feel like their favorite relatives had just come to visit. Pauline is a great cook and a wonderful hostess. She made us feel comfortable roaming the house and property. Hemi was entertaining and very informative about the politics and history of the area. He had sveral interesting stories about the Maori artifacts on display.We missed our dogs and enjoyed playing with their dog Mae who was quite entertaining and very well trained. We will definitely visit there again and keep in touch with them as we feel we made new friends.

Room Tip: There is no pool-checked in error. Rooms are small but very nice and comfortable. Toiletries and a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    9
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Awatuna Lodge in December 2011 as part of a holiday trip up the west coast of New Zealand. Hosts Pauline and Hemi made us feel so welcome when we arrived and for the duration of our visit. Pauline cooked a magnificent lamb fillet roast and fresh vegetables to complement the lamb, some from her own garden. We dined as "part of the family" with two other guests and had a most enjoyable evening. After a peaceful sleep in a huge comfortable bed, waking up to rays of sunshine and a beautiful garden outside our window (which we could explore later) was an added bonus. Then there was breakfast - cooked and continental options in a big family kitchen. Excellent! Before we left we took a tour of the local beach and searched for pounamu (greenstone). Hemi showed us his vintage car collection and we threw a frisbee for their pet dog. This is the second time I have stayed at Awatuna Homestead, and I would recommend it with no hesitation. Pauline and Hemi also ensure they meet all the required standards for a special eco friendly quality rating. It is a beautiful place to stay, and the hosts are warm and friendly and cook fab food!

Room Tip: There are a range of rooms available - it is worth talking to Hemi when you book to get what you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmo132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were in Hokitika in January and we decides to stay at the Awatuna Homestead.
When we chose it we didn’t know it is a so wonderful place.

It is not in Hokitika but a little bit north and it is quite difficult to be found because near the main street there is the railway and the B&B is on the other side of the railway.
Don’t worry, very few train and even if during the night one train passed very near to our room we didn’t ear anything.
The B&B has very few room, three or four I think and more than a hotel is the house of Pauline and Hemi that receive you very kindly and that help you in everything you need.

There is a car parking in front of the B&B.
When you enter there is the room for breakfast (there is not a restaurant in the hotel) and a living room where you can sit down watching TV or talking with Hemi or the other guests.
The room was quite small but it has a huge built-in cupboard where you can easily put all your luggage.
The bathroom was quite big and very clean as the room.

The breakfast was fantastic: they prepare you more or less everything you want (honey, toasts, jam, marmalade, bacon, eggs,…) at the moment and when they are sure you have all you need they sit down with you talking.
It’s a great experience to understand the local way of life!

If you travel with a laptop here a free wifi connection is available.

This was one of the best places we stay during our trip in New Zealand! Thanks Pauline and Hemi!

Suggestion: go to the seaside at the sunset, seeing the sun setting down in the Tasmanian see is a marvellous experience! Be sure to go the Glow worm forest.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navigator78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

A friend of mine from Japan and I stayed at the Homestead for one night near the beginning of a trip around the South Island. We had been travelling for hours and were very tired, neither of us speaking the other's language very well and a little traumatised by the recent earthquake events in Christchurch. Pauline and Hemi and their family welcomed us in, gave us the studio with two bedrooms, let us wander in their garden and then brought us a three course meal cooked to order - and including fish caught across the road in the wild seas hours earlier - just for us. After dinner we spent time with the family and learned about family history and the attractions of the area. We slept blissfully and woke ready for our next installment of hospitality - Pauline cooked us the most wonderful breakfast. There were so many things to choose from and it was all delicious. We didn't want to leave and managed to fit in a visit to the vegetable garden and the special garage with collectable cars, patted the dogs and eventually went on our way. We would recommend staying here and look forward to a repeat visit later this year.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmo132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

This was one of the locations where we stayed on our New Zealand trip of 2011. As soon as we arrived here, we have been greeted very warm by Hemi, and a little later by Pauline. When one of the other reviewers said that they feel part of the family, than we can agree fully - that was how we felt welcomed here as well.
Pauline and Hemi, knowing that we had a very long drive getting here, even made sure we didn't had to go out anymore but they accommodated us with all we needed. The animals of the B&B are very gentle.

The room we had was a little small. The common lounge is nice, spacious and has some nice books - not the ones you find in every other place. We have been waken up at night by the crickets that started a concert,, but hey - that's part of the lovely nature you can stay here in.

If you travel the new zealand west coast, than this is sure one of the places to keep in mind to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koenbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed here to break up our drive down the west coast. This is a beautiful spot located in a small town. The owners are very nice. They go out of there way to make sure that you are comfortable. When were arrived we were greeted by their two dogs and cat. Being an animal lover myself I was so excited after two weeks of travelling to go to someone's home and be greeted by their pets. It made me miss my own animals back home. The overall feel of this place is that you are guests in the hosts' home. We met their daughter when she took her house out for a ride. Only complaints, I felt the price was a little high for the accomodation/location. I don't want to deter people from staying here, but if you are driving around the entire south island as we did I would suggest if you are coming from Golden Bay you push on and drive to Franz Joseph area and stay for the night. There is more to do in that area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2010

The homestead only offers 4 rooms but all are beautifully furnished with taste of 1800's. Though the room is relatively small, it is very comfortable.

It's not difficult to arrive the place with a GPS. But if you don't, better ask the owner for detail directions beforehand.

We enjoy the stay there very much not only because of the comfortable room, but also the friendly owner, his cute doggies and also the decilious breakfast. I look forward to visit him again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank concerto_inn_lamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Awatuna
7.8 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
13.6 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
187 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
7.4 mi away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
6.0 mi away
Theatre Royal Hotel
Theatre Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kumara
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awatuna Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awatuna Homestead

Property: Awatuna Homestead
Address: Awatuna, RD 2, Hokitika 9 Stafford Road RD 2, Awatuna 7882, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Awatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Awatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Awatuna Homestead 4.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful colonial-style family homestead since 1874 (rebuilt 1998 after fire destroyed original homestead), situated between Hokitika & Greymouth, by the sea. Elegant, boutique lodging, set in park-like gardens. Superior ensuite rooms & 1 self-contained Apartment. Separate guest lounge, Wi-Fi. Eco-conscious professional hosts. Organic produce grown for Homestead table. Guided beach walks. Two friendly dogs, vintage cars. Dinner by prior arrangement. 10 mins to Hokitika and lakes, shops and craftspeople. Glaciers/Punakaiki Rocks within 2 hours from the Homestead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Awatuna Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awatuna Homestead Hokitika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing